Travel Blog

  1. So what are the 'Big Five'?

    posted by Colm Hanratty | 2 Comments

    So what are the 'Big Five'?


    Upon arriving in South Africa, if you decide to do a safari, or visit a private game reserve, one thing you’ll repeatedly hear about is the ‘Big Five’. So what are the big five, you must be thinking?

    The ‘Big Five’ are lion, leopard, rhino, elephant and buffalo. The reason they’re part of this elite group is because they’re the hardest to hunt. So essentially it was hunters who created this group, not tour guides.

    Tour guides now in fact hate this whole ‘Big Five’ thing. Too many people feel that if they haven’t seen the ‘Big Five’ then their safari has been a tiny bit of a let down. This isn’t true. Sadly, I didn’t see one of the ‘Big Five’ – the leopard. But, along with the other four, I got to see lots of other animals that are just as fascinating – the mischievous warthog, the gracious giraffe and the beautiful impala to name but a few.

    So if you’re planning a trip to South Africa and are planning on doing safari just remember one thing – it’s not all about the ‘Big Five’!

  2. 2 Comments so far.

    Lee said on 09/03/2010 at 3:32pm

    so true in fact when on a game drive when you do see animals you realise how lucky you are to see them. Its something that is not guaranteed and so we learn to take nothing for granted. Like you on my gamedrive in November i also missed the shy leopard but nothing could take away from the experience of seeing all the other animals!! and one small important thing that is often overlooked but so wonderful in its work at cleaning up the environment for us is the dung beetle. you should really look out for these exceptional insects.

    Flor said on 15/02/2010 at 9:53pm

    probably your fingers!

  3. Add your Comment...

Please give us your feedback