General Info about Pretoria, South Africa

All that EU, US, Australian, Canadian and New Zealand nationals require to stay as a tourist in Pretoria for a period of up to ninety days is a valid passport. In order to receive the required stamp on your passport, it must have two free pages and must be valid for 6 months beyond your date of departure from South Africa. Citizens of all other countries should check with their South African embassy to see what the visa requirements are for their particular nationality.

The currency used in South Africa is the Rand which is made up of 100 cents. Notes come in denominations of R10, R20, R50, R100, R200 and the coins in use are R5, R2, R1, 50c, 20c, 10c and 5c.

South Africa has 11 official languages and of these 11, some of the main languages spoken in Pretoria are Tswana, English, Afrikaans and Tsonga.

Pretoria’s climate can be described as humid subtropical. What this means is that the city sees long hot and wet summers, while winters are cool and dry. Temperatures are highest from December to February reaching an average of around 22ºC. Thundery rainstorms can be frequent during these hot summer months. June are July are Pretoria’s coldest months with temperatures of around 11ºC.

Time Zone
Pretoria is located in the South African Standard Time (SAST) zone which is two hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

Opening Hours
Shops in Pretoria are generally opened from 9.00am until 5.00pm from Monday to Friday. At weekends, smaller shops may only be open in the morning while the larger malls have longer weekend opening hours.

Tourist Office
The main tourist office in the city is located in the Old Nederlandsche Bank Building on Church Square in Central Pretoria.

Currency Exchange
Banks throughout the city offer currency exchange services. There are also a large number of ATMs throughout Pretoria, from which you can withdraw local currency.

Electricity in South Africa is 220V/230V, 50 Hz. In Pretoria you’ll need to use a round 3-pin plug.

To call Pretoria from abroad you first dial 00, followed by 27 which is the country code for South Africa, the local area code 012 and the local number, but don't forget to drop the 0 on the area code.

If you wish to call abroad from Pretoria, dial 00, followed by the international calling code for the country you are calling, the area code (without the 0) and then the local number.

Post Office
The main post office in Pretoria is at the corner of Church Street and Church Square.

While a service charge tends to be included in restaurant bills, it is still customary to leave a tip if the service was good. This tip usually amounts to 10%. Café employees, taxi drivers and tour guides should also receive a small tip.

Public Holidays
It is worth noting what the public holidays are as the majority of businesses, banks and shops usually shut for the day. In South Africa they are New Years Day (January 1st), Human Rights Day (March 21st), Good Friday and Easter Monday (March/April), Freedom Day (April 27th), Workers Day (May 1st), Youth Day (June 16th), National Women’s Day (August 9th), Heritage Day (September 24th), Day of Reconciliation (December 16th), Christmas Day (December 25th) and Day of Goodwill (December 26th).

Please give us your feedback