General Info about Slovakia

Visa Requirements
Citizens of Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, South Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Malaysia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the USA don’t require a visa to stay in Slovakia. Citizens of all other countries must contact their Slovakian embassy to acquire a visa to permit them entry.

Slovakia’s currency is the Slovenska crown (SKK) which is divided into 100 haliers. Notes come in denominations of 20, 50, 100, 500, 1000 and 5000 SKK while coins in circulation are 10, 20 and 50 haliers, and 1, 2, 5 and 10 SKK.

The official language is Slovak, while Hungarian is spoken also.

Slovakia has a temperate climate with cool summers and cloudy, cold winters.

Time Zone
Central European Time (GMT + 1).

Opening Hours
Shops open from Mon-Fri 8am-7pm and Sat 8am-1pm. Many museums are closed on Monday.

Tourist Offices
You will find tourist offices in all the major cities but in smaller towns it is more difficult. When you can’t find them travel agents can be a good source of information, and if not staff in hostels should be able to help you.

The sales tax percentage on good in Slovenia is 20%.

Currency Exchange
Cash is easier to change into Tolar than travellers cheques. Credit cards and bank cards can be used at ATMs to withdraw cash, once they show the Cirrus symbol and credit card logos.

Current is 220 V, 50 Hz.

When you are calling Slovenia from overseas you need to dial the international access code of the country you’re in, then 386 (Slovenia’s country code) followed by the area code and then the local number. If you are in the same area code you just dial the local number.

If you are calling abroad from within the Slovenia you dial 00 (Slovenia’s international access code), followed by the country’s code, area code (remembering to drop the 0) and local number.

Public phones operate on magnetic cards which can be bought in post offices.

Post Office
Post offices in Slovenia open from 8am-6pm Monday to Friday and 8am-12pm on Saturdays. Those in larger cities may be open later into the evening and also on Sundays.

Tips generally aren’t included on bills. 10% is seen as the customary amount to leave. If you are getting taxis you should round the bill to the nearest 10.

Public Holidays
Slovenia’s public holidays are New Years Day/Independence Day for Slovakians (January 1st), Catholic Epiphany (January 6th), Easter (March/April), May Day (May 1st), Liberation of the Republic (May 8th), Day of the Apostles (July 5th), Anniversary of the Slovak Uprising (August 29th), Day of the Constitution (September 1st), Our Lady of the Seven Sorrows (September 15th), All Saints Day (November 1st), Day of Freedom and Democracy (November 17th), Christmas (December 24th-25th).

It is worth taking note of Slovakia's public holidays as most business shut for the day.

Please give us your feedback