Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

021 Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 313 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 313 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.0

Very nice hostel, good cooking facilities and nice communal areas. Strong wifi for a hostel also. Staff were very nice, some however are extremely pushy and don't give you your private space. Shower rooms could do with a bit of a clean ur overall pretty good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
10.0

Friendly staff, nice vibe, good location :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
10.0

VIP !!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
10.0

The best!! Love U !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
10.0

Perfect Hostel! Perfect place! Perfect staff! Thanks 021 Hostel!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
7.1

Prima hostel voor het geld, matrassen waren van plastic en daar moet je van houden. Verder 1 douche voor 12 personen, wat wel net wenig is.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
6.6

Wouldn't recommend this hostel, the beds were uncomfortable and the mattresses were made of a plasticy materiel which squeaked every time someone moved. The breakfast was not good, the bread was stale. Also got told we had to move rooms because there was a problem with our booking. Not that many bathrooms as well. No hot water. On the positives it had a decent location, staff were friendly and it was very clean and well done.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
9.7

Solid hostel. I stay here almost every time I go to Rio. Good staff. Great location in between Lapa and the beaches.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2017
8.9

Friendly staff but as a tourist asking questions many of the staff did not appear that knowledgable about local spots or what time to go to certain things, although they were great at googling stuff (but I did this myself obviously). The hostel is nice, good facilities but the beds were very squeaky/rusty/noisy. Comfy enough but had the dorm been full it would have made for an interesting nights sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the review. We have 2 brand new volunteers (one from Venezuela and the other one from Moçambique), maybe you got them my themselves at some point (really rare to happen). We do make some training with them, but some few times they are without the help of the manager (that lives in Rio it's been 31 years) or some other person of the team that it's at the reception. We are sorry about this, and I'm sure that any guest can have the best local tips and things to do in Rio. Thanks again =) Leo

24th May 2017
8.3

I loved to stay because of the great staff, the facilities are rather simple, and we were happy not to have the dorm booked up. We had a private shower which was nice, the bathroom was not always clean and there are just two public ones of them in total. The breakfast is nice (toast with ham and cheese, cereal, cake and a fruit), although they messed up a little after a night out. The location is good to reach the touristic spots, but dont walk around after 10pm, better take uber or taxi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, we are glad to hear you! Our staff is happy to know it. Cachaça room has a really nice shower. There is 4 public showers, 2 upstairs and 2 at the external area. The nice thing about the breakfast that it's served in individual trays, so you can have the same food quality even if you wake up late. About walking after 10pm, it's fine to walk to the metro or bus station, go to the supermarket (that stays less than 5 minutes walking). But, around us, there is always a police car, because of the Guanabara Palace (Government house). Thanks again for you review =) Leo

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.