Hostelworld.com

021 Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 231 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 231 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Feb 2017
8.6

A really nice hostel in Rio. Security is great with someone always at the desk to buzz people in and security lockers. Location is decent; easy to walk to Botafogo or catch a bus anywhere (or Metro). Staff is really nice. Atmosphere was pretty friendly and the staff made this possible. Pretty clean, but a bit dirty on the floors in the rooms sometimes. Pretty good value for money, but more in the middle of the pack on cost. Facilities, mainly bathrooms, need work. Beds are decent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
8.6

Staff friendly willing to taking us out but the hostel can be warm and Botafogo beach is somewhere to avoid, the staff will tell you but only if you ask

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback, Harry! Rio by the night maybe is dangerous, not just Botafogo beach. But, as we don't ask where our guests are going all the time, we can't say where is safer or not. If you need to know something, you can ask us at any time, 24/7, we are here to help you! Actually, we are located in a small street just by the Government house, so the streets are safer around the area. Hope to see you again! Regards, Leo

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.4

Great hostel in what felt like a really safe neighbourhood. Just a 5 minutes walk from a supermarket or any number of bus stops. Nice breakfast included, filtered water available. Staff were helpful. Dorms and bathrooms clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Megan! Thanks for you review. Yep, our location is nice and close from everything. And, as you said, the neighbourhood is quiet and safe. The Government House is 5 minutes from here, so the streets around are full of cops and their cars. The main street has buses to take you every place you want. Again, thank you so much!

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
9.4

Me senti muy confortable y cuidada. En familia. Es un hostel internacional, en el que enocntraran personas de muchos paises. El staff es grandioso, recomienda lugares muy buenos.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jan 2017
6.9

Nice enough place but the beds are extremely uncomfortable and noisy. The atmosphere wasn't great either. Hostel staff were friendly and helpful though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Hannah! This is not common to hear about 021 =( As we have tons of solo travelers, the atmosphere is so friendly and cool. Maybe - as every hostel - the batch of travelers didn't fit on your expectation not the hostel itself. But I can tell you 100% sure that we are always trying to get everyone together and keep that atmosphere as better as possible. About the beds, we have this protectors to avoid any kind of bed bugs - that we never had it here - so we can keep the beds totally clean and safe to our guests. The majority of the guest loves it as is extremely clean, sorry if it wasn't good for you. And yes, our staff is always looking for helping our friends around =) Hope to see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jan 2017
9.7

Amazing family-feel hostel. The staff are some of the nicest people I've met on my trip, and treat the guests like friends, not customers. It's also incredibly easy to meet other travelers here, even though it isn't a party hostel. It's not by a beach, but is pretty central and next to a metro so it's easy to get anywhere. Definitely recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Alex! That's exactly what we expect, to have you here as friends visiting our house. We're glad to know that it's working. That's an awesome feedback. Thanks a lot! Enjoy your trip! =)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
9.1

Really nice hostel, enjoyed the stay. Best, Joss

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks, Joss =) We appreciate your review and expect you here again with us. Great news are coming to the next months. See you!

11th Jan 2017
9.7

Comfortable 1 night stay here. AC in rooms is amazing Nice facilities and great location. Staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Would recommend and stay again :) thanks for all your help for booking onwards travel! X

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yey \o/ Thank you for staying with us! So nice to read positive messages from you. Anytime you need, 021 Hostel team will be here to help. Waiting for you here again soon =)

  • idacre9100
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
8.3

The staff at 021 were really helpful, especially Léo. They do very good breakfasts until nice and late. It's really handy for Sugar Loaf and an easy bus ride to Cristo Redentor. A great place to find your feet in Rio.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Ian, very good to receive your feedback! And yes, this late breakfast is pretty good! We hope you to come back to Rio and stay with us. Within the next months we'll do some cool stuff to our guests. See you!

3rd Jan 2017
9.4

This is a great hostel to relax in while you stay in Rio. The owner Leo is probably the kindest, most helpful hostel owners I've met in 50+ countries. It's like they've taken all the best aspects of hostels and put them into one: super-size lockers for your stuff; freshly made beds each day; individual breakfasts rather than the buffet scrum; drinks available 24 hours a day; they've even got plug sockets which don't need international adaptors. Definitely recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! This is so amazing to read, Philip. I feel more motivated and happy with this kind of comment. I means a lot to us. Hope you can find some cool hostel during you trip and I'm sure they can order you a good pizza lol. And, we're waiting for you here again! See ya!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.