Hostelworld.com

021 Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 171 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 171 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
021 Hostel Located at Rua Dr Sousa Lopes, 12, , Rio de Janeiro.
021 Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22231060 Rua Dr Sousa Lopes, 12
92% 171
-22.9402616 -43.1821948
021 Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Apr 2016
10.0

We loved our stay here! The staff are amazing. They really go above and beyond their duties. We met so many interesting single travelers. Great place to meet new people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
10.0

Great hostel with great staff. Only stayed one night befor returning home. It was a much nicer hostel that the one we previously stayed at in Rio just wish we had stayed there longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Michael, thanks a lot for your comments. The staff is glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the atmosphere, even staying only one night. As you wish you had stayed longer, we hope to see you back here in the future. Best, Lucas

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Apr 2016
8.0

very good wifi. Was perfect for my stay, after being in rio for 2 weeks just needed couple of nights to just chill out. Perfect for that. Not much for locaton, but in rio everything is walkable. Plus metro is very close and supermarket.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Mark, thanks a lot for your review. Good to know you liked our wifi connection and after 02 weeks in Rio you chosed our hostel to chill out at the weekend. Thanks for writing about our location as well, and we hope to see you again ! Best, Loic

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2016
8.6

Good, big lockers, very friendly staff. I enjoyed my two days of stay very much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Nikolai ! Thanks a lot for your review. We are happy that you liked your stay, the staff, and the lockers. We hope you keep having a nice trip. Regards Lucas

16th Mar 2016
9.1

We spend 5 nights in this hostel and really felt like at home. The staff is really really friendly and helpful! The sheets are clean and the breakfast was nice as well! Only the bathrooms might be a bit cleaner. We would definitively recommend this place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Zana, thanks a lot for your compliments and to tell us how you felt well here. All the staff is really happy to hear this from you. Thanks for telling us about the cleaniless in the bathroom, we will definitely pay more attention to this. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best, Loïc

7th Mar 2016
9.1

Very clean and well run hostel. The hotel staff is great and I was truly sad to leave. Thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Gregoire, thank you so much for your review. It is a big pleasure to work here, and receive this kind of comments is very important for us. Hope to welcome you again in the future. Best Sheila

  • fatherbarnes
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Feb 2016
9.7

Brilliant hostal. In a quiter area of Rio but is so close to the metro it makes no difference as the metro gets you everywhere as well as taxis. Would highly recommend, staff area really helpful and breakfast until 11. What more can you ask for

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Daniel, thanks a lot for your review. It is very important for us. We are glad you nejoyed our hostel, such as our location, staff and breakfast times. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Best, Lucas

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Feb 2016
9.1

This is the place to stay in Rio. Cosy and warm atmosphere, with a well utilised common area. Breakfast is your standard for Brazil- cake, ham & cheese toasties, & fruit. Beds were comfy although plastic covers on mattresses meant that you can't roll over without waking up the whole dorm -if youre a light sleeper. My only negative was that in the 5 bed dorm there are only 4 lockers. This is an absolute must for me but the staff were helpful & let me use a locker in another dorm room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Peggy ! Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy you liked tot stay here, that you felt at home, and you liked our atmosphere and breakfast. We know our beds are not the most comfortable for the sensitive guests, but we think higienic mattresses are more important than some little noises. We also had a problem with the 5th locker in your room, but we are already trying to fix this problem. Thanks again for staying here with us, and we hope to see you in the near future, Best, Lucas

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
22nd Feb 2016
7.7

Nice hostel, but a little far from the main beaches

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Mario, thanks for staying here, and for your comments regarding your stay. We are not far from the main beaches, actually, from Copacabana, the most turistic one, we are in a 25 min walk, and only two stations by metro. Botafogo is beside Copacabana. To ipanema, we are 05 stations by metro, and 15-20 min by bus. Our location is closer to the Christ , Sugar Loaf, and also Lapa, than the turistic neighberhoods, and in a very safe area. We hope you can stay a little bit longer with us in the future, to see all our location can offer. Cheers, Sheila

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2016
9.4

The staff was super friendly and helpful; gave lots of tips on what to do in the city. The breakfast was nice! They changed the sheets in the dorms nearly every day, which was awesome. The AC worked well in our room; the only bad thing is that it was only used during night. During the day the upstair areas were SUPER HOT. Shower worked well, though we hoped for more COLD water, since outside was so hot. The hostel is close to a super-market and metro, easy to move around in the city. Good stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Laura, thank you so much for all your comments. We are glad you received the attention you wanted from our staff and our location was decisive to make your stay better. Rio it is a hot city. During the day the temperatures goes untill 40C wich is really hot, but as all the other hostels, we provide the AC for free during the night. During the day, we charge R$25 (per room ) If the guest wants to keep the AC on, and If you share this with the other guests it is fair enought. Thank you again for staying here, and we hope you had a good flight back to Finland. Best, Lucas

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.