Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

021 Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 248 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 248 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Mar 2017
9.4

Highly recommended. Almost everyone I met while staying there came back to the hostel when they came back to Rio since it's so good! I did the same. Before going out, most of the hostel usually pregames in the lobby which was quite fun. I also stayed in a few other hostels in Rio but enjoyed this one the most! The staff is like family. We went to parties together and they are very helpful in every regard.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
9.4

Lovely staff, very helpful, friendly and good to party with, as well as bilingual! The hostel is well kept with a decent hostel kitchen! Although not close to the main beaches it does offer a central location for the city sights and short taxi/bus to the beach. Not an intentional party hostel but as with most, it depends on the people! Great value for money and would recomend for a quieter stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Awesome to read from you! We work hard to give the best for you all =) You said everything, this is a central location, near from everything in the wonderful city. And you have a good point. It's not a partying hostel, but as we have tons of solo travelers, all of them become friends so quickly that our house turns into a perfect place to have fun and interact with everyone. And, as the staff know well the best spots for partying in the city (and we always go with the guest =) we know what to do. Thanks again for staying with us. Best regards, Leo.

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
8.9

We originally stayed in 021 for 4 nights - but we fell in love with the place and the staff and came back for another week! Leo and his team of awesomes looked after us and our stuff, and made us fell at home and comfortable but best of all they treated us as friends and not as customers. They gave great advice for day trips and night time partying. When we come back to Rio we'll be coming straight there! Thanks again guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

<3 Thanks for your company those days. You were so nice and kind with us. So lovely to spend the carnival (and after) with us (at the hostel and at the blocos). We are waiting you to come back and the house will be way better from the way that you find it now. See you! Leo and staff

14th Feb 2017
8.6

A really nice hostel in Rio. Security is great with someone always at the desk to buzz people in and security lockers. Location is decent; easy to walk to Botafogo or catch a bus anywhere (or Metro). Staff is really nice. Atmosphere was pretty friendly and the staff made this possible. Pretty clean, but a bit dirty on the floors in the rooms sometimes. Pretty good value for money, but more in the middle of the pack on cost. Facilities, mainly bathrooms, need work. Beds are decent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Jared, thanks for the review. You did it right, that's exactly what we are improving here - faciltiies and bathrooms. We just created a external lounge where it was the old garage and where it was our old warehouse, we opened it to put some more tables and a bar. In a few days, we'll also have a pool at the social area instead of a fossball table. The bathrooms are in development. As the new team is managing the hostel it's been just 2 months, there is a lot of things to do everywhere. Painting, tubing, lights, cameras (we installed 4 new HD cameras) showers (we changed all the showers last week) etc. Hope to have you here with us again to see what we are doing to get better =) - Leo Tarta

  • nikesh_parekh276989
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Feb 2017
8.9

Lovely hostel, staff very friendly! Breakfast is not worth waking up for. About a 10 min walk from flamengo metro station - is located in a residential area very safe but can be a bit dead.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
6.9

This ended up being very mixed. I have endless appreciation for the cleaning staff, who found my pearl earring that had fallen out at night and left it right on my pillow the next morning! (So kind, thank you!) On the other hand, the cachaça room needs an actual door - the common area gets loud and guests at the time weren't very respectful (I did not sleep for 4 nights). I also set up an airport transfer that never happened, and the staff never addressed their mistake (though I wasn't charged).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Pria! Good to hear it. You are totally right. This dorm is a little bit noise when guests are talking out loud at the reception. It's not the first comment about it. We hired an especialized office to put a acoustic door on it, because this door is so thin and it's really annoying when we have "more agitated" guests. We are waiting to end up the carnival time (that we are very busy) to close the room for a while and do what we have to do. About the transfer, we don't know what exactly happened. You asked me by email to arrange it for you and the transfer office confirmed me the arrangement. I will check what happened by the time. Hope to have you here again, with our new facilities, trying to get better and improving our house to you. Ah, yes, our housekeeper is awesome! Thanks again! - Leo Tarta

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
8.6

Staff friendly willing to taking us out but the hostel can be warm and Botafogo beach is somewhere to avoid, the staff will tell you but only if you ask

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback, Harry! Rio by the night maybe is dangerous, not just Botafogo beach. But, as we don't ask where our guests are going all the time, we can't say where is safer or not. If you need to know something, you can ask us at any time, 24/7, we are here to help you! Actually, we are located in a small street just by the Government house, so the streets are safer around the area. Hope to see you again! Regards, Leo

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.4

Great hostel in what felt like a really safe neighbourhood. Just a 5 minutes walk from a supermarket or any number of bus stops. Nice breakfast included, filtered water available. Staff were helpful. Dorms and bathrooms clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Megan! Thanks for you review. Yep, our location is nice and close from everything. And, as you said, the neighbourhood is quiet and safe. The Government House is 5 minutes from here, so the streets around are full of cops and their cars. The main street has buses to take you every place you want. Again, thank you so much!

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
9.4

Me senti muy confortable y cuidada. En familia. Es un hostel internacional, en el que enocntraran personas de muchos paises. El staff es grandioso, recomienda lugares muy buenos.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Martina! Muchissimas gracias por tu compania estos dias. Tu y Clarita son huespedes excelentes, siempre animadas e curiosas por la ciudad. Cuando quieres, nuestro hostel es tuyo. Gracias - Leo Tarta

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jan 2017
6.9

Nice enough place but the beds are extremely uncomfortable and noisy. The atmosphere wasn't great either. Hostel staff were friendly and helpful though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Hannah! This is not common to hear about 021 =( As we have tons of solo travelers, the atmosphere is so friendly and cool. Maybe - as every hostel - the batch of travelers didn't fit on your expectation not the hostel itself. But I can tell you 100% sure that we are always trying to get everyone together and keep that atmosphere as better as possible. About the beds, we have this protectors to avoid any kind of bed bugs - that we never had it here - so we can keep the beds totally clean and safe to our guests. The majority of the guest loves it as is extremely clean, sorry if it wasn't good for you. And yes, our staff is always looking for helping our friends around =) Hope to see you again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.