Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

1166 Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 285 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 285 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.3
1166 Backpackers Located at 1048 Nishimachi, , Nagano.
1166 Backpackers
Japan
Nagano 1048 Nishimachi
91% 285
36.6553544 138.1863141
1166 Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
5.4

Would not recommend. Extremely frustrating as they close from 11am-4pm so you can't use any facilities in that time. The staff were very nice and friendly but not knowledgeable about the area or things I was asking about, they sent me places I shouldn't have gone twice. NO AIR CONDITIONING. It was boiling hot in the room and they just had a couple of weak fans. Close to zenkoji temple though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your message. On the day you stayed, it was the one of the warmest night in Nagano. As we put the information on the hostelworld.com, we do not have air conditioning system since it won't be so warm usually... We do not have lock out time and we provide the entrance code for guests so you could stay in the hostel between 11am to 4pm. You could use all facility in the hostel for sure. Our staff did not explain to you properly, I guess. Sorry for inconvenient. We will improve upon these problems from the next time. Thank you again for staying with us. OWNER / ORIE

5th Jul 2016
9.1

Cozy, comforting, welcoming, friendly. Close to the Zenkoji Temple, 5 am Buddhist service--not to be missed! Easy walk from the station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
10.0

Very friendly team, very good location and would highly recommend the breakfast it was amazing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st May 2016
10.0

Really great chill hostel with a good common area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • emily_whittaker2790
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
15th May 2016
8.3

The location and staff were very good. The kitchen facilities were basic and the only other downside was not being able to access the common area between 11 to 4.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us. There may be a little misunderstanding. We provide a passcode of the entrance so all guests can come and stay in the hostel whole day including 11 to 4. So we don't have any curfews. We are sorry for not telling you the details. Thank you again for staying and message. Hope to see you again. Orie

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Apr 2016
10.0

I stayed in this hostel already in December 2015. My stay, with my parents this time, was as enjoyable as it was when I came with my friends. This hostel is just great and the staff is by far the nicest I've met in different hostels in Japan. Always keen to help and to have a chat. I love the atmosphere of the place with the common room which always feels so comfortable and welcoming. Would recommend to anyone willing to go to Nagano, I only have superb memories of this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
10.0

If you want a laid back place to just relax, or chat with some very cool locals and fellow travelers, don't miss this hostel. Best hostel in Japan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aprilodetteparker6615
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Apr 2016
10.0

1166 was a great stay and Nagano was my favourite city on our trip around Japan. The bunk rooms were spacious with plenty of space to store your luggage and the location great! The staff went above and beyond suggesting a free sake tasting house, an amazing iyazaki restaurant (that gave us gifts!), a cool shibuya style tiny bar(where we met a magician) and to go see the 6.28 morning ceremony at zenkō-Ji. The common room was cool and easy to talk to other people there as well as free soba tea! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Mar 2016
9.7

This place was great. Everybody from the staff was really nice!! It is a small hostel which makes it a bit more personal. The only downside was the lack of showers and toilets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.