X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

1900 Backpackers Hostel Reviews

Av. Garcilazo de la Vega 1588, Lima, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
967 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Pretty good hostel overall. It was about 30 min walk from the main historical sites. The washrooms were so so. The showers didn't have any room for you to put your stuff so you have to put towels,clothes, etc on a stool outside the shower curtain. The staff were really great. Helpful and friendly. The walking tour is a good way to get your bearings.


94%

My second night was in a mixed dorm. Very clean room with large storage lockers. Hot showers, free breakfast (bread, jam, coffee), BEAUTIFUL building. The staff couldn't be nicer. Wifi is only available in the common areas, not in the room. Kitchen was a bit dirty, but everything else was lovely.


94%

I was really impressed with 1900 Backpackers Hostel. When you enter, you can tell that it is a very social hostel with a lot of cool spots to hang out and meet other backpackers. What impressed me the most were their free walking tours and cooking classes. They really make an effort to make you feel at home. The only thing that could have made my experience better was the bed. The mattress wasn't very comfortable and I wasn't sure how clean the sheets were. Other than that, it was fantastic.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel was absolutely amazing. Wanted stay longer just to stay at the hostel. The building itself is worth checking in for! Francisco was SO SWEET and made sure we were happy. My only complaint would be that my rm door wouldn't lock properly-wasn't worth mentioning/changing rooms bc the security @ the main entrance was incredible and the staff + fellow hostelers were no threat to me. Plus their security in general (taxi requests, walking around recommnedations, etc) were superb! I ❤️ 1900!


97%

A great hostel with a warm welcome. Light and high-ceiling rooms, clean bathrooms and plenty of hot water. Highly recommended. One small negative: no laundry service, but otherwise excellent.


100%

Very comfortable at a great value. Location is perfect and atmosphere is fun.


94%

This hostel is clean and lively and the staff are super helpful! The historic district is beautiful, but it's far away from other touristy locations and bars. That being said, their bar is awesome and you can meet a ton of cool people just staying in the hostel. Just depends on what you're looking for :)


100%

Such a wonderful experience!, the BBQ is a huge deal with a drink included. Staff is friendly and you can walk to the main historical attractions!


89%

Nice hostel, comfortable beds and very clean. Chilled out vibe. We really enjoyed our stay!


83%

Staff were extremely helpful when I asked any questions. The rooms were huge and the beds were comfortable. It was a nice surprise. The breakfast was just a bread roll with butter and jam but it's better than nothing.


57%

Staff was not very inviting upon arrival and if it wasn't for us inquiring they probably wouldn't have been motivated to provide information. Also a bit disconcerting that the chalkboard stated "looking for volunteers to staff hostel front desk" from a security standpoint though we never felt unsafe. Private room was extremely small and did not provide value for the money as compared to other Lima Hostels. Great location to explore downtown Lima's historic sights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, we are sorry that you didn't had a good experience with our staff. We will make sure that going forward this won't happen again. Our hostel is indeed safe due to all the camaras we have.

100%

Great location! Lots of backpackers. Staff's English was good. Breakfast was okay. Could be a little loud sometimes in common areas but can't hear the noise in the room.


97%

We had a great stay in this hostel. The house itself is an old colonial building, which looks awesome and provides a good atmosphere. The breakfast was delicious, they also have a bar, pool table, lots of sofas and things like barbecue evenings. Great Hostel!


86%

Stayed here on 3 occasions. Recommended.


74%

I stayed in July 2015 for only one night. It is a beautiful building with large, spacious rooms, high ceilings and relaxing feeling. It was a quiet at night. Only down side was No hot water and staff were slow to attempt to resolve the issue.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I loved this place. Lots of other travelers with great common space, so it's easy to meet people. It's located right near central Lima and a bus ride from miraflores. There's a travel agent right in the hostel so it's easy to book buses and excursions. The Wi-Fi didn't work in the bedroom but I like that because it forces people into the common areas so it's more social. I recommend it!


74%

Good: - really good showers once they warmed up - free pool - cheap booze from 6-7pm and 10-11pm Bad: - absolutely no vibes whatsoever, place was pretty mellow

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, the vibes are mostly depending on the nights we have and organize. We do have life events going on, ut unfortunately this can't be organized every single night. We are sorry you missed one of those busy and fun nights.

60%

Staff were too lazy to get up and show you around- shame, because the building it a beauty! Activities alternate between BBQ and pasta nights- head up to the supermarket and make your own- but wait- the kitchen is tiny! Some guests had been their for months, and laid claim over the place. New management needed. Convenient if you'd like to stay near the historic part of town but little else happening. Visit the art gallery across the street. Heavy traffic isn't great for light sleepers.


63%

This is your standard hostel complete with loud bar, euro dance music, and thin walls. Housed in a beautiful building, the hostel is nonetheless a 30+ minute walk from Lima's colonial square and several miles from Miraflores and Barranco. The poor location and loud atmosphere aside, its pillows are atrocious; sleeping comfortably will be a challenge here. But for those looking for the traditional lively, grimy hostel with a bar, this place is for you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, we are sorry for the experience you had. We indeed had some issues with some pillows but changed those now.

57%

The main issue with our stay was the lack of water. When we arrived there was no water, it got fixed later that afternoon but it only amounted to a trickle coming out of the faucets. There was never any hot water which I was okay with but it is unacceptable and unhygienic to stay at a place without water and have the staff so unapologetic about it. The location was good if you wanted to be located in the center of the city but we would definitely never stay at this hostel again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and sorry for the inconvenience but we do not have that problem anymore. The city broke a main pipe that serves The Historic Center and water supply was restricted for a couple of weeks. We sincerely apologies about that. Anyway, that problem is already solved and we have cold and hot water 24/7. Thanks for your understanding.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Lima Hostels

Please give us your feedback