X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

1900 Backpackers Hostel Reviews

Av. Garcilazo de la Vega 1588, Lima, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
724 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

Despite the beautiful building, this is possibly one of the worst places I've stayed in South America! First of all, pretty much everyone seems to be doing drugs, even in the room, which I found disgusting! Secondly, the wi fi is shocking, I think it worked once in about 3 days and it only works in the lobby. The showers are mostly broken, and the water is either too hot or freezing! Some of the staff are nice, others are not On my return to Lima I will NOT be staying here again!

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Drugs are forbidden in the hostel, but we cannot have cameras in the rooms or bathrooms. You should have told us! You remain silent... how are we to blame? Same with the showers and hot water, you could have asked because they work fine. One of them was broken. I am really sorry for that but we have like 10 others. Anyway, it is fixed. It is true that Wi Fi was not working well. It is working better now. Hope you have a nice trip and a nice mood throughout the rest of your travel.

80%

Very nice hostel in a great location near the historic center and buses to miraflores on the doorstep. Felt safe to walk in the area. Very noisy and the private room was not very privat since there is no sound insulation at all (its an old house). Friendly staff, but a bit strange that they insisted in speaking english always even though my english ans spanish are on the same level, well i guess they want to practise their english.. Good hostel all in all, just a bit noisy.


74%

Good and cheap hostel in an old historical building. They have comfortable beds, hot showers, a nice pool table and a helpful staff. On the other hand, they are located in a noisy downtown area (peruvian drivers honk for everything, even at late night), the breakfast is way too simple and wi-fi needs improvement. In the end, value for money is the main reason I recommend this place.


100%

great place to stay! a beautiful old building with much character. one caveat is the noise. i did not mind the noice but if youre sensitive to noise when sleeping then don ear plugs or avoid this place.

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

They really help us booked the rest of our trip! The place is cool and the staff is really nice and great!


80%

The location is great, closed to every sights in downtown Lima. Free walking tour is really cool. The room is ok but smell sometimes. The facilities are kind of old. The staffs are actually useful and friendly. Good place to stay.


77%

STAFF WAS REALLY GREAT BUT, OLD STINKY STICKY CARPET IN ROOMS. NEEDS SCRUBBING.


89%

Big hostel rrally clean. The only big point negative is the noise. You hear everything from the big street. Impossible to sleep on the morning. But staff is nice, breakfast with bread and jam is good, bathrooms really clean, little kitchen you can use, wifi more or less.


83%

Good central location close to the old town. But the hostel was very noisy at night until 2 and 3am which isn't that funny if you had long days doing sightseeing. Wifi wasn't working always and employee kind of lazy.


66%

The smelly feet odor in the dorm could be anoying when you want to sleep

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our dorms are big and clean. We have almost 5 metres high ceilings and our dorms are well ventilated. And well, we also have showers, of course, we are sorry for your bad experience regarding this but there is little any hostel can do regarding the smelly feet issue.

77%

Hot water most of the time, good breakfast, a lot of space for everyone in the 10 pers. dorm, nice bed. Good location, close to shopping and food.


80%

I stayed here two separate times. While it is still a bit of a walk to get to the main plazas, this is probably your best option if you want to stay closer to the Centro Historico. It can be very loud from the street noise outside, but inside the hostel is a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere in a nice old building. It is a great deal with Intro Hostel in Cusco where if you stay at one then you get a discount at the other.


80%

This hostel is in a very busy part of Lima, so there is a lot of noise from the street below. The property is great and the staff very friendly. The cleanliness was a bit lacking... I've seen worse, but also much better. Overall not a bad place to spend a night or two if you want to see historic Lima.


80%

We only stayed one night so can't comment on much bar a comfortable bed and a very nice receptionist. We arrived really late at night and the staff arranged us a taxi from the airport which was great. We arrived two hours late and the taxi driver was still smiling! Note to all travellers Quito international airport is nowhere near the city, the 30usd cab ride is over one hour and worth every penny since airport taxis were 35


94%

Great location between miraflores and the historic center, beautiful old building, clean bathrooms and the comfiest dorm beds!!


80%

This is a good option if you wish to explore central Lima (recommended) as it`s walking distance to the main attractions. Unfortunately it`s noisy due to passing traffic and the beeping is especially annoying in the morning. The staff are friendly and a breakfast of bed and jam with tea or coffee is served. The toilets are clean and there`s hot water for showers. Dorms are comfortable and there are lockers too. The bar is a nice place to hang out in the evenings and meet people.


77%

All in all a pretty good hostel. Hot water and Internet were a bit hit and miss but the staff were great and had a friendly vibe


71%

Okay hostel, dont expect to much!! You cant sleep because of all the noise from their partys and the street..


100%

We could not stop smiling when we got up the stairs and realised what a gem we were staying in! Staff were friendly. The building was fabulous - in fact we were blown away with it. We liked the evening offers - the pisco sours were great!


86%

Nice hostel, comfy and good lockers. Nice bar area and they seemed to be arranging a lot of events etc.


(65 results)


View all Lima Hostels

Please give us your feedback