X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

1900 Backpackers Hostel Reviews

Av. Garcilazo de la Vega 1588, Lima, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
771 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

A good hostel but not the best we have stayed in our room was very noisy at night being close to the toilets, bar was ok place to have a beer bug not a party place, location was fairly close to everything


49%

Despite the beautiful building, this is possibly one of the worst places I've stayed in South America! First of all, pretty much everyone seems to be doing drugs, even in the room, which I found disgusting! Secondly, the wi fi is shocking, I think it worked once in about 3 days and it only works in the lobby. The showers are mostly broken, and the water is either too hot or freezing! Some of the staff are nice, others are not On my return to Lima I will NOT be staying here again!

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Drugs are forbidden in the hostel, but we cannot have cameras in the rooms or bathrooms. You should have told us! You remain silent... how are we to blame? Same with the showers and hot water, you could have asked because they work fine. One of them was broken. I am really sorry for that but we have like 10 others. Anyway, it is fixed. It is true that Wi Fi was not working well. It is working better now. Hope you have a nice trip and a nice mood throughout the rest of your travel.

80%

Very nice hostel in a great location near the historic center and buses to miraflores on the doorstep. Felt safe to walk in the area. Very noisy and the private room was not very privat since there is no sound insulation at all (its an old house). Friendly staff, but a bit strange that they insisted in speaking english always even though my english ans spanish are on the same level, well i guess they want to practise their english.. Good hostel all in all, just a bit noisy.


74%

Good and cheap hostel in an old historical building. They have comfortable beds, hot showers, a nice pool table and a helpful staff. On the other hand, they are located in a noisy downtown area (peruvian drivers honk for everything, even at late night), the breakfast is way too simple and wi-fi needs improvement. In the end, value for money is the main reason I recommend this place.


100%

great place to stay! a beautiful old building with much character. one caveat is the noise. i did not mind the noice but if youre sensitive to noise when sleeping then don ear plugs or avoid this place.

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

They really help us booked the rest of our trip! The place is cool and the staff is really nice and great!


80%

The location is great, closed to every sights in downtown Lima. Free walking tour is really cool. The room is ok but smell sometimes. The facilities are kind of old. The staffs are actually useful and friendly. Good place to stay.


77%

STAFF WAS REALLY GREAT BUT, OLD STINKY STICKY CARPET IN ROOMS. NEEDS SCRUBBING.


89%

Big hostel rrally clean. The only big point negative is the noise. You hear everything from the big street. Impossible to sleep on the morning. But staff is nice, breakfast with bread and jam is good, bathrooms really clean, little kitchen you can use, wifi more or less.


1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(69 results)


View all Lima Hostels

Please give us your feedback