X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

247london Hostel and Private Rooms Reviews

37 Chatworth Road, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

62%

Rating
309 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 64%Location
  • 59%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

Not as stated. I was sent far from the main house. Not stated in information. Wifi poorly worked.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The location was good - a few minutes' walk from the tube & really easy to get to - about a 30 min journey from Central London. However I didn't really feel safe in this hostel - the front door didn't really seem all that secure, there were loads of rooms in the hostel and loads of guests coming and going all the time, doors slamming at night etc. The room & communal areas were extremely dirty. It was the sort of place where you didn't want to go barefoot or touch anything. Wouldn't return.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


20%

D9rty hostel and bad organisation

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

A bit desorganized, bad location, cold staff (with the exception of one friendly man). The house was nice, good kitchen and living room. The room was too small for the amount of people in it.


60%

Ok, leta put it like this. It was ok. But when we arrived they had'nt even cleaned the room since the last guest. The rooms were small, dirty and you could hear through the walls. The free wi-fi was extremely bad, it was unusable. The sharing kitchen was ok, but the other guests never cleaned after then self, so i felt very bad for the cleaner. The houseowners did not take care of the kitchen, and their cooking fan was broken, so when a Guy cooked the fire alam went of, so they kicked him out.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great stay thank you. Very relaxed hostel with plenty of people to communicate with. Highly recommended.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

This hostel was near tube and bus links. Not really a hostel but a private double room in a shared house that can also be rented long term. Wasn't happy that a member of staff interrupted us and demanded she show someone our room which totally goes against the 24 hours notice law for landlords

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The facilities weren't clean. Bathroom, kitchen, common room and our twin private were all dirty and we had to go 2 nights without a working lightbulb. There isn't a single member of staff on site until you call to check in. Breakfast was 2 types of cereal or toast. On the plus side, it was a quiet part of town, the mini fridge and sink in the room were helpful. When I did get to speak to a staff member and the woman in charge of housekeeping, they were both delightful, polite and friendly.


63%

There are no staff on site, they only come to drop off keys or collect them. The room itself was ok, just two bunk beds with a TV, fridge and some lockers. The communal areas were not kept clean and I think they need to have a cleaner go in once a week or something. let's face it, Guests are not going to do the housework and clean up after everyone else. We met some other guests, one guy was incredibly rude to us and quite aggressive simply for asking to borrow his lighter. Wouldn't stay again.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

Worst hostel I have EVER stayed with! Would not recommend anyone to stay here! The kitchen was disgusting to the point where there was left over food EVERY WHERE! Couldn't even use the kitchen utensils as NONE were washed up from previous uses. One saucepan had burnt rice in it and it was there for over 5 days! Cigarettes all over the floor and the other people staying there were putting their cigarettes out on the coffee tables. My husband got bed bugs from this place to top it off! DISGUSTING!

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

50 pounds for a big studio room is good value for money! Location is good, but as they would arrange people in different property so it is uncertain exactly where u are going to stay when booking. Staffs were really slow when checking in, we waited for nearly an hour till the staff came

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

It's alright, seems like more of a long term living arrangement, many of the people staying said they were studying/working in London, not many backpackers like me and my boyfriend. however it was ok, i think there is a couple of different locations, but the one we stayed at was good, big kitchen, big living area, garden, and bathrooms were always fairly clean. typical hostel. not a great location though, especially if your looking to hang out in Shoreditch / East London.


97%

Good location, great staff. Had an amazing time I will never forget. I will return again in the future.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

The washroom and toilets were not cleaned during our stay of 5 nights. There was only one sink and one shower for making toilet for more than 10 people. The shower was in this same room. One night we came back the lights didn't work. We phoned the manager but the did not answer the phone. The place did not match the pictures at all. The organization has different locations. One does not know where one will stay. We didn't want to cook and eat in this place. The address was not accurate.


100%

Nice hostel i was very happy with this place


83%

It's a very good service there just needs to be more explanation about the different hostels and the fact you get picked up from a set address. Also it would be helpful to have a sign or something to show you where in the right place.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

They're Scammers !!! Avoid They're bunch of amateurs who exploits their customer's money. First they changed our staying place to very different area and then refused to send our invoice. Avoid them.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

it's good to meet new people because there are nice rooms where you can talk to each other. we came later as we wanted and had to do a self-check in. it was a good system and had no problems. but our whole stay nobody cleaned up the toilets and washing rooms. it was very ugly. every morning a women came to make us breakfast but she was very unfriendly. we reserved a room with two single beds. when we arrived, we were taken to a small room with a double bed so i wasn't very satisfied.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Suriname
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

WARNING: NOT what you expect! The location is RADICALLY different from the posted address. There is no office where we could actually speak to someone when we had complaints. The wifi hardly ever actually worked. The staff was unaccommodating and rude at times. If you do not arrive within working hours, and have a british phone handy, checking in will be near-impossible. I STRONGLY advise against anybody visiting this hostel.


74%

Nice rooms (privates) and the area is very good! Good connections to central London via subway and buses. The only thing that took it down a bit was that it was difficult to reach the staff since they were not around in a reception. Also you have to pay beforehand. Other than that it was a good place to stay at if you want to live close to London but still in a calm atmosphere. I can definitly recommened the private rooms if you want to live somewhere cheap still with good standard!

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(47 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback