Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

33 South Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 126 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 126 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jul 2017
9.1

It is a great hostel to stay while in Cape Town. 33 South Backpackers is extremely clean and spacious. My boyfriend and I stayed in the private room and it was beautiful! We really enjoyed it. The only downside was the staff. They were nice and polite, but when it comes to recommendations on what to do, like excursions, places to eat, places to drink, etc. the staff was at a loss or did not want to talk to us. Some of the staff would say they did not know or didn't want to talk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
13th Jul 2017
6.9

Stayed here for 2 nights with a friend. Was extremely disappointed by the staff member who checked us in, he was extremely unhelpful and mixed up the price several times. Was also disappointed the night after when several staff members were yelling and playing loud music in the kitchen right next to our bedroom at midnight when we had an early flight the next day. The facilities are decent, big beds that are comfortable, good wifi and hot showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jun 2017
5.4

There was a ton of theft during my stay, but mgmt didn't notify other guests/new ones. The location's good. Near the train & Main Rd. Staff were 50/50. Some were 100% dedicated, some had no enthusiasm for real customer service. The atmosphere wasn't for me. Too much of an obnoxious frat party vibe. Not enough of a considerate, curious one. Hostel was always pretty clean. WiFi was spotty, doorbell never worked, lounge was freezing, & staff/guests shouted 24/7. Disappointing time overall.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2017
9.4

Always a good time here. I love how warm the staff is along with the friendliness of the other guests. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
8.9

Lovely place! Beautiful and quiet neighborhood. Friendly and helpful staff who went way out of their way to give us advice and help us book tours and activities in the city. The included breakfast was on point. I wish that there had been more toilets available, but that's just a nitpick. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2017
9.4

Great hostel! Super cheap and friendly, so close to main street and supermarket. Love the garden space and kitchen facilities! Appreciated that our friends could come chill with us until we were ready to go out. Was a little quiet, but too be expected this time of year.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
9.4

Very nice location, near supermarketing and bars. Quiet place, excellent staff. The rooms and bathrooms are cleaned. Good beds. In general, everything is ok.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Feb 2017
10.0

A bad-ass backpackers. Obz is likely CT's best suburb. Sure... the mountain/Waterfront are 10 mins by taxi/train, but Muiz'berg, Simonstown, Kirst'bosch, and Claremont are all easier to reach via Obz. The vibe is great. Slightly more hipster compared to the city, but also more personable and interesting. 33 South was awesome. The people, the place, and the atmosphere. Can't recommend it enough. My only suggestion is for anti-mosquito mesh over the windows. Besides that, it was perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.