X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

3Dogs Hostel Reviews

Rua Cel. Artur Godoi 51, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

54%

Rating
232 Total Reviews
  • 50%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 50%Staff
  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 40%Cleanliness
  • 50%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

Dirtiest festiest hostel i have stayed in during our full 4 months trip in South America. Bed stains and dirty bandaid found in bed. Wet sheets and a mix up with out beds - female staff member was very rude and not helpful AT ALL! Very dirty shower that was not cleaned & dusty and dirty rooms with mould infested showers and beds. The other reviews are very deceiving thus why we stayed here and left after one night. The only good thing was the Russian guy working who was very nice and apologetic

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thank you for your review. Sorry, the moody nightshift girl doesn't work with us anymore. Bathrooms are cleaned twice per day, but as they are shared bathrooms, their cleanliness depends largely on the person that used the bathroom right before you did. We've had a good and long look at the reported mold infestations, but weren't able to identify anything worthy of your total-faillure-mark on our Cleanliness. We hope your experience in this marvelous city was good overall. Happy trails!

66%

Stayed here 1 night mid-September. Basic hostel compared to others we've stayed in around South America. Seemed to be more staff staying than guests, they were hanging out in the reception area where the tv was. Double room with single bed bunk up top was clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there thank you for your review. We're proud to offer the basics that a hostel needs at a reasonable price in this huge city. There are a bunch of boutique-esque hostels within a 1km radius of 3Dogs hostel, but yeah, you pay that higher price. We're sorry to hear you weren't able to mingle with our otherwise enthusiastic staff. They are travelers like yourself, and are generally into meeting new people. Perhaps if you'd given friendship another day :-) Happy trails

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

green friendly neighbourhood with super close by metro acces. friendly informative staff. clean rooms. i liked the hammocks in the backyard.


86%

Well priced


74%

very nice for young people! Caipirinha for free ;-)


80%

Good cheap place, close to metro station.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Close to metro, so you can get anywhere pretty easily, and in a safe neighborhood. The staff are kind and helpful, and foster a great atmosphere of hanging out on the patio and everybody chilling and talking together. The negatives are very cramped bathrooms and less than optimal showers


74%

Everything's nice but the staff could be a little more trained with touristic information because they don't really know the city


100%

Great hostel very kind people there, excellent environment, clean rooms and amazing!!! I will come back!


74%

The staff of the hostel is excellent. They're very helpful about everything and will always try to solve your problems.


71%

Outside shower was never hot and constantly leaking, so floor was filthy. Upstairs, one shower was out of order, one cold, and only one hot. Kitchen was good and breakfast was nice. Welcome introduction was excellent with useful information on the city. Room walls were very thin so quite noisy. No lockers in private room. Brilliant location 5 mins from metro stop.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed the good info on the city, as well as the super breakfast. All showers: Fixed that same day. There's no need for an extra locker in your room, since your private room is lockable with your room key. If you would have let us known that this was a problem for you, we would have offered to store your valuables in our office free of charge. Happy travels!

74%

The ensuite bathroom in the dorm is nice, but you guys REALLY need to replace the toilet seat. It's broken so when you sit down the water inside gets all over your ass, and I don't even want to think about what's in that water because it gets in there when you flush! Also, the sharp edge stabs you in the butt to add injury to the insult. Also, a shower curtain would be nice, so the entire room isn't wet after you take a shower. Other than that I had a great stay. Thanks to the staff!

  • 15th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review, and thanks for staying with us for 8 days! We´ve replaced the toiletseat. The seat was hollow and fractured, allowing water and soap to get inside each time we cleaned it. Had nothing to do with toilet water. Happy trails!

97%

I had the time of my life there!!!! thanks to the staff and to the owner it s a very nice hostel with familiar atmosphere with amazing peoplelive and work there... felt like home!


97%

Loved it. Had a good time, met awesome people. the staff was awesome. it was awesome.


86%

It was a very good experience, a very nice staff and the hostel was in a very central place, even near to a Metro station. The only bad things about it were the slow internet connection (sometimes, by peak hours) and the kitchen table (that was a bit unstable). Regardless of the bad things, it was an excellent option in Sao Paulo, definitely would go again.


74%

Nice Hostel, very nice garden in the city, great location


60%

One of the people working here gave me bad information and I went to the wrong bus station. Also, my dorm room was right outside the main socialising area, so it was not great for sleeping. The whole kitchen had that residual grease feel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there an thank you for your review. We're sorry to have misinformed you about which bus station to take. We've just given the kitchen a good once over, and we'll fix the button of the ventilator above the stove, hoping that helps. Happy trails!

66%

This hostel has a nice location close to the subway line and a grocery store. The facilities were okay, but not great. During the check-in, a staff member gave us the wrong room and no one noticed the problem until we were already asleep at midnight and then we were woken up many times, once by someone entering our locked room while we were sleeping. The owner was very apologetic afterwards and rectified the situation, but we had read about someone else having a similar problem before as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for your review. We´re still sorry for putting you, the couple that had reserved a twin room, into a room with 1 double bed. We found out only when we wanted to check-in the couple that had actually reserved the double bed. It took some time for our receptionist to figure out what was going on, also because you informed the receptionist that you had actually booked a double bed. We´re trying to make sure it will not happen again. Happy trails!

60%

The hostel is average. It is good that it is located on a subway station which operates to lines. It is bad (if not even horrible for some) that we heard rats running around in the roof of our double room all night. It is one of the cheapest places we found in São Paula, and you get what you pay for.


66%

An additional washroom would be nice. Also would have preferred not having to climb up a ladder to sleep. For similar price in other hostels we could get private bath and air con.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for your review. We´re not sure why you choose for a hostel. We don´t think staying in a hostel is about a private bathroom and Airco. We think staying in a hostel is about being able to share your life with other travels, a service which we offer to many´s content. We feel that if a person like yourself is not using this core service, then you are indeed better off staying in a place where you pay for services that you -do-make use of, such as a private bathroom, airconditioning, and listening to a private TV in your room, instead of to the stories of other travels. So long and happy trails!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(122 results)


View all Sao Paulo Hostels

Please give us your feedback