X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

40 Berkeley Hostel Reviews

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1809 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Very basic

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Easily the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. Beds were very uncomfortable and there was no air conditioning which made it impossible to sleep in the hot weather. Atmosphere was very poor and none of the usual facilities were provided. It was also not disclosed that the hostel also acted as an old people's home and as affordable housing for locals. The hostel was incredibly overpriced and was very poor value for money.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

I couldnt close the window and there are no shutters to block the lite


63%

Everything is very old. My room didn't look that nice like on the pictures, the hostel provides. The floor of my room wasn't clean. And the corridor looks down-and-old especially the carpeted floor which had big dirt spots. The facilities are very spartan. The stay was not very comfortable and not worth the high price.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

It´s dificult to explain this hostel, for instance the hostel's guest were regular tourists as well as beggars and senior citizens. It kind of felt like you were in a mad house. the bathrooms are clean but are really open, like if you were in a locker room. The rooms were clean but the decoration was non existant, in the corridors you felt like you could be murdered at any time. On the other hand it had a billard and a nice garden in which you could have breakfast. The ubication was good.


57%

There is no hang out for guest. No ac!!! And no breakfast. Staff is nice not all that friendly it's an old building but it's clean.

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

It is good value for the price and the location is good being only about 400 metres from Back Bay T station.


49%

In general terms the stay was ok, but the distance to the center and the facilities do not justify its high prices

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Rooms facing the street are super-noisy and it is a million degrees during summer.

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

As hostels go this is closer to being like a hotel, with private rooms and shared bathrooms. It's pretty massive and has good facilities, including free coffee and popcorn. As it's so big there's less of a hostel atmosphere so not the place to stay if you're looking for partying or meeting lots of other travellers. But for somewhere safe and quiet near downtown this fits the bill. The wifi was also excellent (which, surprisingly, doesn't seem to be a given at many hostels!)


86%

My husband and I have never stayed in a hostel before but in an effort to save money and to try new things on our road trip we decided to stay here. The location and staff are excellent. Located in back bay we were able to walk to downtown and all the places we wanted to check out. There are some really great restaurants in the area as well. The only down sides were the lack of air conditioning...they do have fans but when it's 90+ deg outside the fans did not help much.

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was squeaky clean the entire time, exactly what you would hope to get from a hostel at a slightly higher price. Definitely recommended.


74%

Rooms were large, staff helpful. Facilities new and included a movie theatre with free popcorn. Residents were an interesting mix, seemed to be half backpackers half middle aged people who talked to themselves a lot. Rooms did not have air conditioning. Overall a decent place to stay. Walking distance to centre of town and metro stations.


69%

Very basic room, but the price was good and the location was fantastic.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I was VERY impressed with how nice and kind every person behind the service desk was!!! That made me immediately want to return!! Each person heloed me out with either getting directions, needed items such as soap or towels, or calling a cab. The impressive thing was the kindness each staff shared with me. I loved the womens' 6th floor modern and clean bathroom!!😊 I also loved how spacious 40 Berkely is! Patio, movie room, seated areas- even popcorn and ipads to use. You provide a great package

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • American Samoa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

The wifi in my room only worked one of the six nights I was there, which is unacceptable since the in-room wifi was one of the things that drew me to 40 Berkeley.


80%

The hostel is in a great location so we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. I felt safe walking around at night. The rooms were minimal but it's all that was needed since it was only for sleeping. A/C would be nice but we lucked out with cooler nights.


91%

Simple but clean and close to the city center.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The room was not good, it need to be improved. The bathrooms were not all working and they did not repaired it. It is located in a good area; however, it is not a good price according to the services La habitación no era buena, necesita muchas mejoras. Los baños no estaban funcionando como debían y no fueron reparados. La ubicación es bastante buena. Sin embargo, la calidad con el precio no van de la mano


69%

First impression was really bad, quite run-down place but actually provides everything you need to have a pleasant time in Boston. Furniture and bed was very low quality but the garden offers some relaxation and shade. Staff is friendly and the location is top.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback