X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

40 Berkeley Hostel Reviews

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1782 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The rooms were clean and in a good location. The front desk staff were friendly. The atmosphere of this hostel is definitely... unique. The hostel appears to be available as a permanent residence for some tenants, and has an ambiance reminiscent of "drifter motel." Good place if you're looking for a functional bed to sleep in, but not so good if you want to meet other travelers or if you're looking for the typical hostel atmosphere.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nicely located within walking distance of many attractions.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel was cosy and clean, as well as our room, but unfortunately we could not move the heating in our room, so it was much too warm and hard to sleep. Also in the price is no breakfast included and its not possible to book a breakfast afterwards, so we had to find a place for having breakfast each morning outside the hostel, that was not too easy.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

A really comfortable stay. Beds were clean and comfy, room was in good, comfortable size. Good heating in the room as well. Bathroom was clean - only complaint is that only one shared shower facility available for the entire floor (?!?) so be prepared to wait for your turn if plan to shower during popular shower times (eg 7am). Otherwise good facilities. Location was alright - 10-15mins walk to the bus stop to get to Boston South Station; 5-10 mins walk to get to the bus stop to Boston Common.


80%

If the breakfast is afford, it will be better.

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

If you don't mind sharing bathrooms this place is great. Movie theatre with free coffee and popcorn, five minute walk into town. Overall pretty clean and nice stay. Would stay here again if I'm ever in Boston.


54%

The best thing about 40 Berkeley is the location. The price may be good by Boston standards, but in Europe I could get a budget hotel with en suite fir the same money if booked in advance. SInce my last visit, 40 Berkeley's kitchen has been closed down - so you can't even get a breakfast. Given the money charged and the high occupancy rate, I feel that some money ought to be reinvested back into the building. A fresh coat of paint on the walls would not go amiss, and the corridor carpets!!!

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

extra simple but ok hostel. Showers with no hot water on my floor. Lot's of older people on loby the whole day.


83%

We stayed as a couple for one night and had a double room. It was clean and also really quiet during the night. The location is good but not excellent you can reach downtown by food in 20 minutes. As a couple we didn't interact so much with other guests but it seemed that it is a nice atmosphere where you are able to meet new people.


77%

although it does not have a kitchen, there are tea and coffee making facilities- there is a microwave, toaster, kettle and coffee machines that you can use and FREE popcorn. the room was pretty plain but a good size. the heating didn't work and we made a complaint they came and fixed it straight away. its a quite hostel with not much noise, somewhere nice to get away from and close to the center and T stations. back bay is closer than Arlington station.


49%

It is a suitable hostel for those who need to spend the day out, just come to sleep. The inattentive service personnel without any willingness to help, the only guest enters the 3 pm, not a minute before. The room is good, I could not understand how to ask for cleaning, spent 5 nights and it was not made in a cleaning. AVOID TAXI ask the reception, you will fall in a pinch, will call a special black taxi driven by a dishonest African, never take that taxi, is asking to be stolen.

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Rooms are outdated and need to be remodeled to match the pricing. It was way to warm in the lobby and lounge although we had winter. Location is good, employees were nice and security was solid.

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel was fine, it just needed something to make the energy better. Music. Maybe a bar crawl.. Something for those in their 20's to be more social. Noise was a bit of a problem in our room. The heater was super hot so the window had to stay open, and the traffic is very load. Our blinds wouldn't shut too, so the street lights shone in. Also the free coffee is a coffee machine which was empty for 2 of my 3 day stay. Popcorn too. *Marge Simpson groan*


77%

Very polite employees. Room furniture was very simple but good.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

No breakfast.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

All around better experience closer to the action at HI Boston. Sorry to say! Same price for much cleaner, more secure facility with many more bathrooms!

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Wonderful value, highly recommend!

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

No hesitation in returning here or recommending to friends.


91%

Perfect when you just need a place to sleep!

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Big place with some permanent residents. Some of the staff were not as helpful as they could have been. Kitchen is just a microwave and a toaster. Free coffee and popcorn were welcome and pool table and reading area were welcome while we killed time in the blizzard! The WiFi was good. 10 mins from subway and 30 mins walk to town.


(41 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback