X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

40 Berkeley Hostel Reviews

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
1680 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Good value, great location, very neat and clean. Love the free Starbuck's coffee and popcorn, and the included breakfast. Common areas very attractive; sleeping rooms, halls and bathrooms clean but very basic and drab colors, frayed carpet.

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Good location being walking distance from many of Boston's attractions. The amenities and free breakfast are good. Be aware that not all rooms have power sockets.


83%

I felt this was professionally run, and I was pleased with my stay.

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

It was a great place to stay, and affordable too for being in the city. However they only had 2 showers for each floor which sucked because the wait was forever in the mornings especially when you wanna be out and about not waiting for your turn in the shower. Other than that, cany complain

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

good location near the subway, nice areas with bars/restaurants in walking distance. basic but does the job!


66%

The single room is so dark and some facilites were broken. And the tax for the hotel is high. It totally charge me 3 kinds of tax. And I don't know why.

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Stayed here for 5 nights. Room is very small but it was clean. Shared bathroom was very old and rundown but cleaned every day. Facilities were good with access to laundry room and movie room. Free popcorn is great! We found the demographics pretty mixed, from really old to young. Isn't much atmosphere in common areas but there are bars and restaurants close by. Would stay here again if I had to.

  • 16th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

All good. Convenient location and good rooms. Not super but very recommendable


100%

Thank you for flexibility in changing the room. Also thanks for the coffee machine and microwave oven + Oprah magazines in the lobby!

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Location and staff are the biggest plus. Near the T and near Back Bay. However the communal showers are decrepit and the corridors are depressing. But then again, that is not why you are there anyway, right?


86%

I was very surprised by this hostel. I expected as usual 2 levels beds, etc but found private room silent environment. I thought before that I'm doing compromise by booking hostel and not hotel but it was more then hostel as I familiar with it before.

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location. Staffed desk was helpful. No bike rack, and breakfast wasn't great but no kitchen or fridge to store your own food.


60%

Shared bathrooms weren't very clean. The room itself was somewhat cleaner but still pretty dusty. The room is sober: a simple bed, two desks and a wardrobe. One wall is painted, the rest is grey. The location is fantastic, a 15 minute walk from the Boston Public Gardens and the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • 15th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great stay. Nice breakfast. Would always come again!

  • 12th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Positive points : Lobby and patio are very comfortable and convenient. Wifi in room works great. Hostel is conveniently located. Where they need to improve : Staff is not welcoming. Rooms look like army dorms in the '60s. The bed is more a camp bed. That can be sufficient when it is cheap but at 100$ per night that feels really crappy. Showers are old and some are broken, and most of time not clean. You share 4 showers (2men and 2 women) for a whole floor. Breakfast is awful (fat and untasty


74%

Bathrooms were not clean enough. There was not air conditioning. Staff very kind. Breakfast ok.


94%

It's a really nice place. The only thing that wasn't great was the time for breakfast, that is just from 7-9 am.


80%

excelle value, location and breakfst. Beds comfrtable. Room (win bedded) decet size. could do with a few more coat hangers.

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Clean and comfortable hostel, good location, staff very helpful and friendly.

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Yet another complaint about the lack of air con, not only was the room warm it felt 20 degrees warmer in the room than out side and the presence of a fan in the hallway does nothing more than create noise. The room was clean and the general areas were nice

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(1020 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback