X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

40 Berkeley Hostel Reviews

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
1699 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

I think that for this price, you can really find better. The room was not really clean, it was really hot inside and it was not possible to turn off the heating, the staff was not really friendly

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel is well-situated right in the centre of Boston, near a metro station. We especially liked the rooms, and the good facilities that include also complementary coffee, but two things were a bit disappointing. The staff were not attentive (and even rude) at check-in, and the directions to the hostel from South Station (where busses arrive) was a long way without the directions telling us to get the Metro straight away or to prepare for a 45 minute walk with our luggage. Otherwise good.


94%

Very nice atmosphere, helpful staff and lot of additional facilities (free coffee, breakfast, wi-fi, TV, billiard tables). Rooms and bathrooms were clean, but could have been more spacious.


83%

A second towel for my hair would have been useful, more showers per floor.Breakfast portions varied greatly depending upon who was on that day, would come back.

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice location! We arrived at about 5am at the hostel and we had the possibility to have our room right away (although the check-in is from 3pm!). The breakfast is "diverse" which is a real plus! Our room was yet not perfectly clean but that's definitely fine for a hostel.


86%

Hostel is located near the China Town of South Boston. The room was not very big, but clear and except of beds has also closet, desk and chair. You can eat breakfast (included in the price of hostel) and dinner (additional 10$) downstairs. Facilities are the brightest side of the hostel! There are the cocktail room with coffee express (you can also make a tea), the movie room with a big television, a dvd player and cinema seats and the big relax area with many rocking chairs, sofas and armchairs

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Lovely stay, great location and friendly staff, they even me check into my room a few hours early, which was a real help. It's location meant that Downtown was easily in reach by walking, though I could have easily have taken the subway if I was in a hurry. There are also good restaurants nearby

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

You should care the garden better. It would be convenient that the guest presented the room card when step in. It could avoid the presence of stranges. One day missed scramble eggs and other the breakfast started after the hour. The toast is too slow, or toats too much or just a little. There was only one sanitary bowl for regular people and other for disable people at third floor, near the elevator.


74%

Not a bad place to stay in Boston and includes free breakfast. The common areas were great with a movie room and dining area, lots of places to chill out. The bedrooms reminded me of an old university halls and then bathrooms were nice enough but depending on where you are can be round the corner from your room. Overall we enjoyed our stay but it was just average! Short walk to the metro and good bars/restaurants so location was a definite plus.


77%

very good location in central Boston, close to all public transport and all points of interest for visitors but the toilets bathrooms are letting this place down too few of them on each floor

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Good value, great location, very neat and clean. Love the free Starbuck's coffee and popcorn, and the included breakfast. Common areas very attractive; sleeping rooms, halls and bathrooms clean but very basic and drab colors, frayed carpet.

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Good location being walking distance from many of Boston's attractions. The amenities and free breakfast are good. Be aware that not all rooms have power sockets.


83%

I felt this was professionally run, and I was pleased with my stay.

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

It was a great place to stay, and affordable too for being in the city. However they only had 2 showers for each floor which sucked because the wait was forever in the mornings especially when you wanna be out and about not waiting for your turn in the shower. Other than that, cany complain

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

good location near the subway, nice areas with bars/restaurants in walking distance. basic but does the job!


66%

The single room is so dark and some facilites were broken. And the tax for the hotel is high. It totally charge me 3 kinds of tax. And I don't know why.

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Stayed here for 5 nights. Room is very small but it was clean. Shared bathroom was very old and rundown but cleaned every day. Facilities were good with access to laundry room and movie room. Free popcorn is great! We found the demographics pretty mixed, from really old to young. Isn't much atmosphere in common areas but there are bars and restaurants close by. Would stay here again if I had to.

  • 16th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

All good. Convenient location and good rooms. Not super but very recommendable


100%

Thank you for flexibility in changing the room. Also thanks for the coffee machine and microwave oven + Oprah magazines in the lobby!

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Location and staff are the biggest plus. Near the T and near Back Bay. However the communal showers are decrepit and the corridors are depressing. But then again, that is not why you are there anyway, right?


(1030 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback