X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

40 Berkeley Hostel Reviews

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
1671 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Very poor room equipment, just one chair in a double room, no business office in price included, very poor breakfast, employees at breakfast very unfriendly.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place to stay in Boston. Located near public transportation that will take you anywhere you need to go in the city. My second time staying here, and I will definitely stay again. Great value and we got a free room upgrade!

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff extremely helpful. Tiny room and showers a bit gross, otherwise really good facilities.

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The common rooms on the ground floor are very nice. Beautiful terrace, co-working space, cinema room, ... The bedrooms and the bathrooms are old and filthy. I didn't even have curtains in my room. There is a super-loud fan blowing all day long. The staff at reception was friendly but staff at the kitchen couldn't be more unfriendly if they tried. Breakfast wasn't very nice either.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Like the ad for a product I saw recently, "it does exactly what it says on the tin"

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Room was horrific, don't sleep for 2 days, becuase of the noise, had an asthma attack because the room was so dusty and it stank. For what we paid would have been better off sleeping in the park!

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

We rented a double room with shared bathroom for 3 nights. The room was spacious and comfortable although quite old-fashioned. The shared bathroom was always clean. Great breakfast with plenty of choice. There is alos a garden for the guests to enjoy during the day. Negative point: the staff was professional enough but not very smiling or friendly.


83%

Great hostel !


49%

Room not clean with windows broken.

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

In general, everything is okay. There is room for improvement , especially for the bathroom/toilet.


86%

For Boston on a budget, look no further than 40 Berkeley! Great location, 5-10 mins walk from Back Bay station, Boston Common also walkable in 15-20 mins. Friendly front desk staff and good value for money with the free breakfast, popcorn, coffee and watermelon slush in reception, and free wifi throughout. Only downside is only two showers in the ladies restrooms which leads to a bit of a wait in the mornings! Would definately stay here again if I was on a budget.

  • 24th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything was great except the rooms at night we're unbearable without AC The kids had a blast!

  • 21st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I tried different rooms and found that one bed was more comfortable than another. The location would be better without the heavy vehicle traffic, which starts at around 5 a.m. and can wake up guests. Overall, though, I'd recommend it because it seems to serve the community as well as tourists and is therefore worth supporting. Also, there is ample and varied space for hanging out. I think it has more private rooms than some other hostels and is a bit more affordable in that regard.


63%

The first day the personnel was very good. The next day, we went down to the service desk to tell them that our shutter is broken and the only thing the person said: "I can't do anything, come at 7am and they will fix it" Actually he could leave a message for them. In doing so, he would deserve the money he earns. Furthermore, you couldn''t close the window and the room was a sauna (also fans didn't help). It seemed that the hostel is a factory cause of the vans. Location is bad for subway.


91%

It is close to downtown The staff is helpfull The rooms are ok Good idea to serve free lunch one day I liked to stay there

  • 15th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Do NOT stay here in summer! There is no air conditioning in the rooms, just fans which literally do nothing. Our room was hotter than outside and absolutely unbearable! All other facilities were good :movie theatre, free popcorn and coffee, easy walk to the subway.


94%

40 berkeley is a perfect hostel when we at Boston.the staff is kindly and work perfect,the breakfast is very good.


54%

Compared to the other hostels in Boston, the 40Berkeley is probably a good deal. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was OK. The advertised Starbucks coffee is not served at breakfast. Rooms were at least clean, but the furniture was rather old. The shared bathrooms are regularly cleaned (at least there was a cleaning woman there every day I was there), but at a busy hour. There are only two showers per floor for women, so at one point there was a line. Due to its size, there was no real hostel flair.


77%

This hostel has a great atmosphere to it. The majority of the staff are friendly and welcoming and the lobby area is very comfortable. Their is free coffee and popcorn available at certain times of the day to all residents which is a nice extra also. One thing to be cautious about is that the bedrooms are not air conditioned. We were not aware of this before we arrives and we were in boston when temperatures were over 90F and we found it difficult to sleep in the rooms with the heat.

  • 7th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Ok but not the best ever for the price. Positive point: - free breakfast, good and complete ( cereal, toast, pancake, egg, bacon, french toast,...), - good spare space as pool room, movie room with popcorn, fireplace room, patio,... Negative point: -No climatisation; can be ok in winter but was like hell during summer. - only two showers per floor, have to wait our turn.

  • 4th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(1016 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback