X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

40 Berkeley Hostel Reviews

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
1632 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

Room smelt damp. Massive fans placed in the corridoor were very noisey. Blinds were broken and window wouldn't shut. The sheets were itchy. Far over priced for what it is.


80%

Staff was great! Very helpful. Rooms could be a little better I guess for the money's worth.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Le personnel est accueillant dans certaines occasions d'autres non. C'est important pour moi de me faire accueillir avec un sourire et que les gens semblent être content de m'accueillir et de répondre à mes questions. Certains de vos employés devraient s'améliorer ça (pas tous mais certains d'être eux). Aussi d'être plus patient et parler moi vite lorsqu'ils donnent les indications lors de l'accueil on dirait qu'ils voulaient se débarrasser de moi. Anglais n'est pas la langue de tout le monde.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Me cobraron un impuesto que nunca me habian avisado, el señor de la recepcion siempre me trato de mala gana.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Our room was quite shabby for the $120+ we paid per night. Have had much better for that money throughout the USA. As the bathrooms are communal they get dirty quickly- would recommend more cleaning of these throughout the day. They lobby/communal areas are nice. Enjoyed the breakfast.


51%

The hostel was OK for the money. The problem was how it charged the room, or how hostelworld.com charged the booking fee. See below.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

The room was very hot. It doesnt have airconditioner. but breakfast was very good. And the lobby was clean and wide


66%

We had a 2-person ensuite w/ shared bathroom. Room was not good. Small room and NO AC in room (!), just a ceiling fan. Unbareable in summer. Shared bathroom was tough. Only stalls, and in same area as showers (i.e. you have to do your business in the same room as someone showering). Breakfast: hot every morning. Mostly eggs, sausage, pancakes, but different every day. Also cereal and milk + bread. Not great if your vegan. Decent locaton. A 15 minute walk to Boston Common.


69%

De faciliteiten in de kamer zijn erg minimaal (het bed, het bureau, het verlichtings en verkoelings systeem (1 ventilator met geintegreerde lamp)), en de luxaflex maakt vervelend geluid wanneer de ventilator aan staat. De faciliteiten buiten de kamer (badkamer, lounge, tuin) zijn prima, en maken het verblijf erg plezierig.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Orange is the New Black... if you haven't seen the tv show yet, you'll at least have a chance to see what life in a low level security prison might be like. The location (close to the pub. gardens and great restaurants around the corner), staff, breakfast, and security at this place were all very good! However, the bedroom was stripped and not very clean, bring shower shoes if you dare take a shower, no ac in the rooms (visited during a muggy summer), and thin walls.


100%

Hurricane Andrew cancelled July 4th 2014 festivities on the hatch shell; 2 days prior I cancelled my reservation and the cancellation process worked as expected. I am thankful for that. I've used this facility before and stayed there at least twice a year for the past 6 years.


74%

Very expensive, but nice hostel. No bedbugs.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Rooms could do with a bit of work as the room we got had no light and the blinds on the window didn't close. Other than that this is a good hostel to stay in as its very close to all the city attractions and in a very nice area

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

在波士顿,这个价格和位置都是很不错的了~ 早餐值得一赞~公共区域宽敞大方~ 房间真的是有些阴暗陈旧啊~ 腥红色的床单,房间里有股发霉的味道,希望店家改善一下吧。


31%

Staff was very unfriendly. Booked a private room with bath but we got one without bath. AFTER CHECK-IN YOU DON'T GET YOUR MONEY BACK, IF YOU DON'T WANT TO SPEND THE NIGHT THERE. Would not recommend to stay there. Room was tiny and dirty so we couldn't spend the night there!!! Had to leave after we hand checked-in, WASTE OF MONEY! After I saw the room, I knew why they have the policy that they dont't give you your money back after check-in!!!

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

As always great location and price.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Front desk staff was mostly rude. Location is excellent, walking distance from most main attractions. Breakfast was impressive. Rooms are ok (no a/c). Left my luggage at the front desk for a couple of hours and a cup I had inside got broken. When I told the staff they wouldn't even apologize.


69%

I stayed here for 3 nights in June. The good: Location, price (relative other places in Boston), buffet breakfast, free wifi, clean enough bathrooms The bad: My room on the 6th floor wasn't very clean and was very tired and worn out. Floors and walls had a lot of wear and tear, the blinds were broken and very dusty. The overall decor was a bit depressing. There's no air conditioning although that wasn't a particular problem for me.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

내부 설치 시설에 조금더 신경을 써 주시고, 친절한 안내를 부탁드리겠습니다.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

nette Leute, gutes Frühstück, tolle Location - aber das Zimmer war klein, es war heiss, keine Klimaanlage nur einen Deckenventilator

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • raisuli
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback