X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

5footway.inn Project Boat Quay Reviews

76 Boat Quay, Singapore, Singapore

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
568 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The hostel is very good! Not only location is very near to Clarke Quay MRT station (3 min walk), but they have a penthouse with the river view. You can spend your day of afternoon here if you don't wish to walk out from the hostel. Other than this, they have many bathroom and washroom and they do have small area for iron your clothes. It is a place suitable for backpacker!


80%

Good location, close to the river with nice views, but 10 minutes far from the MRT and close to expensive places to eat. Good breakfast, all you can eat, consisting in bread for toasts, peanut butter, kaya (coconut jam), strawberry jam, cereals, coffee and milk. Water for drinking and refilling your bottle. Wifi was working perfectly. Staff was ok. The showers area was a little bit messy sometimes, and clothes hanging around to dry all over, not a nice view.


89%

Amazing location. Beautiful terrace. The only downside we had was the noise. Never experienced anything like it. Woke up from like half 5 in the morning with everyone and their dog walking past our door. Then some kind of alarm went off for 20 minutes. Not good when you're hungover.

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

it was clean and well controlled. location was easy to find and sevice was satisfying :)

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Worst hostel I've stayed in. Sound proof was bad, could hear footsteps from outside/next door/upstairs loudly. Heard next door's ringtone+entire conversation at 1am. Toilets were filthy. A big pile of hair on the drainage topped with period blood. Was there since 12am(maybe earlier) and still there at 12.30am. Woke up @5am (blur mode) and grab a cup of water. Forgot to wash the cup(too blur my bad). Staff that was preparing b'fast beside yelled at me rudely to make me wash the cup. Horrible!


80%

Location is excellent! You can walk from the hostel to many attractions. However, restrooms and bathrooms are not clean enough. If there is staff to take care of it more often, I'll give 5 stars for this place. Anyway, recommended for anyone who wants to enjoy the serene river view from the balcony. Wi-fi is excellent!


54%

Location in the city centre - great! Price (concerning Singapor centre) - top! Accomodation (no windows, no chance to get in some fresh air) - horribel Bathroom/Toilets - pictures on the website look great, but reality check is different Top location for less money, but don't expect a "home sweet home"-experience

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Pros: - good location - great view from terrace - clean bed sheets Cons: - repulsive toilets & showers - unfriendly staff (haven't met them all, but especially honey was not sweet at all) - dirty & smelly corridors, common area, carpets, bathrooms - atmosphere in general can be ice cold - poor breakfast (runs out of fruit, butter, milo etc. and no one is there to fill up)


83%

The hostel was good, everything you'd expect from a hostel, but didn't blow my mind. Singapore is VERY hot and humid, and the AC was scarce in the hostel, and the breakfast was just cereal and toast (which is normal for most hostels, but coming from Bali I was spoiled!). The location was EXCELLENT and the staff was great and the hostel was clean. For Singapore, the price was quite good.


66%

The reception staff made this hostel worthwhile in addition to the beautiful view from the terrace and the gallery. However, the bath facilities weren't clean due to the high amount of traffic or use. The rooms need to be updated; the area restaurants along the waterfront need to be reduced or offer mixed-use development. I also suggest a recycle system for aluminum and plastics, paper on each floor, including the terrace.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your kind review of your stay at our hostel. We are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful view from the terrace and gallery. Your compliment for our staff is our motivation and we will strive to maintain the standards. We apologise for any discomfort that you experienced during your stay. Please be assured that measures have been put in place to improve on those areas. We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you again!

80%

Everything was alright but it's not the typical backpackers hostel.


74%

Little pricy, on the main strip along the water front. Didn't seem to be a very social place to meet other otherwise. Bathrooms a little dirty. Breakfast was very average bread and jam. I think there are better options if you can find them.


69%

Very good location in the center of city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are glad that you like our location. It was a pleasure having you as a guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

80%

In general I was happy about the hostel, although a pity that the bathroom doesn't have air con and is very hot. What was disappointing in the end is that they didn't want to call me a taxi as they said it would be easy to get one. However, all taxi's I saw for 15 minutes were Hired and I had to walk to a different hotel to try and get one. Not funny in the sizzling heat and when you're in a hurry with all luggage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write us a comment. The contents have been carefully noted and we apologise for the unpleasant experience you went through. Measures have been put in place to improve on those areas. We strive to provide good quality service at all times and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you.

80%

Had a lovely stay in a private room. The staff were friendly and the room was clean and sufficient. The ladies washroom however was filthy. Would definitely help if people cleaned up after themselves.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write us a comment. We are glad that you had a lovely stay! We apologise for any discomfort that you experienced and we will do our best to improve the situation. We look forward to hosting you again.

60%

sort of humid room that made me a little bit unpleasant. except that, other things were good like staffs, location, facilities and else.

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Could be a much better place if toilets and showers were clean and not smelly. Room and bed are ok, staff is kind and helpful. Breakfast do the job, but isn't refill at all the time, better be lucky even if you go at 9am. Location is the must

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for sharing you feedback. We are delighted to learn that our staff is kind and helpful. Your compliment is our motivation and we will strive to maintain the standards for future guests. We apologise for the discomfort that you had experienced during your stay. Please rest assured that we are taking appropriate measures to address the issue. We look forward to welcoming you again.

54%

I've stayed at hostels around the world but some of the issues here were unique. A simple sanitary disposal bin in the toilets would be a start so maybe people wouldn't leave used hygiene products in and around showers. One shower was broken and it looked like someone had pulled the hose off. Women were washing underwear in bathroom sinks and drying with hand dryers at random hours. Then there was the less unique noise issue. Staff just sat there as I came out and asked people to shut up at 1AM.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your feedback. It is disappointing to read that there were areas of your stay which we did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the discomfort that you had experienced during your stay. Please rest assured that we are taking appropriate measures to address the issue. We look forward to welcoming you again.

71%

Great staff which service mind but toilet so chinese!! dirty and smell.


97%

A really nice hostel, vert gold location and frienly staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your comments and generous rating. We are delighted to learn that you like our location and staff. Your compliment is our motivation and we will strive to maintain the standards for future guests. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all Singapore Hostels

Please give us your feedback