Hostelworld.com

790 on George

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 814 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 814 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.5
790 on George Located at 790 George Street, Sydney, , Sydney.
790 on George
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2000 790 George Street, Sydney
72% 814
-33.8814431 151.2049412
790 on George
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Mar 2016
6.9

its in a good location and the staff are nice. Showers are good too. Had cockroaches in the room which was also pretty gross under beds even though they hoovered everyday (in the places you can see). Also if you are staying on the side that is opposite Scubar then be prepared to get no sleep because you may as well be in the club it's that loud. Think you can get better elsewhere

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback about your stay. The hostel is sprayed regularly for insects and ive organised pest control to come in a spray the room you stayed in so hopefully that won't happen again. Thanks to your feedback we are currently in talk about how we can reduce the noise from Scubar. Again thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback, we hope you come and stay again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
8.0

The hostel is great located, just one min walking from central station... The beds were comfortable as well, the only negative thing it s just one elevator for 7 floors, then get ready to be fit if you are in a hurry... Kitchen is huge. But sometimes crowded.. There was always someone cleaning it.Highly recommend this hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Mar 2016
8.6

Nice hostel in a good location, close to the city center and trains and buses, staff were friendly and accommodating

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Philip, Thanks for taing the time to leave us some positve feedback, we really appreciate it! Our friendliness and customer service are 2 points the staff work really hard to achieve so it's great to see they are suseeding. We hope you come and stay again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Mar 2016
7.4

Really enjoyed my stay here however the majority of people I met in this hostel were long termer workers. This made social events somewhat limited. Security was good in the room with a large locker for each bed. Kitchen was pretty spacious and there was room to store food and chilled items. I would stay again if working in Sydney, not if I wanted to meet people and get my Goon on.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Joshua, Thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate it! We do have a a fair amount of long staying guests but we make sure to acommadate for all new comers and solo travallers by having an event schedule that really targets all new guests. This, however was not bing carried out during your stay as we are in the process of re-vamping it. We are really sorry about this but we think it will be really worth it once its up and running! We really hope you come and stay again. We love that classy wine as much as you do! ;)

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Mar 2016
8.0

790 on George is an alright place to stay at. People are nice. The only thing I wasn't a big fan of was the kitchen in the basement.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Charollete, Thanks fior taking the time to leave us some feedback. Im really happy to see that everyone was nice to you, I understand your concern with our kitchen, being in a basement does make things a bit tricky but we are in talk about having it upgraded. Thanks for leaving us some feedback, It will help us to better our hostel for the future. We hope you come and stay again soon! Happy travels

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
5th Mar 2016
6.9

Hostel well located for getting into town or catching the bus. Very large hostel with a lot of workers so difficult to meet people. Kitchen very large with limited cooking equipment. Beds felt very clean and lockers large enough for a bag.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Katherine, Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedbacka about our hostel. We love the location as much as you do, being so close to central station and the main street of china town is great. We are in the middle of re vamping our entertainments schedule so we do understand that it feels a bit unsocialble in the common rooms. I really appreciate you pointing this out to us and will make sure to have the issue resolved. Again thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback we will use this to better our services for future guests, We hope you come back and stay again soon.

4th Mar 2016
8.6

PLEASE grease the hinges of the doors. Our dorm room door was squeaking all night as people came in and out. Also, my comforter (the large red blanket) smelled kind of funny. Otherwise, it was a great stay in a great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Krystol, Thanks you very much for leaving feedback about our hostel. Im really glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us! As for the few issues you have mentioned I am in the process of finding out which room you stayed in. We wash all our doonas but for our own peace of mind and yours we will strip all the beds and replace them with new linen! Ill also make sure to grease up that door. Im so sorry you had t put up with that all night, if you do stay with us again please report the issue to reception the moment you realise and we can fix it on the spot! Thanks again for leaving us feedback, we will use it to make our hostel better for the future :)

16th Feb 2016
4.9

When we walked up to this hostel we were a little scared. Bruno Mars was playing and it felt like a flashback in time. The staff was nice but the place was dirty and old. There were footprints on the ceiling above my bed and the sheets had stains on them. Dingy walls and gross carpet. The bathrooms were old but alright. I also paid for the wifi and it barely worked. Luckily it was only one night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jan 2016
6.9

Great hostel to meet people, cheap and good location. Common room and kitchen are dirty. Cost me a lot more as I didn't want to risk cooking there.. Flies cockroaches hardly any cutlery/cups. All chairs and tables are dirty. Good for one or 2 nights. I stayed 8 days as extended the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2016
4.3

Smelly old lifts, corridors , crappy bathroom facilities, drunks everywhere, squeaky mattresses and beds, staff to be waited for 30 min just to check in, never again

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.