Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

790 on George

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 858 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 858 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.2
790 on George Located at 790 George Street, Sydney, , Sydney.
790 on George
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2000 790 George Street, Sydney
78% 858
-33.8814431 151.2049412
790 on George
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jul 2016
8.3

Only stayed there a night but I arrived late and the night staff were lovely and very helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
8.6

Location is the best especially for first time travellers. It is close to central station and railway line with walking distance between sydneys attractions and malls. Facilities are of tip top condition with hot water,lift,locker and your own card to enter the room. I believe the hostel has long-term stayers which makes it awkward for short-time stayers or vacationers a when in the canteen. But other than that,will totally recommend this to anyone travelling to sydney.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
3.7

Was put in a room with 3 junkies who were doing drugs whilst I was present. Booked myself out shortly afterwards.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • michaellilley
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.4

Great hostel very clean good showers and toilets. Really friendly staff. Let me check in at 8 in the morning good location. Not a sociable hostel but otherwise tops! Gonna stay here again for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for the poitive feedback. We know how dreadful those long haul flights can be so we always try our best to get you to a room as soon as possible, although it might not always be possible! As for the sociability aspect we are in the middle of revamping our entertainments team so like minded travellers can get to meet eachother much easier

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2016
8.6

Clean hostel and staffs are friendly. However, there are many long term travellers so its slightly harder to make new friends. The place is quite old and slightly run down. But since this hostel is relatively cheaper than others, i have no complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.7

Very convenient location, staff were very helpful re a a lost-wallet situation, good facilities, quiet room, good size showers, good value. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the positive feedback. I heard about the lost wallet and am so pleased the staff were able to get it back to you! Having a trustworthy reception that is willing to do that little bit extra for guests is what makes us such a friendly place! We hope you come and stay again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
10.0

Friendliest hostel in Sydney. I had a wonderful stay and I'm looking forward to my next stay at 790 on George. Petfect location, super friendly staffs and a good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jenhenx
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
3.1

The guy behind reception was miserable as hell, not welcoming or friendly at all. The room was extremely dirty, looked like it hadn't been hoovered for weeks, smelly and just sticky. Bathrooms also very dirty and very small. Defiantly pay for what you get, a budget, basic hostel. The hostel was on George street but away from everything, a long walk away.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Let me personally apologise for the stated experience you had. while we don't claim to be a 10 point hostel, we are definitely not a 3 point hostel either. The rooms are cleaned and hoovered on a daily basis and the bathrooms and toilets get cleaned thrice a day with inspections happening one 2 separate occasions. The size of the bathroom, well, though you cant lounge in there, the cubicles are bigger than your standard baths or toilets. We are a budget and basic hostel and we don't claim otherwise. I am a little confused When you say we are a long walk from everywhere. We are at the southern end of the city and most areas a re 5-10 minutes with access to Public transport stone throw away, unless you are going to the Rocks or circular Quay in which case you will be looking at ta 20-25 minute walk. I would want to request you to give us another chance if you are coming to Sydney. If you still feel that we are not at least a 7.5 hostel I will personally refund all your money including the payment you made for your last booking..

2nd Jun 2016
9.7

One of the best Hostels I have ever stayed at..... Would definitely recommend,,, a big thumbs up!!!!! A very friendly and welcoming reception with 24 hrs assistance :) Rooms were very clean and the hostels has gotA REALLY GOOD VIBE with residents from all around the world.... The location is pretty awesome 10-15 minutes away from main tourist attraction like darling harbour and only couple of minutes away from Central station. Great value for money :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Piyush, Thanks for taking the time to leave us this great feedback. We are so happy we could tick all the boxes of what you want in a hostel! We hope you come and stay again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Jun 2016
6.3

Generally it was a good stay, however there were issues with cockroaches. I was not informed, nor was the other person in my room, that a deep clean was going to take place so we didn't have much time to move all of our stuff. Otherwise, staff are friendly and there's a nice vibe

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Im really sorry to hear about the expierence you had involving cockroaches and and the short notice about moving rooms. It turned out that another business around the area had some cockroach problems that has now been resolved. The staff should of been more organised when notifying you about the room move so I will take note of this and speak to them about it. Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback Im glad you enjoyed the vibe and the staff were friendly even though that may have been a little unorganised :) We hope you come and stay again soon!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.