Hostelworld.com

790 on George

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 848 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 848 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.3
790 on George Located at 790 George Street, Sydney, , Sydney.
790 on George
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2000 790 George Street, Sydney
78% 848
-33.8814431 151.2049412
790 on George
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • michaellilley
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.4

Great hostel very clean good showers and toilets. Really friendly staff. Let me check in at 8 in the morning good location. Not a sociable hostel but otherwise tops! Gonna stay here again for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2016
8.6

Clean hostel and staffs are friendly. However, there are many long term travellers so its slightly harder to make new friends. The place is quite old and slightly run down. But since this hostel is relatively cheaper than others, i have no complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.7

Very convenient location, staff were very helpful re a a lost-wallet situation, good facilities, quiet room, good size showers, good value. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
10.0

Friendliest hostel in Sydney. I had a wonderful stay and I'm looking forward to my next stay at 790 on George. Petfect location, super friendly staffs and a good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jenhenx
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
3.1

The guy behind reception was miserable as hell, not welcoming or friendly at all. The room was extremely dirty, looked like it hadn't been hoovered for weeks, smelly and just sticky. Bathrooms also very dirty and very small. Defiantly pay for what you get, a budget, basic hostel. The hostel was on George street but away from everything, a long walk away.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Let me personally apologise for the stated experience you had. while we don't claim to be a 10 point hostel, we are definitely not a 3 point hostel either. The rooms are cleaned and hoovered on a daily basis and the bathrooms and toilets get cleaned thrice a day with inspections happening one 2 separate occasions. The size of the bathroom, well, though you cant lounge in there, the cubicles are bigger than your standard baths or toilets. We are a budget and basic hostel and we don't claim otherwise. I am a little confused When you say we are a long walk from everywhere. We are at the southern end of the city and most areas a re 5-10 minutes with access to Public transport stone throw away, unless you are going to the Rocks or circular Quay in which case you will be looking at ta 20-25 minute walk. I would want to request you to give us another chance if you are coming to Sydney. If you still feel that we are not at least a 7.5 hostel I will personally refund all your money including the payment you made for your last booking..

2nd Jun 2016
9.7

One of the best Hostels I have ever stayed at..... Would definitely recommend,,, a big thumbs up!!!!! A very friendly and welcoming reception with 24 hrs assistance :) Rooms were very clean and the hostels has gotA REALLY GOOD VIBE with residents from all around the world.... The location is pretty awesome 10-15 minutes away from main tourist attraction like darling harbour and only couple of minutes away from Central station. Great value for money :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
10.0

Best hostel I've stayed in so far! Comfy bed! Clean rooms and bathroom. Very happy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback. There is nothing more rewarding then seeing feedback like this. We hope you come and stay again soon.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th May 2016
9.7

Loved my stay at 790 on George. Basic hostel with all the essentials, Reception was friendly and helpful. Will be staying again when I return in a couple of months.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Wow thank you so much for the positive feedback. Im so glad to see you rreally enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th May 2016
7.1

All good mate

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day! We appreciate all feedback and Well, feedback doesn't really get any better then that. I'm actually speechless. Thanks for staying with us! We hope you come and stay again soon.

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th May 2016
8.0

Nice people at the hostel and pretty good location. Clean even though it looks old. Stoves didn't work at all times, could take you 30 minutes to cook pasta. Clean bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. Im glad to see that everyone was nice. I think haveing a good combination of friendy backpackers and staff can really make an expierence. Im sorry that you were having troubles with the stoves. I didnt have some other feedback about it the oter day and it turns out one of them had tripped for safety reasons. We have had a tech come in and replace it so its all working again! We hope you come back and stay again soon :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.