Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

790 on George

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 936 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 936 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5
790 on George Located at 790 George Street, Sydney, , Sydney.
790 on George
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2000 790 George Street, Sydney
79% 936
-33.8814431 151.2049412
790 on George
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
9.1

Location is probably the greatest about this hostel. Situated right beside Central Station (You can get anywhere in Sydney - public transport wise). This doesn't lessen the greatness of the staff, the facilities, securities, cleanliness etc. Drawback I guess is the lack of hostel atmosphere. It's very quite for a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
7.1

Pretty clean, kitchen a bit out dated but lots of room and appliances. The only thing about my stay was that at midnight, a girl was checking into the dorm except none of the beds looked made and ready for someone. So the staff came upstairs and started asking the three people in the 6 person dorm who was in which bed and which ones were taken. How should any of us know? Other than that weird disturbance it was a good place to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Nov 2016
7.4

A good hostel in a great location. Our 4 bed dorm was really small but clean enough. The staff were nice and helpful. We didn't use the kitchen but the laundry had four big washer drier units but only one was working, a bit of a pain for how many people were staying here. All in all not a bad place to stay, I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
6.3

Honestly, as a solo female backpacker, I wasn't too keen on the location or the feel of the place. It seemed to me that the place attracted a lot of labour workers, which makes it difficult to make friends in the city. Not a bad place to stay for the night, but I wouldn't want to go back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Nov 2016
8.9

Clean, lockers provided in the rooms. Bathrooms were shared between a limited number of guests so it was always easy to grab a shower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Nov 2016
8.6

Had a great stay in 790. Excellent location just off George street, close by central station and China town. Kitchen, dorms and toilets were kept very clean. It has a good TV room. The dorm was relatively spacious with sizeable lockers that could fit your entire bag in. My room did have quite a few long term stayers, which meant I got woken up every morning several times by their work alarms even with earplugs in. The hostel does lack a social element to it. However, overall a great Hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Oct 2016
7.7

Not bad for a one night stay, kitchen and common area is quite big but a bit dank and not the cleanest. Fire alarm went off at 5am on Saturday morning which wasn't ideal. Room I was in was a good size but my friend's room was very crowded.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Oct 2016
7.1

I liked my stay in 790 on george, but it's definitely not one of my best hostel i've been. The hostel is huge, not so easy to meet mew people. There is no area to chill outside or eating outside, cause the kitchen is in the basement. But the kitchen has everything that you need for cooking. The rooms are to small, but there is a big looker to but your stuff in. Wifi is only working for free in the basement.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • joanne27
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Oct 2016
9.1

The place is a short walk away from the must visit tourist spots in Sydney. The room we had is a private with shared bathroom. The room includes a cabinet where you can lock your belongings when you go for your tour but bring a lock of your own. The beds and room itself was cleaned every day we were checked in. The bathroom is okay, the sinks has been quite dirty and the hand dryer doesn't seem to be working on the female side. The staffs are friendly and very helpful during our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Oct 2016
9.4

I had a great short stay in 790. The staffs are accommodating. I arrived with a clean and fresh linen. Definitely will check in again on my next visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.