Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

A Sunflower Stop

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 384 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 384 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Apr 2017
9.7

Definitely great vibes at this hostel! Wish I had spent my whole time in capetown here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Apr 2017
10.0

Great time in a sunflower stop, thank you very much!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
10.0

This is the best Hostel in Cape Town. Wonderful location, amazing staff, good atmosphere, nice facilities. I loved my stay and I will recommend to everybody.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Mar 2017
4.6

Extremely rude staff member named John I think. I am not going to waste my time elaborating but will definitely not recommended this place. Did not feel comfortable once

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
10.0

This place is great... so comfortable and friendly. We originally booked for one night and decided to extend. Both Dan and John (the manager) are incredibly accommodating and went out of their way to look through cancellations and help us out. We had great talks with both of them about South African culture and general questions about the area. Makeala was very nice at check-in and is a good bartender. The cleaning staff does a great job,especially considering how many people are in and out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
8.0

Nice hostel, the only thing I didn't like was that people would be smoking at the all day/night long and smell would go inside living and into my room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
9.1

I really enjoyed Sunflower. You get this really relaxed, welcoming vibe when you stay there. The hostel doesn't skimp on anything - they have soap, plenty of kitchen utensils, actual coffee - so it feels like they really value their customers. Room was nice, stayed in a dorm. Only downside is that if you're on the bottom bunk, it's too short to allow sitting on your bed. Wifi was decent - better in the first part of my stay, though, which is strange considering the hostel was fully booked!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Dec 2016
4.6

Im surprised this hostel has the ratings it does. First off they ask for a deposit before you get there that is about 20 USD. They took $170 off my card and claimed they never did that and wouldn't help me out. Sketchy ladies of the night are always outside the gates. The guy in my room found a female bed bug in his bed as I was leaving. I wouldn't recommend this place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
10.0

Best hostel to stay when staying in Cape Town. Super nice staff which makes you feel at home. Beds are comfortable and everything is super clean. Thanks for the amazing time at your hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • elkeverplancke2413
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
27th Nov 2016
9.7

Very relaxing vibe at this hostel. Nice courtyard and sunny guest kitchen. Reception staff was friendly and knowledgeable, facilities were always clean as well. Location isn't superb, a fifteen minute to half hour walk from anywhere worth visiting, but there are supermarkets and restaurants close by.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.