Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

A&O Hamburg City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 887 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 887 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.1
A&O Hamburg City Located at Spaldingstrasse 160, , Hamburg.
A&O Hamburg City
Germany
Hamburg 20097 Spaldingstrasse 160
69% 887
53.5507300 10.0221600
A&O Hamburg City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • olindahl5839
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Aug 2016
7.4

Ok place to stay, but a bit to big for my taste. Not such a cozy atmosphere in the both hostel or the city area where it's located. I preferred living in the St Pauli district!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
9.1

The building itself it's a bit too severe, but you'll find roomy dormitories, comfy beds, helpful staff and people chilling out at ground floor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
7.1

This place is both a hostel and hotel, they have a daily cleaning crew which is nice. Although the place looks a little rundown it is not bad to stay at.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
15th Jul 2016
4.9

The place is terrible, noisy and dirty. The area is also disappointing - no bars and restaurants around the building. The only good thing about the location is that the metro station is near.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jul 2016
7.4

A&O is located quite far from the main train station in Hamburg. It is in a fairly industrial area on the outskirts of the town. Our group felt that the room was very over priced- we stayed in a 4 man room for one night only and paid €37 - by far the most expensive hostel we have stayed in. However, the room was clean. Expected breakfast included for the price we payed, which unfortunately would not.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
8.0

Very large place, but when we were there is was extremely crowded and packed with children. Roof top bar was closed, even during open hours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
7.1

A nice hostel to sleep, but not more than that. It's just practical, more like a hotel, but therefor the facilities were fine. The only problem we had was that they didn't assign the beds, but other people did leave their stuff on beds that wasn't theirs, so unfortunately we had put our stuff at a bed we thought was free but it wasn't. We even made that bed up, and then it turned out that it wan't our bed, so that was quit annoying. If you're looking for just a place to sleep, it is

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
8.9

Stayed here twice and would probably stay a third time. The hostel is quite nice, but it gets packed with under aged teens in groups of 20-30, which takes away the hostel feeling. Everything is quite clean, location is good (2 minutes from S-Bahn), and the facilities are awesome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
4.6

I thought this was going to be a cheap hostel but it ended being nearly twice as much as expected, the wifi is terrible, they force you to pay for sheets even though you already have some, location is pretty bad too. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else even if it costs more!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
8.0

Would go there again for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.