Hostelworld.com

A&O Hamburg City

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 953 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 953 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
2.3

This place could not have been any worse. So they advertise cheap dorms and then they charge you €4 to rent sheets which is MANDATORY. They also charge you to use the wifi! Such bullshit, it became more expensive than the much nicer hostels down the road. Also in the dorm beds, two beds is one double bed split so you are literally sharing a bed with a stranger. Stay as far away from this hostel as you can. Fucken terrible experience

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Asstrid
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
27th Jan 2017
6.3

I had the idea that everyone could just walk in and out the hostel. This hostel is HUGE. Big locker in the room. Cleaning everyday. In the room we stayed in were 8 beds, but 2 of them were right next to each other. So I was sleeping next to a guy I did not know. Which I think is quite intimate.... The bartender sighed very loud when I asked for a cocktail, but he chased a drunk guy away who was bothering us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Dec 2016
3.7

Worst hostel I've ever stayed in. Completely dirty and grimy. Not only the rooms and bathrooms in the rooms but the common areas of the building such as kitchen and laundry. I got to complain at reception, but nothing happened.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
8.6

Great place with a lot of facilities. The location was perfect for since I wanted to go to the airport early morning and the Berliner Tor stop was close by. I only stayed the night but it was good value for money. I would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Dec 2016
8.0

明明选的是一间6人间,虽然我们是五个人,但是我们选的是单独一间房,而且一间房不管选5人还是6人还是1人都是一个价,结果到了酒店房间还有一个陌生人在......租床位基本便宜一倍呀,我们不想跟陌生人住才定的一间房,最后跟酒店交涉了半天酒店要求我们加了10欧才换了一间没有其他人的房,但是有很大烟味.....这个定一间房只给五个床位的还是第一次遇到,我们那么多个城市都这样定还第一次碰到说我们因为是五个人所以会有一个其他人在我们定的房里的......

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
2.9

Receptionists were totally retard. Hotel staff was rude and did not give any information about anything!! They have lockers in the room but most of them were broken. It was a total dissapointment.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Nov 2016
4.9

Staff were unwilling to help me with a problem I had. Atmosphere was more suited to groups than individual travellers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2016
6.9

No soul. The only interaction I had with staff was telling me to take my legs off of a shirt table while I was reading. Door handles were broken for the bathroom and no one fixed it. Too big, too much like a hotel. Almost a hospital vibe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Nov 2016
2.0

Soulless hostel. Beds in dorm so close you are practically sleeping with a stranger. Dont be fooled by low price they trick you by adding on charges for using sheets, towels and tax on arrival so the price you see isnt what you get. Totally ripped off hostel should be ashamed of itself. Location too is a nothing place, stay elsewhere

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
7.7

It is a big hotel/hostal so you won t find a cute place. But everything was clean, the beds are fine, the shower is in the room. The internet works on the lobby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.