Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

A&O Hamburg City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 895 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 895 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.9
A&O Hamburg City Located at Spaldingstrasse 160, , Hamburg.
A&O Hamburg City
Germany
Hamburg 20097 Spaldingstrasse 160
68% 895
53.5507300 10.0221600
A&O Hamburg City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Sep 2016
7.7

It is a big hotel/hostal so you won t find a cute place. But everything was clean, the beds are fine, the shower is in the room. The internet works on the lobby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
6.0

The hostel is really clean. The room was nice and the shower and bathroom you only share with the people in the room. Locationwise is close to the Hbf, although on a dark strech of the town. The thing that i didnt like is that there are a lot of extra charges such as sheets, towels, everything basically, that are not informed to you in advance. Otherwise i would have brought my own. The send my a nice email to remember my of my stay and that information is nowhere to be found.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
6.3

At my stay there was a "technical problem with the doors". I had the very bad situation not being helped and able to enter my room, when I arrived in the early Sunday morning. The only one employee could not left the reception and open my door for me or others. I had to wait for over 2 hours until entering my room (sleeping 1 hour in my car + 1 hour waiting for someone opening my door). Despite the fact of this experience, I would go there again. But only if the door-key-cards are working.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
4.0

For everyone that plans to go to Hamburg, Germany, I highly recommend that you don't choose A&O Hamburg City as your hostel. In general, my experience with hostels has been quite positive so I really don't mind sharing the same space with other people for one/ two nights. However, this time it didn't go so well. Not because of the concept, but because of the hostel itself. Here it is why: - Guests are allowed to eat and drink in the bedrooms. When you are sharing the same bedroom with 7

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
3.4

I didn't get a key for my room due to some error with the system and I need to call the staff to open the room door. Around 3 am a staff came into my room and woke me up. He said the dorm is only for women and they have placed wrongly into that room due to system error again. I need to pack all my stuffs and move into a new room. Sadly they placed me into a 6 bed dorm while I have paid for 4 bed dorm. The worst hostel stay in my whole life.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • olindahl5839
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Aug 2016
7.4

Ok place to stay, but a bit to big for my taste. Not such a cozy atmosphere in the both hostel or the city area where it's located. I preferred living in the St Pauli district!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
9.1

The building itself it's a bit too severe, but you'll find roomy dormitories, comfy beds, helpful staff and people chilling out at ground floor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
7.1

This place is both a hostel and hotel, they have a daily cleaning crew which is nice. Although the place looks a little rundown it is not bad to stay at.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
15th Jul 2016
4.9

The place is terrible, noisy and dirty. The area is also disappointing - no bars and restaurants around the building. The only good thing about the location is that the metro station is near.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jul 2016
7.4

A&O is located quite far from the main train station in Hamburg. It is in a fairly industrial area on the outskirts of the town. Our group felt that the room was very over priced- we stayed in a 4 man room for one night only and paid €37 - by far the most expensive hostel we have stayed in. However, the room was clean. Expected breakfast included for the price we payed, which unfortunately would not.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.