Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

A&O Hamburg City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 925 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 925 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.9
A&O Hamburg City Located at Spaldingstrasse 160, , Hamburg.
A&O Hamburg City
Germany
Hamburg 20097 Spaldingstrasse 160
68% 925
53.5507300 10.0221600
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Nov 2016
2.9

Receptionists were totally retard. Hotel staff was rude and did not give any information about anything!! They have lockers in the room but most of them were broken. It was a total dissapointment.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Nov 2016
4.9

Staff were unwilling to help me with a problem I had. Atmosphere was more suited to groups than individual travellers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2016
6.9

No soul. The only interaction I had with staff was telling me to take my legs off of a shirt table while I was reading. Door handles were broken for the bathroom and no one fixed it. Too big, too much like a hotel. Almost a hospital vibe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Nov 2016
2.0

Soulless hostel. Beds in dorm so close you are practically sleeping with a stranger. Dont be fooled by low price they trick you by adding on charges for using sheets, towels and tax on arrival so the price you see isnt what you get. Totally ripped off hostel should be ashamed of itself. Location too is a nothing place, stay elsewhere

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
7.7

It is a big hotel/hostal so you won t find a cute place. But everything was clean, the beds are fine, the shower is in the room. The internet works on the lobby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
6.0

The hostel is really clean. The room was nice and the shower and bathroom you only share with the people in the room. Locationwise is close to the Hbf, although on a dark strech of the town. The thing that i didnt like is that there are a lot of extra charges such as sheets, towels, everything basically, that are not informed to you in advance. Otherwise i would have brought my own. The send my a nice email to remember my of my stay and that information is nowhere to be found.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
6.3

At my stay there was a "technical problem with the doors". I had the very bad situation not being helped and able to enter my room, when I arrived in the early Sunday morning. The only one employee could not left the reception and open my door for me or others. I had to wait for over 2 hours until entering my room (sleeping 1 hour in my car + 1 hour waiting for someone opening my door). Despite the fact of this experience, I would go there again. But only if the door-key-cards are working.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
4.0

For everyone that plans to go to Hamburg, Germany, I highly recommend that you don't choose A&O Hamburg City as your hostel. In general, my experience with hostels has been quite positive so I really don't mind sharing the same space with other people for one/ two nights. However, this time it didn't go so well. Not because of the concept, but because of the hostel itself. Here it is why: - Guests are allowed to eat and drink in the bedrooms. When you are sharing the same bedroom with 7

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
3.4

I didn't get a key for my room due to some error with the system and I need to call the staff to open the room door. Around 3 am a staff came into my room and woke me up. He said the dorm is only for women and they have placed wrongly into that room due to system error again. I need to pack all my stuffs and move into a new room. Sadly they placed me into a 6 bed dorm while I have paid for 4 bed dorm. The worst hostel stay in my whole life.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • olindahl5839
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Aug 2016
7.4

Ok place to stay, but a bit to big for my taste. Not such a cozy atmosphere in the both hostel or the city area where it's located. I preferred living in the St Pauli district!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.