Hostelworld.com

A&O Hamburg City

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 853 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 853 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.6
A&O Hamburg City Located at Spaldingstrasse 160, , Hamburg.
A&O Hamburg City
Germany
Hamburg 20097 Spaldingstrasse 160
75% 853
53.5507300 10.0221600
A&O Hamburg City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jun 2016
4.9

I wouldnt recommend this hostel, especially to solo travellers. I felt unsafe getting there and I felt unsafe in my room. There is no age limits on the dorm rooms so I ended up with a 60-70 year old man and I'm a 22 year old female. The staff mostly unpleasant in earlier dealings but Mary was very helpful in changing my room to be in a female dorm. It is very clean but I think over priced for what it was and also the location. I paid for sheets and there were already some in the room on all beds

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jun 2016
5.4

This hostel was a disappointment. On arriving, I sought the advice of the receptionist as to where to go in Hamburg and where to eat, as it was late and we were all hungry. She looked busy and distracted and showed no initiative in helping me, only replying briefly to the questions asked. After awhile, I gave up. As for the rooms, the pillows were flat and practically non-existent and the beds were thin. The floor and general area was not cleaned well. Noise from the streets was also loud.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
6.9

This place is huge . If you're looking for something cozy then that's not a good option. It's ok to stay there for few nights if you just need a bed. I found it quite pricey and they also charge extra for bed sheets. We were asked at the reception that do we have our own sheets and if not we need some but when we arrived to the dorm then some beds were already made and others had bed sheets on them so we actually did not need extra sheets....and refund was not possible.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • WanderinDerWelt
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
17th Jun 2016
8.6

This is the second A&O Hostel I've stayed at and the experience was very similar. Very clean and it is very close to an S-bahn and U-bahn station, which made getting around the city super easy. Breakfast is not included.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
5.7

This place is huge. The downstairs bar was full of large loud groups when I was there, not too inviting for a solo traveller. The rooftop bar, which I was excited about (as the place has 8 floors of rooms) was closed when I went looking, and I couldn't find the opening hours. The location is close to the ZOB which is nice. There's also a Real pretty much across the road. There were leftover bottles from a previous group in my room. If you're just looking for a bed, the place is fine...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • persson_miranda919
  • Sweden, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
6.3

It was too much feeling of a hotel, I prefer (small) hostels. The athmosphere was not good. The whole complex was like a labyrint. The location could have been closer to Central Station and city centre in my opinion. The self service kitchen was terrible and dirty, and the door was always looked, even thought it should be open in the morning. The microwave oven didn't work as it should. I recommend you to save some Money and go to Hamburg Thor Metro Station and by cheaper breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
8.0

Very nice hostel, but more like a hotel. The facilities are very clean with lockers and the bar with a big meeting space was nice. Would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th May 2016
8.3

La verdad que estuve re poco. Es un lugar inmensisímo. Pero mal. Medio creepy si lo pensás de cierta manera, tipo que era un correccional de niños o algo así. Lo que puedo afirmar es que estaba muy limpio y al ser tan grande tenés muchos servicios toda la noche,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
5.7

Basically a hotel. Not a great location. If you are not a solo traveler would probably be fine

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th May 2016
4.3

Shared a room with 3 people in their 40s who were loud and drunk until the early hours, smoking in the rooms which isn't allowed. Felt like a converted prison. Other than my drunk roommates everyone looked miserable, not fun.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.