Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

A&O Hamburg City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 1028 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 1028 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2017
4.3

The room was adequate but the staff are among some of the worst I've encountered. One of the people travelling with us had his wallet taken. Knew who had taken it and they were still in the hostel spending the money they had stolen. The staff and security refused to check cameras to prove it was them. And treated my peer as the one who had stolen the wallet. No check up the next day to see if it had been returned. As we didn't speak German / were not from around the area they simply didn't care

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2017
4.6

Worst place in amburg. Too far from the centre, a lot of families inside, nothing is free, unfriendly staff, absurd rules (after 10pm you can't talk in the rooms).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Aug 2017
5.7

Decent hostel in terms of rooms and showers etc. However staff were really rude to us at one point swearing when we didn't want bed linen. Staff are also not sympathetic if you're not a good German speaker, nothing much around the area either

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nofipinhai
  • Austria, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Aug 2017
7.7

At first we couldn't find the hostel and all of the locals told us that we should take public transport to get to the Hostel. It was about a 15-20 minute walk from the central station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Jul 2017
5.4

The cleanliness of this hostel was very low. When we arrived one of our beds still had the last persons sheets on it and The reception staff were not happy to remove it for us. The bathrooms were not cleaned once in our 2 night stay in an 8 bed dorm, which we could tell due to the hair ball that remained in the shower for this whole time. The entire room had a distinctive smell that was not pleasant.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • gabybezz3336
  • Lithuania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
7.1

We stayed for 3 nights in Hamburg, our party was just two females so we stayed in a 6 bed all female dorm. It was a very decent stay, good location (Berliner Tor is around the corner), plus it was clean. Extra towels and linen were brought to the rooms daily. I've rated lowly on atmosphere and staff because the staff were unhelpful to us on two occasions and the "24 hour restaurant" we relied on was closed before 2am on a Friday night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jessemilton
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
20th Jul 2017
3.1

The worst hostel I have ever stayed at!!! It is very far from anything, the room smelt like sweaty balls! I had to pay €3.50 for bed sheets and a towel, but then when I go to my room, my pillow and towel were being used by someone else! AVOID AT ALL COST!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Charleseguin8015
  • France, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2017
8.0

Good hostel. Huge and not too expensive. Location is a bit away from the city center, 15min walk not in the nicest area. However in the overall I would be recommend it to anybody thst want cheap and comfy hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2017
6.9

It was okay. Nothing to brag about, basically the same as every other A&O.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Jun 2017
6.9

Good rooms. Clean. But very noisy at night. Hundreds of school groups shouting out windows to eachother at 1am on a weeknight.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.