Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

A&O Hamburg Hauptbahnhof

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 913 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 913 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • cajalunder
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
8.6

We were really lucky and ordered two beds in a 6-bed dorm, but we ended up being alone. They have shower and toilet separate which is good. You have to pay for sheets for the beds... The hostel lays just a 5-10 minute walk from the center/train station, so it has a good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
2.0

I was allowed to book a room with only one twin bed for 4 people and I do not understand who thought that was a good idea & im pretty sure is actually dangerous as a thing to do.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
5.1

Check in Took forever, the location wasn't any good. They give you sheets at the check in, another person and I had to go up and down to our rooms for various reasons

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
6.3

+ for close to main stadion + for good breakfast ÷ for shower and toilet together. Not practic when those who want to shower occupies the toilet. ÷ for security options ÷ for small room

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • zachfedewa96919
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
8.3

Very small room. Good accommodations though

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jul 2017
7.7

The hostel is at a pretty decent location: just a 10-min walk from the main station. But there ain't many facilitates or restaurants besides the hostel. The place is tidy and clean, though you need to prepare yourself the bed sheets (or buy it from the reception). The staff is nice and helpful, giving out clear instruction.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
7th Jul 2017
2.0

It would've been very nice to stay at this hostel I am sure, however the location was completely inaccessible except on foot due to the G20, and we were unable to locate the hostel due to the heavy police presence and rioting. A&O should inform their customers in advance if they know their hostel will be inaccessible due to a pre planned event, or at least give their customers a heads up that there is a major security event taking place when they make a booking.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
8.9

We had a shared dorm booked but only my friend and I stayed in the room, which had an en suite which was very clean and exactly what we needed! The centre of Hamburg is easy to walk to and the atmosphere was friendly although there are not many communal areas like in other hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
5.1

You have to pay to for linen so bring your own. There isn't much of an atmosphere apart from the noise coming from all the stag/hen nights. The shower holder was broken so I had to hold the shower head when showering. There was construction work done on my floor so it was fairly noisy throughout the time I was in the hostel. Would only stay here again if there was no where else to stay (inc. looking at airbnb) and fairly expensive for what I was getting. Hard to socialise with others.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th May 2017
6.6

My stay at A&O Hamburg Hauptbahnhof was ok. There were closets in my 6 bed room but no way to lock them. The location was a 15 min walk from central station and ZOB, so do not expect to be super close to the central station, like the competitor. The price was relatively high for a hostel and I expected a bit more service for that money. The atmosphere wasn't like in a usual hostel, rather a hotel atmosphere, no lounge areas. All in all it's ok, but not if you want to truly experience Hamburg.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.