X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

AAE 11th Avenue Hostel Reviews

1112 Broadway, Greyhound Bus Amtrak Downtown Location, Denver, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
445 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Agree with other comments that it's not really a backpackers hostel, and all sorts of people seemed to come and go. Having said that, it was clean and my four bed dorm was massive with a TV and a couch. Bunk beds were metal and super squeaky though, thankfully the room wasn't at full occupancy. Microwave in room, which roomie used at 4.45am! I would stay again as it was clean, and fairly easy to get to by public transport but would suggest microwaves really don't belong in bedrooms.


34%

Felt very sketchy the whole time. Sorry, most likely won't be back.


83%

This place was great value for your money and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was just a few blocks from downtown Denver, so it's great for exploring the city. It was also a plus to have your own bathroom and tv in room. Rooms are average, but overall a good experience at 11th Avenue Hostel, and I'd stay there again.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

borderline homeless shelter. My dinner was stolen New Years eve. I am not sure the parents of young people woudl feel secure allowing theri kids to stay . ,,, cost of doing business are sufficient dishes, cups, mugs and clean towels everyday. The toaster oven was dodgy, the microwave not powerful enough for the high volume use. A stove should be a given for a hostel this size. Word is changes are in the future that may alleviate some of the security issues.


89%

Fantastic hostel. The staff were super helpful and friendly. Clean rooms and beds. Nice hot showers and lockers were available in the male dorms. Sadly out of no fault of the hostel there are smelly potheads. It's all non smoking but potheads wreak. Don't leave food out. It'll disappear!

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Within walking distance to literally everything - just a couple blocks from DAM, a few from 16th Avenue Mall... Great location. Yes, it can be loud on Saturday nights, but what do you expect? It's downtown. No frills, but it's clean, and lockers are provided. Beds are typical dorm bunk beds - they're comfortable! I'd definitely stay again.

  • 17th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

First time in Colorado and I decided to stay at this hostel. It was great. I arrived at around 12:30 am and we were greeted by the front desk who was very warming and accommodating. The front desk noticed I made a mistake while booking which he quickly fixed. Towels are $3 a pop which is refundable upon return of the towels. The hostel is a very old but sturdy building. The rooms have actual keys and no key card. That didn't bother me at all. The neighborhood it's located in has everything.

  • 12th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

There was no shower instead there was a old fashioned bath tub. The tv was an old style also. The room was kind of dumpy. There was a lack of restaurants in the area. It was a 15 minute walk to the convention center. The heat came through an old fashion radiator.


80%

I was in town for a convention and the location was great. I had a 15 minute walk to the convention center through some of the civil buildings and museums in Denver. The facilities were what I expected since this was a hostel. I stayed in a 6 person female dorm. My biggest complaint was that the building was hot. There were a couple of fans and you could open one of the windows, but it was hot. Overall, the hostel was a good price and pretty consistent with what the reviews said.

  • 11th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Mostly nice and helpful staff


60%

Good place for the price.

  • 27th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

This is essentially a hotel, not a hostel. There are some big rooms with multiple beds but it's still just a hotel. No real facilities but the locations makes up for it. It advertises no parking but they own a parking lot one block away and you will be able to park there. Would stay again.


71%

Accomodations were clean and accessible. Misplaced a Coleman LED backpacker's headlamp and would like to have returned if found. 4510 Harmony Road Helena, MT 59602.

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

11th ave hostel is good for the money ,Great location,close to things,helpful staff,Good times

  • 5th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


43%

The bed had plastic covers on the sheets. That is a red flag classic for bed bugs!


69%

the plastic cover on the mattress was super loud!! very hard to sleep


71%

The staff were really nice and I did really enjoy my stay but there were a few places that let it down a little. Firstly the common room is a bit boring, not really a lot going on so rarely ever busy. Could do with a pool table or something similar. The cleanliness of the room was very good, it was just the communial showers and rest rooms were not the best. And the wifi worked okay when I was in the lobby or halfway up the stairs to the first floor but thats it. Not well in my room on 1st


46%

This hostel is more of a hotel - the kind of hotel that you rent by the hour rather than sleep in. The location is half decent and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The beds are cramped and uncomfortable, the rooms are generally shabby and there is no AC which makes warm nights uncomfortable. The rooms are not throughly cleaned and the small number of bathrooms to guests is a problem. Over all - I wouldn't recommend.


54%

It was my worst hostel I have been to, didn't like it, very, very noisy outside from the street, very bad then you have a room next to the street. Don't stay here if you are in Denver, try to find another place, I will not stay there if I coming back to Denver!


89%

Great hostel in a good location, very clean, only issues were no AC and internet was slow at times


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Denver Hostels

Please give us your feedback