Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

AAE Banfield Portland

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.7
Rating 126 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 4.8
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 4.2
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
5.7
Rating 126 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 4.8
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 4.2
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.5
AAE Banfield Portland Located at 1525 N E 37th Ave, , Portland.
AAE Banfield Portland
USA
Portland Oregon 97232 1525 N E 37th Ave
57% 126
45.5345890 -122.6251459
AAE Banfield Portland
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2016
5.1

As other reviewers have said, this is not a hostel. It's just a shady motel. The rooms are clean enough, but the place feels cheap. A local said it's where prostitutes and people who want a place to do crack and heroine often go. Said he was surprised we were staying there at all. To be fair, I was never in a situation that felt unsafe. However, I don't think I'll be going back. It's simply overpriced and should not be on this site.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
5.4

We booked a "Three beds room" as clearly stated, for 3 persons. However, they don't have any three beds room in the motel. Since we didn't want to waste our time cancelling and moving to another motel, we had to share a bed. Both the motel and AAE refused to make any discount or arrangement regarding this, blaming it on each other.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2016
6.3

It is not a hostel! A motel. Clean and quite ok rooms. But don't expect a hostel with common space, there isn't. Not downtown, but easy to get around by busses. Close to many routes.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2016
7.1

Not a hostel but a motel. Abit of a mix up with our room but got it sorted out. Abit out of the way but caught the train from Union square easily then walked the rest of the way. Clean room but no coffee or tea making facilities. TV had no good chanels. Right by the highway so noisy but once the door was shut it was ok. They are giving the place a make over which is good. Not a bad place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Jul 2016
6.3

It's not a hostel, but a motel, so it has all the facilities associated with that. Had a big telly, microwave and fridge in the room. The bathroom was clean, however there were cigarette holes in the blanket although it was a nonsmoker's room. All in all you get your money's worth.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
5.4

When we arrived at the hostel, it was run-down, beside the highway (noisy), and located a ways out of the heart of Portland. That wasn't entirely unexpected, however. What was unexpected, was that the reservation I made through hostel world (on which I made a down-payment and received a confirmation number), was not received by the hotel. However, the men who worked there were accommodating and quickly arranged for us to stay in their nicer and similarly priced sister-hotel, The Briarwood Suite

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • larnielton5337
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
4.3

The price is not what it seems. Advertised as $68...total paid $85 (compared with an Expedia booking made at the same time where all taxes were upfront and included...and only totaled $7). The first room they put us in didn't lock, and could be pushed open

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
5.1

In the middle of the night someone came and kicked my door so hard it woke me up. Fell back asleep and it happened again an hour later at 2 am. Not sure if it was just some kids messing around or if someone was actually trying to break into the room. I tried to call the number listed on my confirmation email but got no answer. The next morning I complained and they were actually very helpful and sympathetic. Helped me find a new place. The number on hostelworld is wrong though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.