X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

AAE Bourbon House Hostel Reviews

1660 Annunciation Street, Amtrack GreyHound Location, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1000 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Though a bit out of the way (particularly in light of of New Orleans' less-than-stellar public transit system), the hostel is still clean, well-stocked and provides a nice indoor/outdoor common area. For once my traveling partner and I enjoyed a private room, which had a fantastic air conditioner. It also had a couple of earwigs, but it is the Bayou in Spring, hard to blame them! I'd stay again, the staff and other visitors were fantastic!


74%

the staff was extremely helpful and made my stay pleasant. The place had some usual wear and tear but to be expected. My overall stay was good.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I had a great stay! The staff is amazing and the atmosphere made for one of the best hostel experiences I've had! It's not too far out of town, only 15 minutes on the streetcar and only a $7 cab ride at night. My only "complaint" is that it was so much fun hanging out on the patio that sometimes it was hard to leave : )


77%

Good stay at aae house .. Great staff and friendly people, everything needed is there .. Can't ask for much more.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We were a bit hesitant at first as the area looks a bit dodgy. But as soon as we got into the hostel and had introductions etc. all worries vanished! Amazing spot and very convenient to the trolley straight into bourbon at and the French quarter!! Pancakes are awesome..I want the recipe!! Everyone very friendly! Would def stay here again!

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Stayed at Bourbon three weeks. Staff was very good about finding accommodation when I had no bed. Caleb Breen was cool as hell. Made a fun atmosphere with easy conversation and a right jolly mood. Led group tours to Parisols!!! Awesome po boy :)

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff were excellent. So friendly and took time when explaining directions or giving suggestions! The outdoor space was cozy and always had people lounging there. It's within blocks of magazine street/garden district and just a 25 min streetcar ride to the French Quarter, which was great. The only thing that would need improvement are the bathrooms and bathroom cleanliness. But you definitely get more than what you paid for when you stay at AAE and I'd recommend it to my friends.


49%

We stayed at AAE Bourbon House Hostel for two nights and will not be staying there again! There was a bedside drawer that had someone's toenail clippings in it, obviously this was disgusting. The lamp on the drawer would not turn on because the cord was cut. Not sure the bed sheets were that clean or even changed, so slept on top of the duvet just in case. The bathroom was shared and took a long time to get decently warm water going. Guy at the check in was nice, location could be better.

  • 11th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very homely environment. It was nice pleasant stay!

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very great hostel; good location( 5min) away to street car/trolley which delivers you start to bourbon street. Good pancakes for breakfast. Friendly people you meet people and just go out with them their; its a great place you'll love it , and its cheap

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ethiopia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a fantastic time here and would definitely come back. 40-minute walk to Bourbon Street, but only 5-10 min. to both Magazine and St. Charles (parade route). 5-10 min. walk to Wal-Mart. Safe neighborhood. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice and spacious common areas both inside and on the patio outside. I only used one of the bathrooms -- it was huge and clean. Secure building with keycard lock on front door and padlock on dorms. A bit pricey for Mardi Gras but still the best option.


71%

The staff were friendly & informative. It's a little out of town if you're walking but a $5 cab ride will take you to Frenchman Street. Good atmosphere and yummy pancakes for breakfast. The place did have a little bit of a funny smell but I think that that's just New Orleans for you as everywhere else we stayed had the same smell!


77%

Okay:) . Price was nice and cheap!!! I stayed private room tho. Bathroom was not good because of sharing with other guys. it cannot help. If you really care of cleanliness, you should stay luxury hotels. I like staff and atmosphere.

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I enjoyed my stay, for the most part, at the Bourbon House. The other guests were friendly, engaging and the staff was accommodating and helpful. The noise level in the room was on the high side but that is to be expected in an 8 person, shared dorm room. Props to Mya, Shane, Ryan and Megan for their recommendations.


91%

Staff were very helpful, free pancakes were great for breakfast! Showers worked wonderfully

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly and nice staff along with a very clean environment and great location.

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

good hostel, nice staff. Shane knew a lot bout the music scene in new orleans. Meghan was nice person to hang out with. When i come back to new orleans , i'll be staying here again.


80%

Staff was super nice, but the layout was not great. People coming in and out, doorbell ringing non-stop and paper thin walls. Could be cleaner, but overall it was nice.


97%

Overall I was very satisfied with hostel. Shane, the hostel manager, has great custumer service. He is nice and pick me up from the station when I arrive within 10 minutes of my call. The place was clean and quite while I was there. The kitchen was clean and there was hot water all the time. The lobby was a pretty good place to hang out and talk to other travelers. He told of all the good places visit. Exellent hospitality. A-.


86%

Location was decent in light of other hostels around, but its still a 40 min walk to the french quarter. Streetcars and buses are close to help with this though. Staff were helpful and it was clean and had all required amenities. Seems stupid to only allow a 7 day stay in a dorm though. In NOLA, youre always going to meet a great group of people, so you can inflate this review somewhat.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback