X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

AAE Bourbon House Hostel Reviews

1660 Annunciation Street, Amtrack GreyHound Location, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1065 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The three guys at the reception were really nice and helpfull, but the young woman was terrible! Not friendly, sleepy... The bathrooms are cleaned 2 times per day, but there are only 2, so with all the people they become dirty really quick. It's a good hostel to stay. 25 minutes walking to go to the French Quarter, or 10 minutes by bus (1;25$ one way, or 3$ the day).


97%

The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Clean, convenient. Just steps away from magazine street and Walmart. A caveat: they only accept cash. There's an ATM inside the hostel, but you need to pay $3 transaction fee.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Cockroach everywhere!!!!


97%

The hostel is very good, and the price is the best thing .

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Shuttle pickup service is dope and their kitchen is nice. The shared bathrooms situation isn't the best and you can hear a lot of noise through all the walls. This is by no means a fancy establishment, but if you need somewhere to stay, it serves the purpose :)


86%

A good place with pretty much atmosphere.


80%

Very good service from staff. Enjoyed the company of the other travelers here.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great atmosphere and friendly, accommodating staff. The location was a little far from bourbon street when there are no taxis late at night, and you have to stumble home. And the shower was a bit of a mystery. It was always a bit difficult to turn it on and off, and it was a surprise whether you got hot or cold water. Typically it seemed to be on the colder side, which isn't too bad in the hot July New Orleans heat. I would stay here again.


91%

The location is not bad at all if you are looking for a more relaxed environment apart from the hustling and bustling area that is the French Quarter. The other traveling occupants I ment during my stay here were friendly and respectful. Facilities and amenities were clean and came with all the necessary basics minus the toothbrush (that's on you). Staff were also very friendly and helpful. Just do your part and respect the guidelines considering this is a shared house and not a hotel.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Caleb is an awesome

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

All GREAT! Thanks a lot...=)

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Excellent value for money: pancakes for breakfast and a pick up service included in the price! The staff was welcoming and helpful. The hostel is about half an hour walk from the French Quarter, however streetcars and buses run frequently (3$/day). I would stay there again anytime!


51%

Staff were good, atmosphere good also but the building needs some work. Not enough showers, an the ones that were there are very poor. Our bedroom light was on the same switch as the landing light so when people turn that on it turned out light on too! Wtf! Kitchen locked at night so no access to drinking water. Walls very thin so you can hear everything. We didnt notice anywhere get cleaned during our stay. The only clean room was the kitchen and that is because the guests kept it clean!


77%

Value for money!


77%

I was only here for one night, people were helpful and plenty of people to speak too.


100%

Perfect stay! Everybody couldn't have been nicer.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

This is very good hostel. I'd stay there again. My only complaint is that the DYI pancake breakfast was pretty awful.


74%

Super lovely and helpful staff. Very loud hostel you can hear everyone coming and going. No lights for beds and only 2 PowerPoint's for an 8 bed room! Great party atmosphere but not so great if you want to catch some zzz.


83%

Very helpful staff who know where everything is locally and good location about a 20 minute walk to French quarter but other things closer. A party hostel with good communal areas quite noisy at night. Only downside for me was a bad smell in our room like feet needs a better clean and some fresh air. Duvet covers are sprayed with fabreeze rather than changed. Would still recommend as good value and lots of fun with free pancakes in the morning.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

There was nothing particularly special about this place. It was kind of plain, overpriced, and farther from the streetcar than other hostels in the area.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback