X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

AAE Bourbon House Hostel Reviews

1660 Annunciation Street, Amtrack GreyHound Location, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1087 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Staff was amazing!!! So helpful couldn't believe how much they went out of their way to help find info for us. The location is 10 mins away from everything very convient to groceries to help keep costs down and very tidy it's an old house so it's not amazingly clean but a lot of renvos to help with that and it has a lot of character thanks for the great stay!!!

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This place was awesome. Staff was exceptional!!


97%

The staff was AMAZING! Our room was clean, although I wish we had gotten a double bed instead of a bunk bed as we purchased the entire room for a couple, not a pair of friends :/ At any rate, the location was awesome, super close to bus lines and other public transit. The girl who checked us in gave us a full run-down of what was around us and how we could get there. The bathrooms smelled a little, but everything looked clean! We stayed for 2 nights and would definitely go back!!

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hosts! Everything was awesome, people, our room, location. We couldn't be happier about our stay.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Zwei Nächte ohne funktionierende Klimaanlage sind im Sommer in New Orleans eine Zumutung!

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Loved Bourbon house! I was picked up by Jordan from the greyhound station as complimentary service. The staff booked tours for us. And the hostel itself felt cozy and homey.


69%

VERY noisy

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Always felt safe within the hostel (though the walk to the main street can feel a bit dodgy when alone at night). The free airport transport was great, lots of information about the best places to eat and drink, both at information boards and from the staff. The atmosphere was good, the price excellent and very clean. Would highly recommend.


66%

AAE Bourbon Street Hostel Review: Positives - Friendly staff Hostel was pretty clean Good sized, plus well facilitated kitchen Negatives - 1) Location: although the name states Bourbon Street, this hostel is a 40 min walk from Bourbon Street. 2) State of Hostel:Wifi was going down the entire time we were there (3 nights)Breakfast was very limited, pancakes (which you made yourself, tea coffee). No variety e.g. some fresh fruit. No atmosphere in the place, everyone kept to themselves


74%

It's built into an old home, so if you're looking for a commune, this is the place! We made friends all around the house, were able to cook breakfast, hang outside in the garden patio, make coffee 24/7, but if you need a clean shower maybe somewhere else? I wouldn't pass this place though - walking distance to the gorgeous Lower Garden District restaurants and bars, and a skip away from the streetcars. This is what a hostel should be. Thanks.


94%

I was a little apprehensive at first as the hostel, from the outside, looked a little run down, however upon entering found something quite different. The staff were amazing- really quite helpful for day to day activities, dining options and booking trips, as well as responded quickly to a blocked sink issue. I would stay there again :)


80%

Wir hatten eine echt gute eit und wollten uns dafür ganz herzlich bedanken. Wir konnten in relativ kurzer Zeit viel sehen.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The three guys at the reception were really nice and helpfull, but the young woman was terrible! Not friendly, sleepy... The bathrooms are cleaned 2 times per day, but there are only 2, so with all the people they become dirty really quick. It's a good hostel to stay. 25 minutes walking to go to the French Quarter, or 10 minutes by bus (1;25$ one way, or 3$ the day).


97%

The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Clean, convenient. Just steps away from magazine street and Walmart. A caveat: they only accept cash. There's an ATM inside the hostel, but you need to pay $3 transaction fee.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Cockroach everywhere!!!!


97%

The hostel is very good, and the price is the best thing .

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Shuttle pickup service is dope and their kitchen is nice. The shared bathrooms situation isn't the best and you can hear a lot of noise through all the walls. This is by no means a fancy establishment, but if you need somewhere to stay, it serves the purpose :)


86%

A good place with pretty much atmosphere.


80%

Very good service from staff. Enjoyed the company of the other travelers here.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great atmosphere and friendly, accommodating staff. The location was a little far from bourbon street when there are no taxis late at night, and you have to stumble home. And the shower was a bit of a mystery. It was always a bit difficult to turn it on and off, and it was a surprise whether you got hot or cold water. Typically it seemed to be on the colder side, which isn't too bad in the hot July New Orleans heat. I would stay here again.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback