X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

AAE Hostel Seattle Reviews

2301 8th Avenue, Seattle, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
287 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

This is not a Hostel. It turned out that AAE contracted our reservation to a Best Western. It was very confusing when we were trying to find the address as there was no AAE Hostel. Only after going into a few places in the area did we find out that they contract bookings out to a Best Western. I even emailed about parking and no one explained the situation. The location was good but otherwise I feel this listing was a bit misleading.


100%

Super value in the center of Seattle!! I searched and searched for a reasonable place to stay on our recent vacation and it was,very difficult to find a hotel in this area under $300. Great location with nice continental breakfast , hot tub and newspaper delivered to your door.. This is not a hostel, it is the Best Western Loyal Inn.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very clean & comfortable. Good location.

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff very friendly and helpful. Gym could use a treadmill.

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

This was not a hostel, it was the Best Western Loyal Inn. AAE is just a booking company reselling the hotel. I found this quite confusing, as I was looking for something with AAE on it.


83%

Enjoyed our stay, but the fees and tabulation of the bill were difficult to understand (both on the email confirmation when I made the booking and when we checked out). Nothing seemed to add up easily and despite a booking deposit being taken in advance, it did not show up on the final bill.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

First day, I could hear lots noise from upstairs. So, we changed room. Nice breakfast, friendly staff, and cleaned. It was reasonable hotel!

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great place to stay in Seattle on a moderate budget! Location was good and the free breakfast was even better. Not a frilly hotel by any means, but it was a comfortable stay. I find it bizarre however that this booking is actually for a Best Western Hotel, not a hostel and not anything called "AAE"! This was confusing for us upon arrival and I don't understand the reason for this inconsistency, I feel that many travellers may be wasting a lot of time driving around the block trying to find it.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


20%

This is a scam. The hostel does not exist.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
60%

we were upset that after we 20 minutes after we booked a room, our ride to seattle fell through and we tried to cancel or reservation but they were strict to the 'no cancelations within 24 hours' of planned stay. we werent able to make it in time or at all, because our train ride was the next morning, and they charged us the full $90 dollars. they wouldn't re-imburse us.

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Will definitely stay again great hotel and great value for your $


37%

Staff in a hotel was discusting.Once we arrrive to the front desk guy was so unfriendly and no willing to help cuz we had issue with a credit card and they didn't want to accept busines company card and we literaly stay on the street in late evening and we went to other hotel who disn't make any drama about busines card and accept as for whole week to stay.Strongly not reccomended hotel to stay in.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This is a nice hotel masquerading as a hostel so was not at all what my friends and l were expecting. It was good value for 3 of us and the breakfast was v nice plus self serve so you could have as much as you want

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff was spectacular. Had 2 presenting issues on arrival.. leaking face-bowl and rattling AC. Immediate repairs were done including totally replacing the AC and the faucet. Housekeeping (Rosa) was so good, so thorough, so personable. Breakfast was generous and the room kept clean and orderly. Desk personnel were universally welcoming and helpful, esp. Dave and David.

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Hotel was good. However, HostelWorld misled us, then used misdirection to refuse to address our complaint, namely HostelWorld took a deposit from us - which should mean a figure discounted from the final total - but in truth is a straight fee ($60 over two nights) added to the hotel's final tally. Tax was also absent from HostelWorld's calculations.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

So let me preface this by saying that I stayed in a "private" not the dorms. I never saw the dorms, so I can't say what those were like, but for the private room....we were SO HAPPY! It's a Best Western that uses some rooms as a hostel, so our private room that we paid $89/night for was just a normal hotel room with 2 double beds and ALL the hotel amenities. I looked it up, and other guests were paying $169-229 for the exact same room, but because we booked it as a hostel, it was cheap!


100%

Not much to add. Everything was pretty smooth and we enjoyed our stay stay pretty much at the Loyal Inn. Why is it called AAE Hostel if its name is Loyal Inn?

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

This really is a Best Western Hotel that has an affiliation with AAE. The rooms are large, clean, comfortable, and have a/c. Given Seattle's prices, the rates are excellent. I don't know, though, if they have dorms as you'd usually find in a hostile. My only negative is that there is nothing to identify the building as "AAE Hostel."


80%

I was impressed with accommodation and attention to environmental issues, e.g. non allergic cleaning products. Great location near Whole Foods store and a microwave in room. Bed was clean and comfortable and front desk staff very helpful. Only reservation was that two taxes were added to the bill- one the usual sales tax, the other a $2 tourist tax and these weren't made explicit when I made the booking. Breakfast ok but gluten free bread and granola for wheat free guests would be appreciated.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff being average is due only to one staff member who left a very bad taste in our mouth, everyone else was very helpful and nice. The value for money is Average due to the staff member mentioned above telling us our booking didn't include tax and we had to pay $419.50 not the quoted amount of $355.96 on the booking. No amount of discussion would alter her stance. We couldn't get through to her that we had paid a deposit which she hadn't taken off the invoice she created.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(164 results)


View all Seattle Hotels

Please give us your feedback