Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

AAE Portland Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 349 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 349 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 5.8
AAE Portland Downtown Located at 415 SW Montgomery Street, Oregon, Portland.
AAE Portland Downtown
USA
Portland Oregon 97201 415 SW Montgomery Street, Oregon
66% 349
45.5115348 -122.6810431
AAE Portland Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jul 2016
4.9

There is an 30 years age limit for the dorm rooms that I had booked I was unaware of. The gentleman at the front desk was extremely rude and said to my friend and I, "You can't stay here" without explaining the issue, how to resolve it and wasn't interested in honouring our reservation. He made a big display of making an exception for us and threatened if we left we wouldn't find somewhere cheaper. His attitude was horrendous. We left forfeiting our reservation. Disgraceful

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jun 2016
7.7

Pros: Very large and spacious room that is self-contained with kitchen and bathroom and a little outdoor patio. Close to a few eateries. Staff are friendly. Cons: In a very quiet, non-happening part of the city. Internet drops out a lot during the day. This is not a hostel in the sense that there's organised social activities or a common area. It's really more like a motel. But no complaints on my end. We had an 8 bed room to myself and my friend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2016
4.9

The place smells.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
24th May 2016
8.9

Great Location in the middle of Portland and great value for the $$.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • miss_brogan1253
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd May 2016
3.7

this is not a hostel in any form it is a motel with one room of bunkbeds, a small kitchen which only has a top and microwave. No sheet is provided to put between yourself and the blanket which is not acceptable, that bathroom desperately needs an update the bath is vile! there is no way of really meeting others, and as its not a real hostel there are not many others to meet around, this is also no laundry room. I would not stay here especially for the price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd May 2016
8.9

Not a hostel, its a motel, but a very nice one. Not cheap, but for the last minute deal it was fair enough. The room was big, clean and comfortable. The staff is very nice. No breakfast. The area is nice and safe, I felt safe walking around as a woman traveling alone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Apr 2016
6.9

This hostel is actually too expensive for what it has to offer! Location is fine, staff is nice and friendly. Rooms are actually nice and big beds! But the bathrooms are kinda old and need some repairing/ renovation.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
6.0

This is not a hostel! It is a hotel room with 4 bunk beds and an old kitchen that was hardly useable. This was the first time I did not read reviews prior to booking. I ended up staying a second night in Portland but was sure to check out and move to another hostel. There was no sheet separating yourself from the blanket - gross. Would not stay again. Strange vibe.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
9.4

Double beds, quiet, decent bathroom and great location. Perfect hostel to stay at for a Portland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
7.7

Convenient location, comfortable bed, fair price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.