Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

AAE S.F. European Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.3
Rating 696 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 5.6
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 4.7
  • Cleanliness 4.4
  • Facilities 4.7
BOOK NOW
5.3
Rating 696 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 5.6
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 4.7
  • Cleanliness 4.4
  • Facilities 4.7
AAE S.F. European Hostel Located at 761 Minna Street, , San Francisco.
AAE S.F. European Hostel
USA
San Francisco California 94103 761 Minna Street
53% 696
37.7762806 -122.4135410
AAE S.F. European Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Aug 2016
6.0

Considering walking distance from the city center this location is great, though the street itself looks creepy, don't recommend you to walk there by yourself late evening, especially if you're a young girl. Facilities are bearable, of course considering other hostels it's even far from "fine", but what do you expect for that kind of price. My opinion if you go there with a company so you guys could occupy the entire room this place is pretty good, otherwise wouldn't recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
3.1

I have seen a lot of hostels arround the world and I'm not that picky, and this was one of my worst experience. The hostel is actually called "crack house Europa". During my stay a huge fight happened in the common room and it all felt really unsafe and sketchy. The hostel is mostly local people who can't afford their own place so there is no hostel feeling at all. People talked about their stuff gotten stolen in their room and in their locker. The bathroom and shower was a mess. Just don&#3

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
6.0

The staff was really helpful and friendly. The downfall is the bathrooms, lacking the rooms for everyone. It's kinda narrow.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
2.0

They overbooked our room and when we returned to sleep our beds were taken. The staff would not refund us even though we had to leave and find new arrangements at 11pm

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
6.6

The place has no place for luggage , room are too small to even open one luggage properly ; if one roommate has too much luggage then others suffer; lack of enough power outlets considering the room has been shared by 6

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Aug 2016
4.6

Dirty, not enough toilets or showers on each floor. Not even basic facilities in the kitchen such as a kettle. Only 10 minutes walk from downtown but noisy back street location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jul 2016
3.7

I don't recommend this Hostel. It's dirty, it sucks and you couldn't open a window to improve the smell. You barely meet young travelers because the main part of the guests are old and some live in the hostel. The low price might be tempting but if you want to have a good trip I recommend to spent a little more.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
2.0

This was the WORST experience I have ever had. Think twice about staying here, especially you ladies..Questionable neighborhood, no safe parking.Questionable clientele Man in common room came up to me and showed me a picture.To add insult to injury, a mouse was scurrying back and forth in the living room. Had to leave for the airport at 4am and was worried about walking to my car.Saw A nan trying to open my car door.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
5.7

Challenging neighborhood, difficult other guests

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
7.1

Basic and clean, staff were pretty friendly. There is no secure or locked storage for larger items so I had to leave my violin behind the desk, which the gentleman very kindly looked after while we went out for the day. It's in a great location for access to everything exciting to see and do but it IS in a sketchy part of town, so I didn't feel super safe coming and going out on the street. All in all a great budget choice for a centrally located stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.