Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

AAE S.F. European Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
5.4
Rating 683 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 4.9
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 4.9
BOOK NOW
5.4
Rating 683 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 4.9
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 4.9
AAE S.F. European Hostel Located at 761 Minna Street, , San Francisco.
AAE S.F. European Hostel
USA
San Francisco California 94103 761 Minna Street
54% 683
37.7762806 -122.4135410
AAE S.F. European Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jul 2016
3.7

I don't recommend this Hostel. It's dirty, it sucks and you couldn't open a window to improve the smell. You barely meet young travelers because the main part of the guests are old and some live in the hostel. The low price might be tempting but if you want to have a good trip I recommend to spent a little more.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
5.7

Challenging neighborhood, difficult other guests

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
7.1

Basic and clean, staff were pretty friendly. There is no secure or locked storage for larger items so I had to leave my violin behind the desk, which the gentleman very kindly looked after while we went out for the day. It's in a great location for access to everything exciting to see and do but it IS in a sketchy part of town, so I didn't feel super safe coming and going out on the street. All in all a great budget choice for a centrally located stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
4.9

Not a good place, even that is close to union sq. Wasnt clean, but was ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Jun 2016
5.4

Accepted my package so that was a plus. Hostel is in a pretty ghetto place. Not many toilets or showers. Staff were 50/50. Weird vibe, felt like a halfway house for people staying long term

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
4.3

Really bad neighborhood creeped me out. Also almost no tourists during my stay. People used the hostel to search for a job or home. Lots of crazy people. In total I can't recommend that hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
4.9

Terrible staff and athmosphere and strange guests in a strange neighbourhood. However at least it's clean and cheap...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
7.7

I was a little worried after reading the reviews, but after staying I was content with this hostel. We were looking for a private room at a cheap rate in downtown SF for just one night. This no-frills establishment served that purpose. The linens were clean, nobody was particularly loud, the bathrooms were ok, and our belongings were secure. The building is not in the best part of town, but also certainly isn't in the worst part of town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
8.6

The location seems a bit creepy at first, but I felt really safe staying here. Our room was right next to the kitchen so it tended to be a little bit loud but at night it was relaxing and quiet. Rooms were nice and spacious and clean. Nice location. Thank you for hosting us!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
2.3

IT WAS A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE. we were 2 girls staying in this hostel, and it was in very sketchy area. we encountered so many homelesses, and we saw a very aggressive homeless with a nife in his hand. also we was in subway(sandwich place) near around, and a hobo came in and threatened us. and the hostel itself, it had very bad smell, and the room smelled so bad too. I was staying on 2nd floor, and ppl staying in the floor were not tourists, but they are just living in there. bathroom was terribl

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.