X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

AAE S.F. European Hostel Reviews

761 Minna Street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

62%

Rating
421 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 64%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 55%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

A generally crappy place, but it's super cheap. Two powerpoints to a room of six. Toilets overflow Showers are pretty impossible to get - but that kind of goes for any hostel where there aren't showers in the room. Some of the staff were friendly, others weren't. It's not a youth hostel - so you might be staying in a room with an old man fyi. There are lots of homeless people around, and it feels slightly unsafe. But it's close to public transport! Really close :)

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

This hostel was pretty average. It was in an ok location in terms of the ease I was able to get to places, but the neighbourhood was a bit shifty. The staff were not friendly and it seemed like such an effort for them to divulge simple information about getting around/attractions etc. There were rat traps hidden around in various places and I spoke to another person staying there who said they saw a rat. The price does not reflect the quality of this hostel.


40%

My main problem with this place is that it's not air conditioned and you can't open a window (it's glued shut), despite the fact that there's a fire escape right outside. Add in the mold which becomes unbearable in the heat, the fact that the sheets and towels they provided were wet, stained, and eventually seeing my GF wake up with bed bug bites--and the place makes for a somewhat dismal stay. The locks are old turnkey style, there's one hairdryer for the building, the beds are small。

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

social place, (super) nice roommates, good place to stay if you want something cheap and nice people. overall: very nice hostel expierence.


37%

The place needs a massive update in everything! The rooms smelled, bathroom dirty, kitchen was tiny and not well equipped and staff weren't very helpful


54%

While one member of staff here was helpful he was not alway around and the other was extremely unhelpful. Sheets for beds were ill-fitting and we were not told that towels were available until our third night when we heard from another traveller. There is a serious lack of toilets in this place, get up before 7am t shower and after 10pm at night. 2 bathrooms to a floor, repeatedly blocked and not working. Hotel location past top of Market street dodgy where u hav t walk thro dodgy area.


74%

It's nice, not amazing. Shared bathrooms and showers and above a club so there's loud music at night.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Quite far from the nearest metro station. Insufficient space for bike storage (staff used up 2 bicycle slots). There is only 1 toilet for each floor of about 20 people. There are 4 floors so 4 toilets, but it is often hard to get to use the toilet. Staff are friendly. Staff did not enforce night-time (after 12am) silence regulations in the first floor living room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The nearest metro station is 2 minutes walk. Staff do not have bicycles.People check-in at night and walk on the first floor but we try to keep it quiet as much as possible. Thank you.

77%

It's not bad. The only thing is that some of the rooms smell. But I still had a great time and it gives you what you need.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cambodia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Stayed 1 night while in transit. Was OK for that purpose but the place was pretty run down and on a dirty alley just off union square. No atmosphere but fine for A night.


54%

On hostel world it states that the hostel is newly renovated - I find this hard to believe. The bathrooms are water damaged and many doors are rotting at the base. The bathrooms were pretty gross. The location was great - but i would not stay here again. It was poor value for money.


51%

The room lacked proper ventilation. The Shower had old rusted rod holding it up. Overall cleanliness could have been better. The stake was mild mannered and "tired" perhaps. Their attitude towards guests could improve in the courtesy area.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The worst part about the hostel is that the only common area is closed at midnight, and the area is too dangerous to go around late at night, you end up with an enforced curfew. Definitely not like real European hostels.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The atmosphere is nice though of poor surroundings.Some homeless are nearby just ignore them.Location is good for adjacent to downtown.All in a word,deserve the money u pay.


80%

It's a very typical hostel experience--the rooms were clean and the bathrooms were clean, but there's a lot of bodies existing in and around those spaces so it gets smelly easily. The lockers were small but right outside the room and there were cameras in the hallways so I felt good about what I left in them. The atmosphere overall was super relaxed. All the guests were kind and talkative and my friends and I had fun getting to know them.

  • 4th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

any way. i will there soon again

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

The staff cleans toilets and kitchen very well, but it gets dirty very fast because of the lack of toilets. Our room was pretty dirty, but I think that was because there was always someone sleeping in our room (working night). So the staff could only make up the beds. Close to shopping and bus stations. Alot of homeless because of the central area. Otherwise pretty good stay! Nice staff :)

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

One of the staff members should find another job because he hates people. Random people on the street will try to follow you into the hostel. The people staying there were fun though.


74%

I would say this is a pretty good deal for a cheap hostel. I mean, it's a hostel and it's in San Francisco! (Cmon people! Other hostels in SF would charge you at least twice the price.) The room was clean. There was no bed bugs like what every body else says. The only problem that I had was just the hostel only has 2 bathrooms for each floor. That means you have to share one bathroom with probably 20 people. And believe me, it didn't feel good when you need to go in the morning.


60%

There Were 2 receptionists, one was the nicest and friendliest person ever:) the other one was an a..hole. Charged us the deposit twice and got mad, anoyed, bit agressive when we wanted it back. Stared at us for the rest of the stay like we were pure evil^^




View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback