X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

AAE S.F. European Hostel Reviews

761 Minna Street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

62%

Rating
462 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 67%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

add bathrooms, and clean them

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

I really don't know why this place has so many bad reviews? But my experience was great. 2 night stay. No surprises, no problems. The shower head sucked but c'mon, that's the least of the problems haha. I really enjoyed it. It's small and straight forward.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Location could have been much better but the staff here was awesome and everyone was very sharing, caring and pleasant. Andy the desk operator was awesome, great guy and really made my stay welcome and gave directions to nearby shops, food, and groceries. There is a communal kitchen for cooking and using the internet that's very clean and safe. I'd definitely stay at this place again if I'm in SF for an extended trip, recommended.


43%

We understand that it was not a very expensive hostel to stay at, saying that we expected the bathrooms to be cleaner, there was no air in our room with only 1 window that opened onto a washing area and the lounge area was cramped and uninviting. The area that the hostel was in was not as bad as the other comments suggest but we did see a couple of very drunk/high people wondering around the streets.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

A generally crappy place, but it's super cheap. Two powerpoints to a room of six. Toilets overflow Showers are pretty impossible to get - but that kind of goes for any hostel where there aren't showers in the room. Some of the staff were friendly, others weren't. It's not a youth hostel - so you might be staying in a room with an old man fyi. There are lots of homeless people around, and it feels slightly unsafe. But it's close to public transport! Really close :)

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

This hostel was pretty average. It was in an ok location in terms of the ease I was able to get to places, but the neighbourhood was a bit shifty. The staff were not friendly and it seemed like such an effort for them to divulge simple information about getting around/attractions etc. There were rat traps hidden around in various places and I spoke to another person staying there who said they saw a rat. The price does not reflect the quality of this hostel.


40%

My main problem with this place is that it's not air conditioned and you can't open a window (it's glued shut), despite the fact that there's a fire escape right outside. Add in the mold which becomes unbearable in the heat, the fact that the sheets and towels they provided were wet, stained, and eventually seeing my GF wake up with bed bug bites--and the place makes for a somewhat dismal stay. The locks are old turnkey style, there's one hairdryer for the building, the beds are small。

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Nope - sorry, never again!!! Staff was not so nice. Atmosphere was not the best. Neighbourhood is scary... I met some nice people there otherwise it would be just worse!!! Dont stay there.


57%

the hostel's rule is so bad. you can't leave you luggage after 5 pm. And also you can't stay in hostel after 3 pm. That's inconvenience while you just want to wait for the late night bus to leave.


74%

social place, (super) nice roommates, good place to stay if you want something cheap and nice people. overall: very nice hostel expierence.


37%

The place needs a massive update in everything! The rooms smelled, bathroom dirty, kitchen was tiny and not well equipped and staff weren't very helpful


54%

While one member of staff here was helpful he was not alway around and the other was extremely unhelpful. Sheets for beds were ill-fitting and we were not told that towels were available until our third night when we heard from another traveller. There is a serious lack of toilets in this place, get up before 7am t shower and after 10pm at night. 2 bathrooms to a floor, repeatedly blocked and not working. Hotel location past top of Market street dodgy where u hav t walk thro dodgy area.


74%

It's nice, not amazing. Shared bathrooms and showers and above a club so there's loud music at night.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Quite far from the nearest metro station. Insufficient space for bike storage (staff used up 2 bicycle slots). There is only 1 toilet for each floor of about 20 people. There are 4 floors so 4 toilets, but it is often hard to get to use the toilet. Staff are friendly. Staff did not enforce night-time (after 12am) silence regulations in the first floor living room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The nearest metro station is 2 minutes walk. Staff do not have bicycles.People check-in at night and walk on the first floor but we try to keep it quiet as much as possible. Thank you.

77%

It's not bad. The only thing is that some of the rooms smell. But I still had a great time and it gives you what you need.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cambodia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Stayed 1 night while in transit. Was OK for that purpose but the place was pretty run down and on a dirty alley just off union square. No atmosphere but fine for A night.


74%

I stayed at this hostel for one night. It was easy to find and was close enough to the civic center where the train is and close to buses that run along the main road. I cant comment on the kitchen facilities as I didn't use them. The room was a little small, but i was able to slide my bag under the bunk bed. There were two shower/toilet and one toilet facility on the floor that were clean enough, but a pain if you are in need of the loo and someone is in there.


54%

On hostel world it states that the hostel is newly renovated - I find this hard to believe. The bathrooms are water damaged and many doors are rotting at the base. The bathrooms were pretty gross. The location was great - but i would not stay here again. It was poor value for money.


51%

The room lacked proper ventilation. The Shower had old rusted rod holding it up. Overall cleanliness could have been better. The stake was mild mannered and "tired" perhaps. Their attitude towards guests could improve in the courtesy area.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The worst part about the hostel is that the only common area is closed at midnight, and the area is too dangerous to go around late at night, you end up with an enforced curfew. Definitely not like real European hostels.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(44 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback