X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

AAE S.F. European Hostel Reviews

761 Minna Street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

58%

Rating
628 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 62%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 46%Cleanliness
  • 52%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

The hostel was ok for one night. The athmosphere was a Little sad. The area where the hostel is located is not save. A lot of strange People around.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing The European Hostel and I'm sorry you found our hostel to be sad. We have many guests from around the world who stay for more than 1 night to explore the city. Our hostel is in the SOMA district and is very safe. There are homeless people but that's part of San Francisco especially since we are centrally located. The Holiday Inn is just half a block up from us and people pay a lot of money to stay there, so I can say that we are not in an unsafe area.

51%

Place was super basic and you get what you paid for, saw some pretty sketchy things out the front which was off putting and bathrooms were pretty terrible

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay at The European Hostel. We offer the lowest rates in all of San Francsico at less at less than $30/day. For San Francisco that is a steal and therefore we keep our amenties at a basic. We know our guests are here to enjoy the beautiful city and want them to be able to stay at an economical place. We offer a fully equipped kitchen, free wifi, common areas, towels, linens, laundry facilities, luggage storage, lockers so not sure what more you're looking for.

57%

The staff were not friendly, dead pan, in fact. The area is DODGY! Drug addicts and drunks hanging in the street, not safe to walk back at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry that our staff was not friendly and you did not have a good stay with us. Usually our staff is wonderful and we pride ourselves in having a superb staff. We are located in the SOMA district of San Francisco, a few blocks from City Hall, 2 blocks from Market Street and our area is actually very safe due to the city offices. Yes, there are many homeless people but they are everywhere in San Francisco, you simply can not avoid them, even in the richest part of the areas.

1 2 Next » last »
(23 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback