X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

ALL STAR HOSTEL Reviews

39 Chatsworth Rd, Kilburn, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

60%

Rating
377 Total Reviews
  • 61%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 59%Location
  • 53%Staff
  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

You never know where you will end up when you book with this hostel. The place they tell you to go is not always the place you are going to stay. No manager on site. One person told me she had to wait 3 hours outside until a manager showed up (normal wait seems to be 30 to 45 min). kitchen had very few pots or pans and only one spoon and one sharp knife. Garbage out front seems never to be emptied. Overall looks like the owner is cutting corners by under staffing it's employees. A bit of a walk.


29%

Terrible experience. Worst hostel I ever saw. Waited for 30 minutes before someone came to help check in as there was no reception. Bedding stuff was dirty. Terribly noisy at night. Staff were rude and service was terrible. I forgot some clothes in the room after checking out and had to wait for 1.5 hours before someone came to open the door, but I was asked to pay £20 to get me clothes back.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Greatest experience ever! Thanks to this lovely hostel I'm not complaining about anything anymore since anything would be better than this hostel. Now I appreciate my life better than ever. Thanks.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Location of the premise is far from tube station and different from the address published during online booking. Hostel is dirty.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The office workers do not know the facilities available on the hostel; the rooms have no number which leads to confusion; the toilet flush remained broken for all week. Yet, the room was nice, close to the tube, yet quite place, with big garden available for the guest, kitchen was reasonably equipped. In total not very best place, but definitely worth recommendation when traveling on budget.


23%

This hostel was the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. Firstly, the address was a false advertisement. I thought I would be at 39 chatsworth a 3 minute walk from the station, but my friend and I were picked up by an unmarked car and taken to 51 brones which was not that close to the tube. The staff was rude and yelled at us. The mattresses and rooms were disgustingly dirty with mold on walls.


86%

Nice hostel close to the kilburn tube station. Clean toilets and large kitchen. Lockers in rooms tend to be confusing to operate. Off site management that seem to be managing a number of properties in the area.


74%

You have to take your chances with parking if you have a car here. Location fairly central in a quiet street just round the corner from the tube.the kitchen equipment e.g. pans were a bit sparse.lounge with a tv and sofas where you can eat quite welcome. Private room ok and mattresses better than expected. Good value.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

a run down and neglected property Apparently they have better, it certainly couldn't have gotten much worse

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

The plaza or the kitchen is a warm friendly hub of activity the living area is a chilled out place to kick back and soak up the atmosphere the garden is full of zen and tranquility most of the people that pass through find it difficult to leave and the way the hostel is run adds to the homely feel the is secret unwritten codes of conduct and the location is on a 24 hr bus route local amenities 10 min walk into the urban area of Kilburn high street 5 min walk to nearest overground station

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


20%

The check in time is from 11am to 5pm. later than that they tell you about several locations to go to to get your keys. you have to pay in cash the exact amount of the total bill because they have no exchange or if you pay with a card plus 5%. Plus 25 pound for the keys. And i made reservations for 17/2/15 and they booked me for 17/10/14 (the current day of the reservation) saying that i could change it with a 24 hour notice... so i lost the signal. I phoned the number they gave and it was disco

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


20%

very difficult to contact all the staff no one ever pick out the freaking phone and the room is really bad and smells curtain wont broken will never stay there again for sure


54%

It is inconvenient to have to walk very far from the trains, just to call someone who is gonna drive you to a room. The room was not clearly label as a single bed when I reserved - was hoping for two beds. There was water that leaked on all my clothes and equipment - I could not find the source and looked like it was a whole bucket full of water that was dumped. At first I thought it was cleaning crew but there is no room cleaning service. There is no community. Lousy option for hostel


54%

Definitely more of a place for people needing to stay long term. Not for travellers or even people away for the weekend! Not sociable at all. The staff were lovely though and the help yourself breakfast was ok. Lounge was nice but felt more like you we're sat in someone else's house and you were unwelcome by the long-term guests/tenants.


34%

Me and my partner paid the same amount for our room as two of our friends who stayed in the same hostel. Our room consisted of: bunk beds, a tv which didn't work, a fridge, a wardrobe and some drawers. Our friends room consisted of: a double bed, cooking facilities, washing up facilities, a sofa, table and chairs, a tv, en suite bathroom, a bin. I struggle to comprehend how you can possible charge the same price for these two rooms? Any enlightening explanation would be greatly received.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice hostel i got what i paid for great value for money breakfast was basic but not over sold. good kitchens as i like to cook


100%

Love this hostel the price was worth more then i was charged the beds are nice and soft the staff are so helpful when there at the hostel


20%

ONE HOUR FROM THE CENTER OF LONDON THE WORST STAFF EVER (SPECIALLY, A GUY CALLED SEBASTIAN)

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The room was more small than explained .. And the staff has not enough experience

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

great atmosphere,but the clean is not good.

  • 23rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(246 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback