Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

ARTnSHELTER

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • shkelqim-hyseni8970
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
9.7

My stay at the ARTandSHELTER was spectacular, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made you feel completely welcome upon arrival and through the stay. Having stayed a total of 10 days, I wasn't disappointed with the level of service each and every day. The atmosphere was always very chilled and relaxed, and the lobby area with the bar was absolutely beautiful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
9.4

Just amazing staff and great atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Jun 2017
8.0

There are no proper walls between each rooms and only separated by a thin piece of wood. You can hear everything going on in other rooms felt there was no privacy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
9.1

I stayed for all 8 days during my trip in Japan. Staffs were kind, respectful, and diligent. I particularly enjoyed the no password no sign in WiFi because I had to sign in everywhere else in Tokyo. Some staffs were constantly working the area but were not loud or disturbing. A staff allowed me to borrow their push cart to transport my heavy luggages to the nearest station. Very useful :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2017
9.7

The owner Kohei is amazing and down to earth, it would try to avoid going during an art exhibit because they may close down the public bar/cafe during it. The hostel as a whole is clean and only 5 stops away from Shinagawa station, a major hub.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st May 2017
7.7

Funky place. It's a reasonable price for what you get. Annoyingly far from the hot spots of Tokyo, and makes it hard to get home after a night of party because public transport finishes around midnight and it's too far to walk. But it is a great location from accessing the airports, that's why I chose to stay there, soon regretted it because it made everything else more difficult to get to, not so much but it meant I had to leave places earlier than I'd like. The art was cool, but not great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th May 2017
9.4

My partner and I had a great stay at ARTnSHELTER. It was our first stop in Tokyo and we loved the Shinagawa area. The hostel had a great atmosphere and was a beautiful building. The beds were quite big for the hostels I have stayed in and there were lockers available for backpacks. The owner is fantastic. He works so hard and it really pays off. Great place to stay, but as always bring earplugs if you need your sleep!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
15th May 2017
8.9

Second time we've stayed here and still one of our favourites in Tokyo. There had been some changes since our last visit - enclosed outdoor area and more private rooms within the main dorm. Art'n'Shelter continues to improve as a comfortable and friendly place to say. The kitchen is still very minimal, so we hope that's something that will be improved in the future. All other aspects great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.3

The location was exactly what we were after in that we needed to be near Haneda airport early in the morning (but it does feel out of town!) The staff members were very helpful in giving advice regarding how to get an early morning taxi and good restaurants nearby. However, the bedroom was very noisy as an open room and all sounds echoed. Also, the beds were very creaky. I like how quirky the hostel is, but perhaps there could be a more practical seating area for guests to chill out!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
8.6

Overall, my stay was a pleasant one. Love the atmosphere and the staffs especially. What can be done better? Probably having breakfast would be nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.