Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

AS House (Asakusa Smile)

  • 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 2,054 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 2,054 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.6
AS House (Asakusa Smile) Located at 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo.
AS House (Asakusa Smile)
Japan
Tokyo 1300005 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku
65% 2054
35.7073683 139.8006257
AS House (Asakusa Smile)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
4.6

very dirty room and old almost brown blanked and so on, with crashed window and moudly walls ..., furhter the toilets had ervery time a bad smell in the air.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Aug 2016
9.1

Great location Top floor bathroom stank though Otherwise very very good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
3.1

Bedbug and cockroach invested - do NOT stay here. Facilities are also very old and dirty, most beds do not have direct electric outlets so that you need to leave your devices somewhere randomly in the room and lockers do not work. You really do get what you pay for.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
5.7

You definitely pay for what you get with this hostel. Pretty cheap, but was far below the standard of all other hostels we stayed in in Japan. The facilities were poor, as the male showers on the 2nd floor were just two shower cubicles next to each other with shower curtains that didn't completely cover the gap. The hostel didn't seem particularly clean either. However the location isn't too bad, with Skytree very close, and if you're looking for a cheap hostel in Tokyo, then this might be o

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Jul 2016
5.1

The crew was a good but I could see a nice insect in the kitchen and bathroom was dirty,sorry

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
6.3

This place is stinky because there is a bar on the first floor. Anyone from the bar could easily go upstairs. The place is loud and no privacy with simple bunk beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
3.4

We typically stay at a different hotel in Ueno, but it was booked so we tried Asakusa Smile. We booked a private room which was a bunk bed in a room not much bigger than a closet. The wifi router for the floor was in our room, so every time the wifi went down we were disturbed so it could be reset. Mostly, we were dissatisfied by the lack of cleanliness. It looks like they haven't dusted in years. The shared toilet smelled awful and the showers weren't cleaned regularly. I do not recommend!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
4.3

This hostel has 2 buildings. One has the reception and bar, the other is some kind of weird safe house across the street, so it's basically two hostels. I was in the latter, which makes it considerably more difficult to speak to reception about issues for example. The beds were very uncomfortable and the sheets smelled really bad. The kitchen area and bathroom were also dirty (saw a few cockroaches) and the wifi was basically non-existent. Overall it looked like something out of the SAW films.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
4.6

The hostel was a little bit dirty and there were no staff there was just 1 cleaning lady who works for 2 or 3 hours the bads were toooo old overall bad

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Jul 2016
6.6

Beds were very uncomfortable. Had to use duvet for cushioning. Shower was more of a room than a shower but the location was good and easy to get into central Tokyo

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.