Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

AS House (Asakusa Smile)

  • 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 2,069 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 2,069 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.5
AS House (Asakusa Smile) Located at 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo.
AS House (Asakusa Smile)
Japan
Tokyo 1300005 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku
64% 2069
35.7073683 139.8006257
AS House (Asakusa Smile)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
2.9

This is not a place is worse than the jails I have seen on tv, reality shows, not made up ones! Bed is harder than concrete, place reeks of stale cigarette smoke, ceiling is peeling, leaking and has black mold, black mold can be deadly! The place is infested with Cockroaches I even found one in my bed! Bathroom sinks looked as if they hadn't been cleaned in months. If I knew how to report to them to the Japanese health inspectors, if they have something like that, I would DON'T GO HERE!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Sep 2016
8.0

I have stayed here on three occasions now, and I feel like it is good value for money. The staff were really friendly and helpful, you get a free drink Voucher to use at the bar. The atmosphere varied on my stays, some nights there was a great atmosphere and plenty of people to talk to at the bar, some nights it was the opposite. The shower was good, clean toilet on the first floor, the second floor bathroom was pretty gross, and my bed was seriously squeaky but those were the only bad points.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Sep 2016
9.7

The staff was really nice, always helping me patiently when asking for directions ("Take the subway Chuo Line, then..."). There is a little bar downstairs, so at weekends or night you may be able to meet some locals :). 2 Subway Stations maybe 2 or 3 blocks away each. Super accessible. A smile for Asakusa Smile!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
6.0

While an affordable option, the insect problem in the kitchen was quite bad.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
4.6

very dirty room and old almost brown blanked and so on, with crashed window and moudly walls ..., furhter the toilets had ervery time a bad smell in the air.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Aug 2016
9.1

Great location Top floor bathroom stank though Otherwise very very good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
3.1

Bedbug and cockroach invested - do NOT stay here. Facilities are also very old and dirty, most beds do not have direct electric outlets so that you need to leave your devices somewhere randomly in the room and lockers do not work. You really do get what you pay for.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
5.7

You definitely pay for what you get with this hostel. Pretty cheap, but was far below the standard of all other hostels we stayed in in Japan. The facilities were poor, as the male showers on the 2nd floor were just two shower cubicles next to each other with shower curtains that didn't completely cover the gap. The hostel didn't seem particularly clean either. However the location isn't too bad, with Skytree very close, and if you're looking for a cheap hostel in Tokyo, then this might be o

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Jul 2016
5.1

The crew was a good but I could see a nice insect in the kitchen and bathroom was dirty,sorry

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
6.3

This place is stinky because there is a bar on the first floor. Anyone from the bar could easily go upstairs. The place is loud and no privacy with simple bunk beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.