Hostelworld.com

AS House (Asakusa Smile)

  • 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 1,983 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 1,983 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.1
AS House (Asakusa Smile) Located at 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo.
AS House (Asakusa Smile)
Japan
Tokyo 1300005 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku
68% 1983
35.7073683 139.8006257
AS House (Asakusa Smile)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2016
4.9

Where do I start?? The place is a mess, and constantly smells like garbage. There are bug crawling in the kitchen all the time! The 4th floor washroom cealing was leaking during the rain and was never cleaned. They miss-managed the bookings, so someone took one of our beds! Then some one took one of our pillows! The pillows and matrices were never cleaned, just sprayed! And the doors were never locked!! They are only a desperate measures hostel and would never stay there again!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.6

Basic but good value for money. The downstairs bar is a nice addition.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.3

Best hostel experience in Tokyo here, room is basic and kitchen is a bit small, and its not the tidiest of hostels. However the atmosphere and people working there made up for it. Solo traveller so meeting others there was important and in my days there I met lots of cool people and had some of the best memories of Tokyo. If you don't mind cheap and simple then stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
8.3

Pleasant stay. A bit loud in the morning. Shared kitchen and shower areas were nice. Gross that no soap in bathrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
8.3

Nice, clean hotel in an excellent location. The staff are friendly and helpful. The only issue was that there is only one shower in the second building, but this was rarely an issue.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
6.3

Asakusa smile is what you make of it! It's no 6 star hotel but it's locating close to a main train line into Tokyo, walking distance to the Tokyo Skytree and shops! And it is only for sleeping ! I enjoyed the time I spent at AS smile hostel!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Apr 2016
7.1

Not really sure why there are really negative reviews about this place. The hostel lobby is cool, and it's nice that you get a free drink. The staff spoke decent English and were friendly. We were in the new building which is annoyingly quite far from the reception, although closer to asakusa. The room was fine, everything clean. Not the best hostel I've ever stayed at, but at 1900¥ I would undoubtedly stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
8.6

This place was conveniently located to a rail station. It was walking distance from the Skytree Tower and plenty of shopping spots. Safe and simple.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Apr 2016
5.1

If it wasn't for the sociability side of the hostel I would have rated lower. Very dirty, old bunk beds and only one shower/toilet on the fourth floor. However, there is a bar on the first floor which is great for meeting the locals and fellow backpackers. The location is also great, close to the Sumo stadium, Senso-ji temple and Asakusa train station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2016
7.7

Facilities are dated, wifi doesn't really work upstairs, and there is smoking bar downstairs. Despite this, it's still my top choice of stay whenever I'm in Tokyo. Great location and they offer free luggage storage after checkout. I still plan to stay here on my next trip.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.