Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

AS House (Asakusa Smile)

  • 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 2112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 2112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Feb 2017
3.4

The hostel has 3 buildings but only one has a reception desk with staff. In the building we stayed in the front door was open 24/7, with no reception/staff on site. The bed had no sheets, except for a dirty bottom sheet and a half cover for the duvet. No extra blankets were provided and we were told there we none available (winter). Most lights didn't work, heaps of stuff was broken and overall pretty dirty. The common/breakfast area in the main building allowed people to smoke inside...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
10.0

Excellent location, brilliant feel to the place, great staff. Bar on ground floor is lively and has locals which is nice. 100% recommend !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
3.1

This was certainly the worst hostel i've ever stayed in. First impressions:BAD. Walking into a dark, dodgy looking bar/reception that smelled terribly of cigarette smoke. Half the lights in the lobby didn't turn on, stairs you could barely climb with no luggage, let alone large backpacks. get to the room, the handle was extremely loose and felt like it would break in my hand. Walked in to a single small bed, when the website showed two single beds. amenities were terrible and many didn't work

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
6.3

The location of the hostel is so good that you can go anywhere. The staff are all friendly and helpful to us but the rooms are old and smells bad. and the bed are dirty that I cleaned myself. except the facilities and hygiene of the hostel, it would be good for tourists.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
4.6

The place is really dirty and many of the facilities such as toilets, lifts and dryers do not work.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
8.6

This is very good hostel if one is looking for a place to stay in Tokyo. Cheap and clean and has a 100 yen lawson just around the corner. 5 mins away from Asakusa night district as well as Asakusa station. Tokyo Sky tree is also nearby. I lived in the annex building and it was pretty much living like an apartment. The staff were also very kind and the bar is a good place to meet with fellow travelers and locals alike.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
7.7

I found this to be an adequate hostel--nothing fancy, but fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Nov 2016
8.6

This place was awesome. We stayed here the first night of our trip, then came back again at the end of our journey. It is a very welcoming and open atmosphere. You can meet local as well as international people in the downstairs bar area. Which is awesome and unusual for a hostel - to have locals coming in. I had fun both times I stayed here. The owner was very helpful and made us feel comfortable. It is possible to have a good rest upstairs and a more lively time downstairs. Highly recommended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sianel
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Nov 2016
7.4

I'm travelling solo and got put in the building a few blocks from reception/bar. The other building was creepy and I felt isolated. It would have been okay if I was with friends. Just ask to get a room in the normal building if you're alone. Bar is sick! Met heaps of locals and cool travellers there. Friendly staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
10.0

Absolutely enjoyed my time at Asakusa Smile. Staff were amicable,informative and fun. Although you can't control guests, everyone staying their were really good people. Some facilities were out of order, but it didn't impact my stay in the least. I would recommend Asakusa Smile to other travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.