X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

AS House (Asakusa Smile) Reviews

2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1654 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

It's a very nice place!!!


97%

Amazing hosts! Perfect English and very informative. Lovely quaint location, city centre 20mins away on train. They value privacy with curtains on dorm bunks and infront of showers. Best hostel I've stayed in so far.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Bad service Bad location Not clean

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


29%

It's one of the worst or the worst hostel where I've ever been.The staff is not friendly and doesn't care about you, only the money, they only did the necessary work.The bed was broken, the A/C was broken because it didn't warm the room, the bathroom was dirty and broken, the door and the locker were broken. The outside door always was open, anyone took care about it. I will not come back to this hostel, definitely not.


80%

the loacation is good,just 10 minutes walk from station. as at grand floor thare is a bar,it must be perfect if you love party and drinking. the only thing that disappointed me was the kitchen. there are only 2 pans and not enough for cooking.


29%

It's one of the worst or the worst hostel where I've ever been.The staff is not friendly and doesn't care about you, only the money, they only did the necessary work.The bed was broken, the A/C was broken because it didn't warm the room, the bathroom was dirty and broken, the door and the locker were broken. The outside door always was open, anyone took care about it. I will not come back to this hostel, definitely not.


94%

Well located really close to the subway stop in Asakusa. There's a reasonably big kitchen if you need to cook and a good bar downstairs for meeting people at the hostel.


69%

Definitely get what you pay for. Fine for travellers, pretty gross for anyone else. Location is fantastic, and the place is pretty chill. The air con / heater unit in my room was pretty rubbish, so I was frozen all night. Also they didn't have a hairdryer. I was happy with the size of my room


100%

Very clean and safe place to stay,close to 7eleven with only working ATM in city for foreign bank cards.Also 5min walk to 2 main metro station lines Ginza and Asakusa line.


63%

it's good enough, but a little far from the station

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Main hostel is great, very friendly staff, clean, great atmosphere. Second part is not as good - cold, hard to find.


57%

really smelly blanket...! its not clean here (Ive been to more then 200 hostels in the world). location is very good because if the subway line (goes directly to the must sees). staff is friendly.


34%

you can smoke inside. for a non smoker it's disgusting. The guy in the lobby was to busy playing video games to even look at us, he propably hasn't noticed that we have left.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Okay hostel, due to the in house bar sometimes really loud. There was almost no soap at the toilets and the rooms are quite small and only equipped with a bed and nothing more. Cleanliness could be Vetter.


49%

We ordered a twinroom but got a bunk bed. Later they offered us a twinbed, but that was in a very small 'room' in a dependance om the basic floor, with a 'window'looking out over the rubbish in a dirty narrow courtyard/alley. There were cockroaches in the kitchen. Most of the electrical outlets in the room didn't work.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Asakusa Smile was my first ever hostel in a different country and it was super lovely. Even with the bar downstairs, we were never disturbed during our sleep. It was a great place to make friends and the staff were super friendly. The location i found was very convenient from Asakusa Station and was in great walking distance to local attractions. Would definitely come here again because i made quite a few life long friends :)


57%

Very uncomfortable bed.

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Very good value for money.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed there for a week, great location near metro lines, nice staff always willing to help, cleaning could be better, definitly a good place to stay if u go on a budget.

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel is not the cleanest one, at least for what you would expect in Japan but it is passable. You have to walk 10-15 minutes to go in the center of Asakusa area so it is not so bad but some other hostels are better located. I took the hostel because it was cheap and had a bar. The bar is cool, the drinks are relatively cheap and the ambiance is nice.


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback