Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

AS House (Asakusa Smile)

  • 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 2117 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 2117 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
9.4

Only stayed one night but this place is pretty spot on. The location is right across the bridge from the station, the staff was nice, and there's even a bar built right on the first floor. I went during a comedy night and it was pretty cool to listen to international comedians. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
5.7

Receptionist are not as polite and friendly as other hostels like k house and j hoppers. Door knob fell off when opening the door. Guests' shoes all over the entrance; no shoes cabinet like the above mentioned hostels. Theres no free flow of coffee or tea and kitchen is not in good order.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Feb 2017
3.4

The hostel has 3 buildings but only one has a reception desk with staff. In the building we stayed in the front door was open 24/7, with no reception/staff on site. The bed had no sheets, except for a dirty bottom sheet and a half cover for the duvet. No extra blankets were provided and we were told there we none available (winter). Most lights didn't work, heaps of stuff was broken and overall pretty dirty. The common/breakfast area in the main building allowed people to smoke inside...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Feb 2017
8.6

Great location and views of the Tokyo Sky Tree. Hostel is out of the way of the main hustle and across the river from main activities. The hostel is located within a residential district and locals come to have a drink in the bar located within the reception. We were made to feel very welcome by both the locals and the staff alike. This hostel has a great atmosphere, however is dated but clean and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
10.0

Excellent location, brilliant feel to the place, great staff. Bar on ground floor is lively and has locals which is nice. 100% recommend !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
3.1

This was certainly the worst hostel i've ever stayed in. First impressions:BAD. Walking into a dark, dodgy looking bar/reception that smelled terribly of cigarette smoke. Half the lights in the lobby didn't turn on, stairs you could barely climb with no luggage, let alone large backpacks. get to the room, the handle was extremely loose and felt like it would break in my hand. Walked in to a single small bed, when the website showed two single beds. amenities were terrible and many didn't work

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
6.3

The location of the hostel is so good that you can go anywhere. The staff are all friendly and helpful to us but the rooms are old and smells bad. and the bed are dirty that I cleaned myself. except the facilities and hygiene of the hostel, it would be good for tourists.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
4.6

The place is really dirty and many of the facilities such as toilets, lifts and dryers do not work.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
8.6

This is very good hostel if one is looking for a place to stay in Tokyo. Cheap and clean and has a 100 yen lawson just around the corner. 5 mins away from Asakusa night district as well as Asakusa station. Tokyo Sky tree is also nearby. I lived in the annex building and it was pretty much living like an apartment. The staff were also very kind and the bar is a good place to meet with fellow travelers and locals alike.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
7.7

I found this to be an adequate hostel--nothing fancy, but fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.