Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

AS House (Asakusa Smile)

  • 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 2134 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 2134 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jettoki
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
3.7

NEVER AGAIN!! Worst place i've been to in Japan. The staff didn't care at all, no greetings, no smile, no f's given. The rooms are dark, tiny have dodgey looking bunk beds [even in a private single room]. A cracked window, just being covered with wooden planks, and stained yellow toilets, as well as smelly showers, completed the experience. Everything was so aweful, the karaoke room we stayed in the end instead seemed the Hilton.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2017
3.7

It's look not clean. And room is very small. And when other room talking in their room, I can heard that what're then talking. Bed is not strong and not clean. Just only change cover but when cover peel off itself. There are so many dirt inside. Moreover I met to cochroach also. It'a a bad dream for me.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2017
4.6

Please do not stay here! Bugs, ticks and flies swarm the rooms and mattresses! The mattresses are stained, and are thin with no cushion left. I could feel the frame of the bed through the mattress at night. The floors are filthy like somebody was walking with their shoes on, no power outlets near the beds, cigarette smoke can be smelt everywhere, bathroom sink was broken forcing us to wash in the kitchen sink and paper thin walls. I could hear people having a conversation outside on the street!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
3.7

We've stayed at multiple hostels throughout Japan and this one was by far the worst. For this one we stayed in the main building, and while its Location and value were not terrible, but otherwise its creepy, outdated, not feeling safe, and since people are smoking inside on the first floor, it rises up making the other floors smell horribly. Luckily we only stayed one night, but even then we barely slept. Asakusa has plenty of other hostels and hotels, I'd advise looking elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
6.3

It was o.k. It was cool that we were by the Tokyo Skytree tower and a famous temple, but the bathroom situation wasn't that great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2017
6.9

Great location, nice staff. The bar in the hostel is nice too. Could be cleaner, but not the worse.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
9.4

Only stayed one night but this place is pretty spot on. The location is right across the bridge from the station, the staff was nice, and there's even a bar built right on the first floor. I went during a comedy night and it was pretty cool to listen to international comedians. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Mar 2017
6.0

Charges to receive mails for you Wifi connection at bekkan is unstable and slow Do not provide soap in bathroom Do no provide hand soap in toilets Can only check out at main building

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
5.7

Receptionist are not as polite and friendly as other hostels like k house and j hoppers. Door knob fell off when opening the door. Guests' shoes all over the entrance; no shoes cabinet like the above mentioned hostels. Theres no free flow of coffee or tea and kitchen is not in good order.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Feb 2017
3.4

The hostel has 3 buildings but only one has a reception desk with staff. In the building we stayed in the front door was open 24/7, with no reception/staff on site. The bed had no sheets, except for a dirty bottom sheet and a half cover for the duvet. No extra blankets were provided and we were told there we none available (winter). Most lights didn't work, heaps of stuff was broken and overall pretty dirty. The common/breakfast area in the main building allowed people to smoke inside...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.