Hostelworld.com

AS House (Asakusa Smile)

  • 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 2,018 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 2,018 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.0
AS House (Asakusa Smile) Located at 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo.
AS House (Asakusa Smile)
Japan
Tokyo 1300005 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku
68% 2018
35.7073683 139.8006257
AS House (Asakusa Smile)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
3.1

The staff were not interested or friendly when I arrived. I was placed in their secondary site which was good because the other one stank of cigarettes. The property though has one shower, and only two toilets for a number of rooms. The place was damp, smelly and the FRONT door was left open and unlocked while I was there. The doors to the rooms are not secure and my locked bag was tampered with. I booked in for 4 nights but left after two. I do not recommend this place at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2016
3.7

Location is good .Room is dirty and bed is not good. . This is worst place for mine . . And I hope they will renovation some day to be better .by the way you pay what you get ... !! Happy and enjoy time with staff at bar too .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
8.0

The hostel was a bit further from the Metro than I had anticipated and is a bit cramped overall. Aside from that I actually really enjoyed the hostel (Futons are the best inventions ever) and the location is a really good place to start off your adventure in Tokyo (beginning with 'old' Tokyo)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
9.4

We stayed in a twin room for 1 night and were very satisfied. Asakusa Smile is located near Kaminarimon, and access to other parts of Tokyo are easily reachable with grain or metro. The staff was very nice and dropling off luggage before and after check-in is possible! The hostel includss a bar downstairs which created a friendly and homely atmosphere. There are alsome a couple of restaurants directly surrounding the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
8.9

The rooms are little bit small. We had a great time at hostel bar :) Met lot of nice people there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2016
9.1

AS House is one of the few places in town that provides good value for a low amount. It is located in area from where you can access most of the places in Tokyo. The staff is really supportive and they provide a great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2016
3.7

This was by far the worst hostel I have ever been in. Firstly, they said it was a non smoking hostel, but there was a smoking corner inside the building on the first floor, so naturally, every floor above smelled like cigarettes. Since, you know, smoke rises. Secondly, this hostel was not clean. The bathroom was unkempt and there were mystery stains on the mattress. It was not unusual to see insects moving calmly across the wall or floor. I would not recommend it to anyone, regardless of price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th May 2016
6.0

It was quite smelly with smoking at the lobby and a bit far to walk to the nearest subway station and inconvenient especially if it rains as there are no coverings. Limited toilets and showers too

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th May 2016
8.6

Great bar downstairs! Great staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
6th May 2016
5.7

hostel has real potential but a bit run down. 'social' area looks more like a bar which has shutdown rooms had no ladders and bathrooms were dirty. not quite sure who the staff were but the location was quite good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.