X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

AS House (Asakusa Smile) Reviews

2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1678 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

31%

Staff is not helpful and not interested. Hostel is very dirty and smelly. The sheets they gave me were dirty and my friends sheet had blood on it. Showers and kitchen are dirty. Kitchen doesn't have enough equipment. Room is very small and doesn't have a place to put your bags or hooks for your clothes. There were hardly any curtains so the room is very light early in the morning. The lockers were broken and the personal key could open ALL the lockers. Actually there is nothing I liked about it.


66%

The hostel is very old and could really use a makeover. It got cleaned once a day, but that is not enough for the few showers being used by so many people. The kitchen had next to no dishes. However, the staff was very friendly, the station is close and it wasn't THAT dirty after all. So you can definetly book this hostel for a short stay, but it wouldn't be my favorite.


43%

it was dirty And anything didn't work .... Tv oven wifi.... Etc


86%

Really good stay at the bekkan - had a double private on the third floor. Really easy access around Tokyo and would definitely stay again.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

I think the bar atmosphere would have been more enjoyable had I not been so tired (and wanting to sleep despite hearing the music until 3am), but the facilities were foul and acrid, with everything being so dirty. I was worried about leaving my stuff even while I slept, which is the first time in any hostel in Japan I've felt that way.


54%

Pros: Close to the station, close to the Skytree, close to Asakusa and cheap! The hostel bar is also lively. Cons: Front door is never locked/always open, no shoe box to keep your shoes, the room stinks like feet and body odor, shower is not so clean, kitchen smells like garbage, wifi never connects. You get what you pay for.


94%

Awesome hostel with awesome people! Nice location, best way to be introduced in Tokio.

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Asakusa Smile has slipped slightly in its accomodation status since when it was run by Khaosan Group. Each dorm room may have lockers; but the locker you'll be rented is on the 4th floor in an unlit chamber. It is still a nice venue. Take special note of the wi-fi networks. They are very secure. You won't guess the passwords, and each is easy to misspell. A perplexing problem it has is if it close to fully booked, the venue may run out of guests' slippers.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Joint best hostel ive stayed in in my 20 months travel super modern Scandinavian style, free breakfast great wifi and chill area. clean bed and bathrooms perfect!! Staff great and easy to meet people! Please update pictures on hostelworld as doesnt show how good it is!


94%

It's a very nice place!!!


77%

Very nice bar, nice staff. But a bit far from the downtown.


80%

I have enjoyed the stay very much. Excellent location in Asakusa, whole of Tokyo can be reached easily be Metro. Best deal in town. Even though it is not as clean as other Japanese hostels it is the cheapest I found and many guests decide to return or stay longer. Showers are sufficient if you catch the rigth time. They organize a cultural program and are generally helpful staff. Some things are a bit old, but what the hell...for that price, lovely neighborhood. Lockers are available as is bar

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Amazing hosts! Perfect English and very informative. Lovely quaint location, city centre 20mins away on train. They value privacy with curtains on dorm bunks and infront of showers. Best hostel I've stayed in so far.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Asakusa Smile is a nice hotel when you think about the price. But for luggage is really uncomfortable, since there are no elevators. There's only one bathroom to take a shower and it's quite personal and not convenient. The whole building is kinda cold, since there's no AC system around it just on the bedroom, but I am not that sad with that.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

very good cost performance i used "Bekkan". but it's wi-fi was slow and i found 2 cockroach as i was there but it has good location, and perfect cost performance

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Bad service Bad location Not clean

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


29%

It's one of the worst or the worst hostel where I've ever been.The staff is not friendly and doesn't care about you, only the money, they only did the necessary work.The bed was broken, the A/C was broken because it didn't warm the room, the bathroom was dirty and broken, the door and the locker were broken. The outside door always was open, anyone took care about it. I will not come back to this hostel, definitely not.


80%

the loacation is good,just 10 minutes walk from station. as at grand floor thare is a bar,it must be perfect if you love party and drinking. the only thing that disappointed me was the kitchen. there are only 2 pans and not enough for cooking.


29%

It's one of the worst or the worst hostel where I've ever been.The staff is not friendly and doesn't care about you, only the money, they only did the necessary work.The bed was broken, the A/C was broken because it didn't warm the room, the bathroom was dirty and broken, the door and the locker were broken. The outside door always was open, anyone took care about it. I will not come back to this hostel, definitely not.


94%

Well located really close to the subway stop in Asakusa. There's a reasonably big kitchen if you need to cook and a good bar downstairs for meeting people at the hostel.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback