Hostelworld.com

AS House (Asakusa Smile)

  • 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 1,996 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 1,996 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.1
AS House (Asakusa Smile) Located at 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo.
AS House (Asakusa Smile)
Japan
Tokyo 1300005 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku
68% 1996
35.7073683 139.8006257
AS House (Asakusa Smile)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th May 2016
8.6

clean, good value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd May 2016
3.7

I had a roof over my head and Asakusa was very close. I stayed in the second building. No atmosphere, activities or interaction with staff except the surly cleaner. Wifi patchy. Kitchen facilities good. Lots of passive aggressive signs; none explaining how microwave oven worked. Some people appeared to live there and were not interested in interacting. Bed was uncomfortable, room was grimy, toilet smelt, toilet paper ran out on two floors. No lockers. Stay somewhere else if you can afford it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2016
4.9

Where do I start?? The place is a mess, and constantly smells like garbage. There are bug crawling in the kitchen all the time! The 4th floor washroom cealing was leaking during the rain and was never cleaned. They miss-managed the bookings, so someone took one of our beds! Then some one took one of our pillows! The pillows and matrices were never cleaned, just sprayed! And the doors were never locked!! They are only a desperate measures hostel and would never stay there again!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2016
5.4

We stayed in private room in their B building. I think all the nice things for the main building. Room was not clean and beddings were smelly. There is only one shower in that building I had to wait for somebody else all the time but shower and the toilets were clean.We had to wait over night until they put another toilet paper.There is no staff in the B building so if you have problem you have to go to the main one and ask for help.Even wifi had problems.Dorms seemed ok but not the private room

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
4.6

I believe that cleaning the rooms decently (not only the flor and the beds, but the even the wall was dirty) wouldn't mean increasing the price. And if it look cleaned, more people would return. Honestly, i will not return to this hostel. I understand this hostel is for young people looking for a low budget stay, but "young people on low budget" doesn't men "dirt" Also, i reserved a private room at the bekkan, with private toilet, and what i got was i two bed room only for me.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.6

Basic but good value for money. The downstairs bar is a nice addition.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.3

Best hostel experience in Tokyo here, room is basic and kitchen is a bit small, and its not the tidiest of hostels. However the atmosphere and people working there made up for it. Solo traveller so meeting others there was important and in my days there I met lots of cool people and had some of the best memories of Tokyo. If you don't mind cheap and simple then stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
8.3

Pleasant stay. A bit loud in the morning. Shared kitchen and shower areas were nice. Gross that no soap in bathrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
8.3

Nice, clean hotel in an excellent location. The staff are friendly and helpful. The only issue was that there is only one shower in the second building, but this was rarely an issue.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
6.3

Asakusa smile is what you make of it! It's no 6 star hotel but it's locating close to a main train line into Tokyo, walking distance to the Tokyo Skytree and shops! And it is only for sleeping ! I enjoyed the time I spent at AS smile hostel!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.