Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

AS House (Asakusa Smile)

  • 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.0
Good 2,090 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.3
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 4.2
  • Facilities 5.2
BOOK NOW
6.0
Good 2,090 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.3
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 4.2
  • Facilities 5.2
AS House (Asakusa Smile) Located at 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo.
AS House (Asakusa Smile)
Japan
Tokyo 1300005 2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku
60% 2090
35.7073683 139.8006257
AS House (Asakusa Smile)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sianel
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Nov 2016
7.4

I'm travelling solo and got put in the building a few blocks from reception/bar. The other building was creepy and I felt isolated. It would have been okay if I was with friends. Just ask to get a room in the normal building if you're alone. Bar is sick! Met heaps of locals and cool travellers there. Friendly staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
10.0

Absolutely enjoyed my time at Asakusa Smile. Staff were amicable,informative and fun. Although you can't control guests, everyone staying their were really good people. Some facilities were out of order, but it didn't impact my stay in the least. I would recommend Asakusa Smile to other travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Oct 2016
8.3

Good cheap hostel close to the station. Was hard to meet people but a good for a few nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Oct 2016
4.6

It was a hassle to stay here as the reception is located 4 blocks away from the building we slept in. The room looked dirty i.e. hairs on the comforter, leaves had blown in from the open window. Whe I went to use the shower at 9:30 am, the staff was cleaning it. It didn't feel safe how the door to the building was left open during the day by other guests and around 9pm with no staff in this building. I would only stay here if you are on a tight budget and not planning to be at the hostel much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Noreason
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Sep 2016
2.9

DON'T BOOK THIS HOSTEL a lot of giant cockroaches in the room and in the bar, really dirty place, ancient guests' stuff under the beds like fossilized socks and other things, dangerous uncovered electric cables and lamp holders near the sink. Broken elevator, broken toilets, only one toilet for floor and 1 shower for the entire building. i slept in the hall because of the bugs and i didn't wash myself because of the grime. ran away as soon as possible, my worst hostel experience.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
5.4

Had to book this hostel at the last minute, and I can see why it was the only one available. This was the only hostel in Japan where we found a cockroach in the room. The top bunk of the bunkbeds looked like they were going to break, and made loud creaking noise with the slightest movement. Also the shower curtains looked almost moldy, I was left with a pretty gross feeling about the place. The staff was very nice, but the place needs to be cleaner.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
2.9

This is not a place is worse than the jails I have seen on tv, reality shows, not made up ones! Bed is harder than concrete, place reeks of stale cigarette smoke, ceiling is peeling, leaking and has black mold, black mold can be deadly! The place is infested with Cockroaches I even found one in my bed! Bathroom sinks looked as if they hadn't been cleaned in months. If I knew how to report to them to the Japanese health inspectors, if they have something like that, I would DON'T GO HERE!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Sep 2016
8.0

I have stayed here on three occasions now, and I feel like it is good value for money. The staff were really friendly and helpful, you get a free drink Voucher to use at the bar. The atmosphere varied on my stays, some nights there was a great atmosphere and plenty of people to talk to at the bar, some nights it was the opposite. The shower was good, clean toilet on the first floor, the second floor bathroom was pretty gross, and my bed was seriously squeaky but those were the only bad points.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Sep 2016
9.7

The staff was really nice, always helping me patiently when asking for directions ("Take the subway Chuo Line, then..."). There is a little bar downstairs, so at weekends or night you may be able to meet some locals :). 2 Subway Stations maybe 2 or 3 blocks away each. Super accessible. A smile for Asakusa Smile!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
6.0

While an affordable option, the insect problem in the kitchen was quite bad.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.