X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

AS House (Asakusa Smile) Reviews

2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
1716 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

it's good enough, but a little far from the station

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Main hostel is great, very friendly staff, clean, great atmosphere. Second part is not as good - cold, hard to find.


57%

really smelly blanket...! its not clean here (Ive been to more then 200 hostels in the world). location is very good because if the subway line (goes directly to the must sees). staff is friendly.


34%

you can smoke inside. for a non smoker it's disgusting. The guy in the lobby was to busy playing video games to even look at us, he propably hasn't noticed that we have left.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Okay hostel, due to the in house bar sometimes really loud. There was almost no soap at the toilets and the rooms are quite small and only equipped with a bed and nothing more. Cleanliness could be Vetter.


49%

We ordered a twinroom but got a bunk bed. Later they offered us a twinbed, but that was in a very small 'room' in a dependance om the basic floor, with a 'window'looking out over the rubbish in a dirty narrow courtyard/alley. There were cockroaches in the kitchen. Most of the electrical outlets in the room didn't work.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Asakusa Smile was my first ever hostel in a different country and it was super lovely. Even with the bar downstairs, we were never disturbed during our sleep. It was a great place to make friends and the staff were super friendly. The location i found was very convenient from Asakusa Station and was in great walking distance to local attractions. Would definitely come here again because i made quite a few life long friends :)


57%

Very uncomfortable bed.

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Very good value for money.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed there for a week, great location near metro lines, nice staff always willing to help, cleaning could be better, definitly a good place to stay if u go on a budget.

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel is not the cleanest one, at least for what you would expect in Japan but it is passable. You have to walk 10-15 minutes to go in the center of Asakusa area so it is not so bad but some other hostels are better located. I took the hostel because it was cheap and had a bar. The bar is cool, the drinks are relatively cheap and the ambiance is nice.


74%

The bar was a great place to meet other travellers as well as locals, really fun.


57%

Pros: It's very close to Asakusa (a must-go for Tokyo), and it is very cheap. If you value location and value, then this is the best place to stay while staying in Tokyo for a SHORT term. Cons: If you are looking for somewhere with privacy, basic hygiene (I found two cockroaches in the dorms), and security (which is shoddy at best), then this establishment may not be your choice.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Wouldn't go there again EVER! It might seem cheap or good enough as a last resort, but trust me you'd be better off sleeping on a park bench. I've never left a comment before, but I couldn't resist leaving one now- just don't go there, you will be disappointed no matter what you like/dislike.


37%

the hostel is the worst hostel I have even been. We can´t close the door of the the room, our bed is not a bed it is a sofa. Everything is very dirty, and broken. We have had all this problems on a different building, that the principal. The good thing was that the people of the staff was very helpfull, and helped us to find other hostel. But we wasted a lot of time on looking for another hostel.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Stayed in the bekkan. Internet was extremely spotty. No usage in the rooms, only worked sometimes in the kitchen if you were lucky. Otherwise things were clean and everything worked well enough.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

More lockers please!

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

This hostel is awful. There is only 1 shower with a lock, the kitchen is barely functional (no knives!) And there were cockroaches in the sink and on the kitchen floor. There is a 'smoking area' next to reception which means the entire first floor and staircase stinks of smoke all the time (writing 'no smoking here' on the table next to the 'smoking area' is laughable). Only stay here if there is nothing else available.


29%

It was DIRTY, the beds had yellow dirty marks,many many dust behind the bed, the smell in the shower was terrible because of the dampness and the staff...like in another planet. Not saying "good morning", not saying "hello"... And the experience was worse for my 3 friends that had the room in the 4th floor. A mixed room of 4 beds. There was another person but their beds were used, with used underwear and two cockroachs runing through the walls. Obviosly they went to another hotel this night.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Overall, I didn't enjoy the space, but it's VERY VERY cheap, which is great. Problems: there is a bar attached and it's pretty loud. I was on the second floor and couldn't sleep past 1 am from all the noise. The room smelt like smoke and the air conditioner was broken (they said it could be fixed in 1 day, but it didn't happen). The door locks on the room seemed a bit sketchy (but they have nice lockers for just a deposit).


(63 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback