X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abaquar Hostel Reviews

rua do areal ilha de Boipeba Bahia, Ilha de Boipeba, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
45 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

nice hostel on an great Island ! take enough cash with you. there is no ATM!!! Beaches : 15 minutes walk, great natural beach with some people selling food and drinks way to Boipeba: be in Valença before , because the boats are not running in the evening prices January 2016: ferry Salvador to Itaparica around 5 Real . bus Itaparica- Valença 22 real. boat Valença-boipeba 44 real sunrise 29.01.16 5:20 surfing: you can ask locals for surfboards. e had nice beginner waves.


100%

It's a great hostel, accommodating and welcoming staff. The garden and bar are so relaxing, perfect place to get away and relax for a few days. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we got back to the beautiful island of Boipeda.


80%

Facilities are good. The room was big enough to be comfortable (private room for two). I like that common areas are big, including the nice garden and the restaurant

  • 10th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

I had a hair and blood sprinkles on my bedsheet Bathroom was not properly cleaned. In the public bathroom there were no towels Good thing was the breakfast :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review ... We take very care about our sheets and towels , if something went wrong with yours and you would let us know we would have changed yours directly.We give in the beginning of every stay a FREE towel to use .We don't provide common towels in the shared outside toilet, because this NOT HYGIENIC!!! All ours bathrooms are cleaned 2 or 3 times a day, we always ask the people in a SHARED room to have common sense and keep it good after using the shower .

100%

Amazing place. The room was cleaned, spacious, and comfortable. And the facilities and surrounding make you want to stay much longer and just relaxed. Plus the breakfast included is super good!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

The hostel was very nice. The owner really cares if you feel good and helps you with anything. Only Thing is the lockers, which are not really nesecary because the Island is very safe :)


100%

We loved our stay here! It really shows that the owners have poured their heart into creating this space. Especially the garden is filled with lovely details, it has various chillout places, like hammocks and mats in the grass, and the open air kitchen for guests is really cool. Our room was nice, spacious and was cleaned every day. Breakfast: fresh fruit, juices, jogurt and cereals, scrambled eggs, ham cheese etc, and changing cakes or baked bananas, delicious! We will definitely come back!


80%

pretty good hostel


100%

Awesome hostel! Boipeba was an amazing stop, and we are happy we choose this hostel. Rooms + kitchen and common areas all very good, and the breakfast is top. The owners are nice people and keep the vibe nice & relaxing, and that was all we wanted for our stay. 100%!

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

They are very nice people, great hospitality, delicious breakfast and awesome atmosphere. They know very much about boipeba and will be glad to help you out with all the info you need. It was just an awesome stay! Cheers

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We had a lot of troubles with the wifi , water and electricity because of some little rain , so it kinda ruined our time , other than that it was a great hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Elad! I am sorry, but was not a little rain, it was a big tropical storm!!! Boipeba is a little island very far and remote in the middle of the sea and tropical forest, so unfortunally this can happen here with a such rain. The all village stayed without electricity and of course internet... The problem was solved in less than one day, and all our services were back working perfect again. Hope you have a good year and good travels always! Best regards, Fernanda and Peter Detremmerie

100%

Amazing hostel! The owners really respect the traveler life style by providing a great hostel. Great hostel to relax or party. Peter is an absolute legend! 10/10 stay here !


100%

Truly amazing hostel: amazing breakfasts, lovely staff and atmosphere, incredible location, all round super chilled. Cannot recommend this place enough.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We arrived, two friends from Israel, in Abaquar hostel prior to our world cup trip in Salvador and Fortaleza. We looked for a place to relax and chill and found it in the beautiful Boipeba island and in the tranquile Hostel Abaquar. The hostel is located beautifully between trees and by a little stream, close to the village square. The owners were extremely nice and hospitable, helpful with any request or advice. The rooms are clean and spacious and the breakfast is simply amazing. Go there!


89%

Peter and Fernanda are the best! they made me want to open a hostel for myself. They take care of you and provide with anything you need and they are always smiling. The place is beautiful, totally recomandable


94%

Really friendly and helpful staff. Awesome breakfast :) Nice, quiet and relaxed location. Enjoy freedom.. :p

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I'm not exagerating if I say everything was excellent. I'd love to stay more days in Abaquar. The hostel is beautiful, Fernanda and Peter are adorable, and Vicky and Natureza too, but I fell in love with Petisco :). The rooms are spacious the same as bathroom. It's clean. And the garden is awesome. I LOVE IT!


100%

Very nice hostel: Clean, great breakfast, friendly and helpfull staff, beatiful garden area, only few meters to the "center" Boipeba and the beaches.


94%

Beautiful Hostel surrounded by an amazing garden, awesome breakfast and very helpful staff.


83%

Wonderful welcoming hosts, beautiful island- absolutely AMAZING breakfasts!! They gave us plenty of recommendations for the island and even let us borrow snorkel gear!

  • 3rd Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Ilha de Boipeba Hostels

Please give us your feedback