X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abbey Court Reviews

29 Bachelors Walk, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3774 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Although my stay at the Abbey Court hostel was short, it was great. Abbey Court feels safe, because it is very safe and there are people at the reception desk 24/7. The location could not be more perfect and everything is within walking distance. The staff in exceptionally friendly and helpful and shout out to Lucas for being awesome! Abbey Court was very clean and it is absolutely a great value for your money. I highly recommend staying at the Abbey Court Hostel for your time in Dublin!

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey - wow what a lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay - come back soon! Yvonne

80%

The staff was so, so nice, funny, and accommodating and the location was fabulous! The interior was funky and all the guests were respectful.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us :) Yvonne

100%

Lucas was super helpful the whole time I was there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you kindly for the review Cianne! :) Yvonne

40%

terrible !

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Luigi, Can you please elaborate as to why your stay was so terrible? As it is rare we get such a bad review at 40%. Apologies you did not enjoy your stay but we would like to know why so we can avoid having more unhappy guests! Many thanks, Yvonne

71%

Staff was a bit rude and caught up in their own conversations. The place is kind of dirty and I didn't love the atmosphere.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Apologies you found the staff to be like this. They have all been spoken to about their behaviour at reception. We usually get glowing reviews for our staff so we are disappointed by this. We however would consider the place to be very clean - our cleaners are rostered twice daily and we do checks to ensure the rooms, bathrooms and common areas are cleaned very thoroughly. Many thanks, Yvonne

60%

Average. Not very clean, too many noisy people, but good location and free breakfast.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our cleaners are rostered twice daily to thoroughly clean and we do checks to make sure it is done properly. Apologies you found it unclean however. We would invite you back for a free night in a dorm to have a look again yourself if you like :) Thanks, The Management

83%

I had a great stay at the Abbey Court Hostel ! I was very surprised in a good way when I got there, the facilities and the paints in the stairs made me feel at ease in this hostel. Breakfast time was really nice, there was nothing missing to have a proper breakfast, we also had fresh fruits !! (very good point !!!)

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the review - delighted you were happy with all aspects of your stay :)

74%

I only stayed one night, and was barely at the hostel. Staff were super friendly, the cage/locker thing under my bed was broken so I didn't have a secure place for it. The bathroom could use a bit of fixing up. I was there on new years eve so it was pretty rowdy but otherwise not to bad as long as you don't intend on spending a lot of time in your room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there - apologies about the broken cage. We would happily have stored your things at reception for free if we had known. We are seeing that it is fixed! Our bathrooms are being periodically revamped. Thanks for the review and we hope to see you back again soon! Yvonne

94%

The kindness of the staff members and the cleanliness of the whole structure were absolutely fabulous. I only wish I hadn't had to choose between fire-hot and ice-cold water ;)

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review - we are looking at the issue of the water! We don't usually have a problem with it but thanks for bringing it to our attention. Many thanks, Yvonne

97%

Lovely place to stay in a great location! They even had a blow dryer I could use, bonus points for those struggling with the voltage conversion (I almost blew mine up).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great - hope you return to visit sometime! Yvonne

91%

I think check-out time is so fast. i hope to give more time. the hostel is a place to rest, but people are steeper. because of the check-out time.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, our check out time is 10.30am and we are quite lenient with guests about this. We have this check out time so we can have the rooms cleaned thoroughly before the arrival of our new guests who are going to check in. Many thanks, Yvonne

100%

Simply the best!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fantastic! Hope to see you back again in the Abbey Court in 2015 :)

83%

I enjoyed the hostel for the most part, sometimes the floors were a little bit dirty, but with so many people walking through you can hardly expect it to be 100% clean 100% of the time. I really liked all of the common spaces they had. Wasn't a huge fan of the breakfast, but there were lots of places nearby to eat cheaply for any meal. The location cannot be beat, the cost was good. The 10 person room was loud but fine. Could do with more outlets and lights and light switches in the rooms.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there apologies you were not satisfied with breakfast but as it is free of charge and consists of a choice of cereals, tea, coffee, brown and white toast, fruit and sausage rolls we feel our breakfast is excellent! We also have lots of extension leads in reception for more power plugs :) Kind Regards, Yvonne

51%

Unpleasant and disrespectful owner. Horrendous atmosphere in the hostel. Vary few tourists. Full of long term employed and drunk residents in a negative state of mind. Left early. Will never return. Cinema is only open once a week so don't take the photographs so seriously.


83%

As my room's windows were out at the street side it was quite noisy during the night. Otherwise a nice stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there - apologies about this. Sometimes it is slightly noisy as we are in the very centre of the city. We do not usually get complaints about noise however. We also have earplugs at reception :) Many thanks, Yvonne

74%

When I asked for directions and recommendations the staff told me to google instead. During my stay the hostel was under renovation, so the entrance was being repainted and the hammock room had workers drilling something.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, apologies that the staff did not give you directions for where you were looking for. Usually our staff are praised being so helpful anf friendly so on this occasion apologies you did not experience this. Perhaps the staff were too busy. When this happens - we do have 7 computers with free internet that customers can use. Apologies you were disturbed by the renovation but it had to be done. We are now renovation free :) We are glad the other aspects of your stay were okay. Yvonne

83%

Nice hostel and the location could not be better! If I go to Dublin again, I will stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great - we hope to see you back again at the Abbey Court in 2015! Happy New Year! :) Yvonne

89%

We realy enjoyed the time we spent in your hostel.Young people at the reception were very helpfull at all times.We thank you guys!! !

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ah fantastic this is what we like to hear. Come back and visit us again soon :) Yvonne

86%

I liked this hostel, clean and the staff was excellent, very helpful and cheerful. The breakfastreally good and a lot of variety (some fruit to choose, toast with some jam you can choose too...). So really good.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey - thanks for the review! We would be delighted to see you back again sometime in 2015. Yvonne

89%

Nothing to report. if we want to really find some issue, maybe they could improve a bit the variety of the Breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! We're sorry you didn't find the breakfast to have enough variety but as it is free we feel it is an excellent breakfast seeing as we have brown and white toast with a choice of jams, a choice of cereals, tea and coffee, fruit and sausage rolls. Thank you for the review! Yvonne

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(132 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback