X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Abbey Court Reviews

29 Bachelors Walk, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
3474 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Clean dorms. Prompt response from reception people.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A good experience overall - staff were helpful in the main, and location couldn't be better. It is a large hostel and not everyone staying is there on holiday, which possibly detracts from the atmosphere in the common area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for the review. The longest permitted stay in the hostel is 28 days. Kind Regards, Yvonne

89%

We stayed in the separate apartment which meant the wifi signal wasn't great. Breakfast was good. Location was excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you for the review. We unfortunately only provide wifi in the main hostel building and it is free to use for an unlimited time for all apartment guests. Many thanks, Yvonne

54%

Our room had a very strong smell of pee.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for bringing this to our attention. Kind Regards, The Management

69%

Excellent location only stayed one night, have stayed in better hostels in Dublin. Staff did the minimum when checking in, only found out there was a bar there the next morning when I was having breakfast. For 30 euro the room was not great. Beds crammed in, had lockers under the bed but they were so closed together I couldn't get my suitcase into them. Also there was a velux window that had no blind so was awake a 6am when it got bright. Nice breakfast in the morning and friendlier staff.


86%

I found this place to have a very homey feel and the eggs and bacon and toast were cooked by the host fresh for each person and amazing

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for the comments and your great review - maybe the chef was in a great mood the day you were here and cooked a full Irish but we usually have tea, coffee, toast, a choice of cereals, sausage rolls and fresh fruit. Do come back and visit us again soon! :) Many thanks, The Management

80%

Really friendly staff! Very convenient place to stay and a cheap place on top of that! One of the big pluses is definitely the 24hr check in and staff. Hammock room's nice too!

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We generally appreciated our stay , with the following comments however: - our room was on the street side, very very noisy (Windows lacked insulation) - the breakfast room lacked day light - no direct access between bedrooms and restaurant rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for your comments - we have taken them into consideration. Kind Regards, The Management

69%

too expensive regarding the bedding and other prestations

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Apologies you were unhappy with the bedding - if guests are uncomfortable we encourage them to speak to us at reception where we do our best to move them if needs be. Kind Regards, The Management

83%

The ensuite bathroom in the dormitory was quite dirty, should be cleaned more often, but apart from this everything it's

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the comments. The bathrooms are cleaned very regularly but we shall pay more attention to the ensuite ones. Kind Regards, Yvonne

77%

Bad equipment in the kitchen Bad smell in the bathroom (room 32A)

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there - thank you for bringing this to our attention. The Management

69%

The room was very small and the bed extremely soft. Every move one of us made would make the other one bounce while lying in bed. And not in a good way! The drains in the bathroom smelled like sewage the whole three days we were there, even with the window open 24/7. Breakfast was very simple and not good value for the money we paid. We were going to stay an additional night here at the end of our Ireland trip, but made a last minute change to another hotel with much better value for money.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Perfect location across the river from Temple Bar. This is a massive hostel with a good atmosphere and very good facilities, but the wifi is absolutely appalling (didn't work in my room at all, and was weak elsewhere). Standard breakfast but I found the breakfast staff to be rather rude and pushy. Reception guys are very helpful though. Number of toilets and showers is decent, but you;ll still be waiting in the morning / evening.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thank you for your comments. Apologies the breakfast staff were rude towards you - we will be speaking with them about this. We are meeting with our wifi provider this week to see how we can make our signal stronger. It does however tend to get slower when we have a full house! We hope you enjoyed Dublin! Thanks, Yvonne

80%

Perfect location, reasonably priced, and close to everything. Free walking tour was ok, there were only 2 outlets for 6 girls in the room, and one of the breakfast women were extremely mean and rude - she bearded us like cattle on the line and acted like it was everyone else's fault that the line was moving slow (not because there were just so many people and not enough room). Front door to dorms was also supposed to be locked but never was. Stay on main streets and don't walk down side street


74%

it was a great stay, but a small problem was that we had to vacate the room between 10:30 am and 02 pm

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Didn't actually get to stay as the Gareth brooks concert was cancelled. But have stayed there a few times previously and couldn't praise this establishment enough. Very central and ideally priced.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

great staff, amazing location, loved the free walking tours offered. Very glad we stayed here!

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is a great location, not to far from temple bar and the tram. There are lots of pubs, restaurants, shops around. The staff were very helpful. The only disappointing factor is that there was no fan and just a small window in the room. Also it we were on the street side and it could be loud at times.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for the review! We have some spare fans for guests when they find the room too warm. If you come again come and talk to us at reception :) Kind Regards, Yvonne

86%

Nice stay, nice staff, a lot of people coming and going. Excellent location near the city centre.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

It was a pretty good hostel to stay at, but in the morning I was to check out, for some inexplicable reason, the water in my room was basically zero. I'm not sure if it's a regular occurrence, but the water completely stopped working.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there - thank you for the review. We had trouble with the water during the week we have had a plumber in and it is back working fine again. Kind Regards, Yvonne

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(138 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback