X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abbey Court Reviews

29 Bachelors Walk, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3629 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The place is not dirty at all, it`s just that some parts of it are old and it looks like that. The hostel has an average value for money, it has very positive things like the breakfast, and other negative things like the surly attitude of some staff. Another bad thing is that groups of people stay here for long term and tend to stick in national groups, ie Italians, French, etc.. Also, the cards to enter the rooms stop working all the time and it`s a bother. Still, not a bad place to stay


100%

First time to stay in a hostel this was a great first time experience. Will definitely be back again this hostel has great location and brilliant value for money.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Pleasant atmosphere and kind staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for the review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

100%

Abbey Court was amazing. Great staff! Great location! Great place! It was easy to find and even if you didn’t have an agenda going into Dublin, they would always offer you day trips, walking tours and pub crawl offers. Also, they offer free storage downstairs for customers, which was great because check out was 10:30 and we were able to store our stuff until our 20:00 bus. Would recommend to anyone!

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much - we're delighted you enjoyed your stay :)

66%

Average Hostel. Appears to be huge without a lot of opportunities for socializing. Felt more like a dorm-style (and shabby) hotel than some of the other more communal hostel I've stayed in. They advertise free breakfast but when I tried to go downstairs at 9 (30 minutes before they stop serving) the line was easily 15-20 minutes long, so I deemed that not worth it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for the review. Our breakfast is very popular but there is rarely a queue of 15 minutes. We are also extending our breakfast area in the next week - the work is almost finished. We do our best to interact with our guests and encourage socialising and a lot of people have made great friends here over the years :) Kind Regards, Yvonne

83%

Great location with a bit of security. Nice staff with a great breakfast for the price lots of places to meet people in and outside of the hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you kindly - come back again soon :)

46%

Felt very uncomfortable, unclean, and unsafe.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place in central dublin. Good facilities, clean rooms, hot water, perfect. Great free walking tours too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - thank you so much! Come back again soon!

60%

Hated this hostel. Was dirty and the rooms were so sma and messy. Next time I will not be staying there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There. Thank you for the review. We are very disappointed you were so unhappy with your stay. We are not a dirty hostel at all - we have a lot of cleaners rostered through out every day and also through the night to ensure the hostel is clean. If there is an area that is unsatisfactory we encourage guests to speak to us and we have signs to this affect. Please come back again and I'm sure your next stay will be more pleasant. Kind Regards, Management

91%

I loved my stay at Abbey Court so much that as I was checking out, I booked my next stay. Great staff, wonderful location.


80%

due to the staff, accommodations and the beer in the vending machine, probably the best hostel we stayed at out of the millions we booked all over Europe. They also had lots of different sitting rooms and a large common area with a decent sized kitchen. really enjoyed our stay!!


69%

Not a great place to stay with a partner or spouse. If you're looking to drink and meet other young people then this is your place. Location excellent. Rooms really cramped and breakfast wasn't great. Mostly all males in rooms, hardly any women. Staff was helpful.


69%

It's terrific for a hostel in a big city. As a b

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place , Nice people . Close to everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there - thanks very much for your review! We hope you come back again sometime :) The Management

60%

average.hostel with dorms.they're all the same.cheap and a place to stay for the night.


86%

Thanks for the nice time!

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Many many people, so it's extremely easy to get in touch with other people and I only met very nice ones :-) The downside: Well, it wasn't really dirty but then it wasn't clean either - I've been to other hostels for the same money and it was just more comfortable! The major plus was the central location, you only have to step out of the door and you're right at the city centre. Staff was ok, considering this big amount of people coming and going they are really busy at times!

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I paid a little extra to stay in a room with only four beds. The facility was good for a hostel, however, I was in Room 13. That room is directly above the entrance and just one floor up. Unfortunately, all the guests congregate outside to smoke. All that smoke rolled right in through the window. It was too hot with the window closed, but smokey and gross with the window open

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there - apologies you were uncomfortable in your room. We would have changed your room if possible when you stayed. We have stopped smoking out the back because it was becoming unpleasant for some guests. We would like to offer you a night of free accommodation should you return to Dublin. Please contact us to avail of this offer. Kind Regards,

86%

I will sure stay by you again!

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks! We look forward to it :)

100%

Everytime I am in Dublin I will book my place at Abbey Court because I know it will be a safe and pleasant staying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ah - thank you so much for the nice review! See you again soon we hope.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(156 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback