X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abbey Court Reviews

29 Bachelors Walk, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3572 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I paid a little extra to stay in a room with only four beds. The facility was good for a hostel, however, I was in Room 13. That room is directly above the entrance and just one floor up. Unfortunately, all the guests congregate outside to smoke. All that smoke rolled right in through the window. It was too hot with the window closed, but smokey and gross with the window open

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

I will sure stay by you again!

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks! We look forward to it :)

100%

Everytime I am in Dublin I will book my place at Abbey Court because I know it will be a safe and pleasant staying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ah - thank you so much for the nice review! See you again soon we hope.

91%

Keep going, you're a great hostel !

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

I didnt love my stay at abbey court. The bathrooms are very dirty and the people are so loud. I was there two nights and i had to sleep during the day while everyone was gone because its impossible to sleep at night. The internet is horrible. I could barely find somewhere for it to work. But its definitely cheap and right in the middle of the best part of dublin.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there,Apologies you experienced an unpleasant stay. We endevour to ensure all of our guests are happy at all times. We have a large staff of cleaners for the bathrooms and they are cleaned very often - quite a few times a day. Sometimes when we are very busy as we have been this week - they can seem like they are unkempt but we ask guests in this case to come and speak to us at reception. Our internet is constantly being updated and we have installed a new router. Regards, The Management

74%

Please clean the refrigerators!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, The fridges are cleaned every two days but we will pay more attention to them. Kind Regards, Management

74%

everything was ok but other guests were too noisy but its not hostel's problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, Thanks for the review! We try to make sure guests keep quiet at night and have staff on to to ensure this. Kind Regards, Yvonne

69%

Distinctive smell in the bathroom of our double bed private ensuite. It was pretty bad. Aside from that we had a good 2 night atay at this hostel. Close to the airlink bus stops and to temple bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We did not find a smell in the bathroom but we have taken the necessary steps to ensure one does not arise. Kind Regards, Yvonne

60%

The hostel is in an amazing location and offers fruit for breakfast, which is a nice addition to toast and cereal; however, these were about the only good things with the hostel. The internet doesn't work at all in the rooms, and is absolutely terrible even in the computer room and common areas. The bathrooms weren't the cleanest, and you have to walk through the women's bathroom to get to some of the other rooms! The owner is also incredibly rude, and the staff often play very loud music.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there,Glad you enjoyed your breakfast - we hope people are happy with it as we have also tea, coffee and sausage rolls and it's free. Apologies the owner seemed rude - he would not have meant this. Most people get on great with him -maybe you got him on a bad day? We are constantly updating our wifi and recently have had a new router installed. When it is very busy it gets slower understandably. We ask guests to talk to us if bathrooms are not clean and we then look after the problem.

100%

The best hostel I have been too! Helpful staff, clean and everything is new and well maintained. Pancakes for brekky! just great!

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there - many thanks for the lovely review! Hope to see you again soon. Many thanks, Yvonne

89%

The staff were super helpful and super friendly during our stay!! They went above and beyond our expectations! The room was alright, wifi wasn't the best. The shower had amazing water pressure!! It was a bit roughy around the edges, such as the locals hanging around outside, but all in all had a wonderful stay with no problems whatsoever

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey - glad to hear you were happy with nearly everything! We update our wifi very regularly and have recently just installed a new router. Sometimes when we are very busy it slows down. Apologies about this! Kind Regards, Yvonne

74%

This hostel is really smelly. I didnt like all those "cool" rooms they advertise. It's just a giant intricate maze full of different bad smells. Most of the staff were nice though, and security-wise I had no issues.


49%

Everyone in our room went to sleep at 11pm but couldn´t sleep before 4pm as we could hear every word spoken on the street - it was extremely loud. Parking spaces were offered as service and on a request base in advance. We requested by email in advance and they answered that we have to ask when we arrive. On arrival they said "We don´t offer any parking spaces at all" and as we mentioned the email "Oh, yes, we have 3 staff parking spaces but they are occupied by our staff today". Poor service.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. We usually never get complaints about noise from outside and offer guests free earplugs if they are kept awake. We do not advertise that we have parking and when emailed about it we usually comment that we do not have it as we have extrmemely limited spaces. Apologies however that you were given wrong information. Kind Regards, Yvonne

89%

Only had a short stay but the staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating! We got in a bit of a pickle with our laundry and the staff were happy to help us get our laundry back before we left!! Bit of a loud region of Dublin, so if you don't like noise not the place for you. Room was a bit small but we managed, also weren't that many power points in the room which was a bit of an issue. Overall though our stay was lovely

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there - thanks a mil for the review. We have extra power adapters at reception for all rooms. Generally the area is quiet enough and we do not have complaints. Apologies however if you were affected. We have ear plugs at reception :) Many thanks, Yvonne

80%

My girlfriend and I usually stay in hotels but we choose the hostel due to the price and the location of which were excellent. The room was pretty poor compared to hotels we usually stay in and the shower head was so pathetic we had to hold it above our heads when we had showers. The old saying you get what you pay for really applies here and we were by no means disappointed with our stay due to the price we paid and the excellent location.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there - many thanks for the review. We usually do not get complaints about any of the showers. We have extra showers on every floor and some of them are power showers which receive great compliments. Our price also includes a comlimentart breakfast which guests can have as much as they want of so we hope customers take this into account. Many thanks, Yvonne

94%

Staff members are really helpful and the location is great. Not enough power outlets per room, only 2 for a room of 6 people isn't enough. Heaps of common areas, although the layout is a bit confusing so it'd be great if someone could show you around or explain what they all are.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for the review. We have extra power adapters at reception for all rooms if they are needed. We hope that customers would come to reception if they are confused :) Many thanks, Yvonne

80%

I wish they were more organized about their cinema room. We got all ready to go use it, picked out a DVD at the desk, popped some popcorn, and then there was already a couple in there. It was disappointing. They were very accommodating at the desk though when we accidentally booked one wrong day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - thanks for the review. We hope guests can make a compromise on what to watch in the cinema room and get on together. If there was a couple in there you could still have used the cinema room. Kind Regards, Yvonne

63%

Wifi in room didn't work, bed very squeaky & noisy, doors in other rooms slammed shut & echoed through the corridors. The breakfast staff where very rude & un helpful, the rooms where not clean at all.The owner & 2 of the front staff where very helpful. This place is close to most things. Funky place but not a good look with half dozen people smoking outside

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, Thanks for the review and apologies you had some issues with your stay. We are constantly updating the wifi and have had new reuters installed. The rooms are cleaned daily by our trained staff and we encourage customers to speak to us at reception if they are unclean. We will be speaking to reception staff about rudeness - apologies for this! Many thanks, Yvonne

94%

This is my third time staying at Abbey Court, and my first time staying in a hostel alone. Always welcoming and secure.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review! See you again soon! :)

63%

Our stay in the female dormitory was not bad, but the room is really small and poor equipped. There are also two electrical outlets (for 6 people), no hangers, no service light or lampshades.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there - apologies you found the room was unsatisfactory. We have adapter plugs at reception when people need them. We found when we had lamps in the rooms that they often went missing. However we are currently looking at putting non removable lights at each bed. Kind Regards, Yvonne

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(158 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback