X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abbey Court Reviews

29 Bachelors Walk, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3809 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Definitely my favourite hostel in Dublin! Nice atmosphere, people, rooms, and location. There is nothing to complain about.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Cons: First of all, If you make a booking for two people, they should be placed in the same room. That was a sh*tty mistake of theirs!! The place was creepy on the inside. No lockers or anything to lock up your stuff (at least I had a lock for my suitcase..) Worst wifi ever. Worst hostal bed ever. Woke up sore from the bed.. I'm too young to feel like that. Pros: Girls showers were quit clean. Better than expected. Number pad instead of card for room door

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there - sorry you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. Unfortunately when bookings are made with short notice we are not always able to accommodate people in the same room as it would mean splitting other groups up which would not be fair. I'm not sure what you mean by creepy but we have recently done a lot of work and I'm sure a lot would agree that the place isn't creepy. There are a big set of lockers downstairs which are free to use and also lockers underneath every bed. Yvonne

100%

The staff were really friendly and made us feel very welcome! Also in the perfect spot!

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much :) Yvonne

71%

If you love the hostel life you'll love abbey court. It's very well located, has several common areas and a young atmosphere. However if you intend to sleep a good night's sleep you may consider finding someplace else...

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


26%

I was staying in a private room (only me and staff can access it) but during the first day belongings left in my luggage in the room got stolen (tablet, expensive headphones). Out of the 50 cameras available in the hostel the one covering the staircase leading to my room is not working. I also did not receive any apologies from the management even if the basic staff (receptionist) was trying to help (checking the camera but the useful one was not working). Worst experience I ever had.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry this was your experience and assure this has been the first time anything like this has happened in a private room. We checked our key software and on the day, the only cards used to enter the rooms were yours and the master key used by cleaners. Staff are fully vetted before commencing employment. It seems the door may have been ajar as this could be the only way anyone could enter. We would like to offer you a night free in a private room. Please contact yvonne@abbey-court.com.

100%

It was a very good place to sleep!!! It's a very good value of money, good place to be! And the staff is so friendly!

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you - that's what we like to hear. Hope to see you again :) Yvonne

69%

It was loud and crowded, even staying there in the off-season. The larger dorms feel more like boarding rooms, and there's not a good way to get to know people like in smaller hostels. There were enough showers, but not enough toilets. It was a bit expensive for February, the most expensive place I stayed while in Ireland, and that for a twenty-bed dorm. Good location and secure, but not very friendly. Better for groups than lone travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Apologies you felt this way. We have found that we have been very busy all year even in our off season. We try to keep our prices as competitive as possible and in doing so offer free all you can eat breakfast and free wifi which many other hostels don't do. Our staff always get great reviews so it's a shame you didn't find this friendliness through out the hostel. Kind Regards, Yvonne

83%

Very Friendly stuff,good location, many facility such as PCroom,Laundry room But there weren't any hot water until midnight so that I had to wake up 4am to take shower. I hope this is unusual things.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for the review. Yes this is very unusual - we always have lots of hot water. This was a once off and we apologise! Many thanks, Yvonne

83%

The hostel is clean and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and the location is perfect for anything you would want to do in Dublin. The atmosphere was a little odd, as a one night guest I felt like I was impeding on the property of the people who stay there for longer increments. Everyone seemed nice but it seemed to be that everyone knew eachother and the tourists were outsiders.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there - thank you for the email and I'm glad there were some aspects you were really happy with. We have a maximum length of stay to avoid guests staying longer than we would like. Apologies you felt this way - this is the total opposite of what we want for our hostel. If you would like to come back in a few weeks / months to stay again we would be happy to offer you a night free. Please contact yvonne@abbey-court.com. Many thanks, Yvonne

83%

Nice hostel

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for the review :)

86%

This place is right in the heart of the city centre, excellent location, right beside the Liffey. The stasff seemed helpful and friendly, the room I stayed in, was a bit grubby, but I got a good sleep, as sound wise it was pretty quiet. The room had its own shower/toilet, something that quite a few hostels around europe don't have. You had plenty of facilities there, they do a pub crawl tour for 12 euro, they also do a free breakfast up until 9.30 am, they have plenty of other facilities too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Apologies you found the room to be grubby. It is thoroughly cleaned everyday and refurbishments are regularly done. Delighted you were happy with everything else! Love to have you back again :) Yvonne

77%

Hostel located at central of Dublin, very near to all attractions. This is a very big hostel consists of three floor, crowd of people staying. If you would like to meet people from different country, here is a good choice. Poor Wi-Fi connection when you are in your room, had to go corridor or common area to get a better connection.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the reivew. The wifi gets slightly slower when we are so busy but generally it works perfectly! Thanks, Yvonne

60%

Abbey court hostel is in an amazing location and is a nice place to stay, although I found some of the staff a little rude mostly the lady that cleaned my room. It was abit annoying that different areas around the hostel would close at different times, just when the staff wanted to close them, for example on the Saturday night the smoking room closed at 9:30 pm when everyone wanted to socialize but on Tuesday night stayed open til 2:00 am when people actually wanted to sleep.


100%

Although my stay at the Abbey Court hostel was short, it was great. Abbey Court feels safe, because it is very safe and there are people at the reception desk 24/7. The location could not be more perfect and everything is within walking distance. The staff in exceptionally friendly and helpful and shout out to Lucas for being awesome! Abbey Court was very clean and it is absolutely a great value for your money. I highly recommend staying at the Abbey Court Hostel for your time in Dublin!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey - wow what a lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay - come back soon! Yvonne

86%

The place is very nice and clean. Location is very best in the city. Staff ppl are great :)

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff was so, so nice, funny, and accommodating and the location was fabulous! The interior was funky and all the guests were respectful.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us :) Yvonne

100%

Lucas was super helpful the whole time I was there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you kindly for the review Cianne! :) Yvonne

40%

terrible !

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Luigi, Can you please elaborate as to why your stay was so terrible? As it is rare we get such a bad review at 40%. Apologies you did not enjoy your stay but we would like to know why so we can avoid having more unhappy guests! Many thanks, Yvonne

71%

Staff was a bit rude and caught up in their own conversations. The place is kind of dirty and I didn't love the atmosphere.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Apologies you found the staff to be like this. They have all been spoken to about their behaviour at reception. We usually get glowing reviews for our staff so we are disappointed by this. We however would consider the place to be very clean - our cleaners are rostered twice daily and we do checks to ensure the rooms, bathrooms and common areas are cleaned very thoroughly. Many thanks, Yvonne

60%

Average. Not very clean, too many noisy people, but good location and free breakfast.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our cleaners are rostered twice daily to thoroughly clean and we do checks to make sure it is done properly. Apologies you found it unclean however. We would invite you back for a free night in a dorm to have a look again yourself if you like :) Thanks, The Management

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(119 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback