X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abbey Court Reviews

29 Bachelors Walk, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
4439 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Perfect location, excellent atmosphere and great staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great stuff! Come back to visit soon :D Yvonne

97%

Very nice hostel, room was much smaller than expected for a 6 bed dorm but it was ok. Very friendly staff and excellent location! Would stay again.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you kindly for the review. Our 6 bed dorms are sized in order the hostel room size regulations. Delighted you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay! :) Come back soon! Yvonne

80%

I had a nice stay here. It was in the perfect location. The things that most people want to see were within walking distance. There were free lockers under your bed for storage (bring a lock). You got a free breakfast. The staff was pretty nice. One seemed a little grumpy when I asked more than one question, but it was fine. I don't think it's best for a solo traveler, it was hard to meet people. I did the pub crawl and that was fun. Overall, it was worth what you pay. You get a lot for your $.


69%

The hostel was great for the cost, but unfortunately it smelled of cigarettes all over the place! The people in my dorm room always had to keep the window closed because of the smoking garden. And despite the kitchen being massive and nice only one oven worked and the whole dinning hall smelled like smoke. It was unbearable at times and my sister and i could barely breathe. But the owner is a really great guy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Many thanks for taking the time to review our property and for your kind comments. A lot of guests love having the option of the smoking area and there was a lot of protest when we were going to get rid of it before. We have tried to come up with a way to please everyone by closing it between 10.30pm and 11.30am. We hope that with the compromise we are pleasing a lot of people but we know we cannot please everyone all the time. The ovens are also being replaced shortly. Thanks, Yvonne

37%

0/10 would recommend. The lack of cleanliness was appalling. The entire facility smelled of smoke and the room in which I slept (28 beds) felt like I was inhabiting a cloud of hot breath. There were no sheets on the bed which was sketchy in itself not to mention the fact that the facility had recently been "rennovated" in which 100 beds were added, but the space was not expanded. While it is relatively cheap in a good location, I wouldn't stay here again. It was, for lack of a better word, gross

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You and your friend stayed with us and by coincidence you have both given us awful reviews . If we are as bad as you say we are why did you not tell us when you stayed here? why did you book again and stay a 3rd night . Suffice to say I know and you know you are being very economical with the truth . We welcome constructive criticism but I will defend rigorously comments that are not factual. The Management

80%

I was in and out 1 day.. and my card would not work. A foreign woman at Reception was very condescending with me nearly straight away. I was in Room 15 but thought it was 115. She surely would have know it was Room 15 I was thinking of. I had not been drinking or anything, and she kept on asking me questions in a demeaning way and I felt she tried to embarrass me in front of the many people there.. how sad..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Apologies for this incident - we will be speaking to the staff member in question. Management are strict about security so apologies if this came across as rude on behalf of the staff. Kind Regards, Yvonne

29%

This was awful. Do not stay here!!! I hear Abigail's across the street is better. I've heard the best is barnacles but it was sold out. This place was dirty and creepy. I slept in a room with 26 people and the room was so small that I could feel the people next too me's breath. They supposedly recently had a "renovation" which really just consisted of them adding 100 beds yet not expanding. They sqeeze as many people into this tiny room as possible. and so dirty!!!!!

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the review. The amount of beds per square metre in each dorm is in line with legal regulations. For more comfort, guests can choose a smaller room with less beds and pay a few extra euro. We have a large staff of cleaners rostered night and day to ensure a very high standard of cleanliness. We also encourage guests to come to reception if they are not happy with something and we always try remedy the problem immediately. Kind Regards, Yvonne

74%

Great location - right by the river, seconds away from O'Connell street - good as a sleeping base as well some added extras - the eating area and BYOB bar were good, with added extras such as ping-pong table and computers being fun editions. Toilets and showers were clean enough, however there could of been a few more. My group was in a 24 bed room which was clean and had ample cages for luggage. Overall, excellent budget accommodation in Dublin.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, but it would be a good idea to tell how big locks have to be in order to fit with the drawers under the bed!

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, the locks we have bought are especially for the drawers under the bed and for other lockers available in the hostel. Thanks for choosing Abbey Court and we hope you can return again soon! Yvonne

83%

I only stayed here for a quick night on a layover so I never got the full experience, but if you're allergic to smoke or it bothers you I would stay away. There is a smoking room in the hostel and the whole place smells like stale cigarette smoke. I stayed in the 20bed female dorm, each bed had a locker underneath it, which was great, but very few outlets for plugging things in.Bathrooms weren't the cleanest but i've seen worse. Great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for your review. We have lots of extra power extension chords at reception for guest use. We have cleaners rostered 24/7 to ensure optimal cleanliness and also encourage guests to speak to us at reception if an area needs attention. Our outside smoking area is closed between the hours of 22.30pm-11.30am. A lot of people who visit us smoke so are very happy we have one but we are looking into solutions for people who do not like it. Many thanks, Yvonne

63%

Breakfast was bare minimal and we had people coming and going at all hours who unfortunately did not remain quiet, waking up the whole room from 5-6 am with drunken giggles and dropping things. Only one small washroom in the 20 person room and we ran out of toilet paper. Location is great though and front desk people were pleasant.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Drab, Dirty over crowded. Very much a lower end Hostel. I did not feel secure here. Location is good but would I would not return here ever again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You stayed in a large dorm and paid €13.47 cents. You had for breakfast a choice of 5 fruits cold meats cheeses, cereals, toast, brewed coffee. The room was not overcrowded it was full a difference. I refute your remarks about being a lower end Hostel and would prefer you do not stay here again ever. We have over 4000 reviews with a 83% rating that speaks volumes. The Management

100%

Great accomadation, clean, in centre of the city. spacious facilities. Very good.


94%

Room sizes are small, but otherwise the facilities and staff were great. The location is perfect and I would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review Rochelle! :)

77%

Breakfast is rather big & chaotic: little room for al the people of both houses. Breakfast room feels like school refectory. My group got split up over 2 houses, we didn't like this very much. Reservation went well, helpfull & friendly staff, very nice to have fruit at breakfast, good beds, clean bathrooms & good showers. Thx for the stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review!! There's lots of extra places to sit and eat in the common area that follows on from the kitchen to the back of the building. Many thanks! :)

71%

In total, the hostel facilities are a bit tiny, in the 12 bed room was only 1 chair, no table or anything to put some stuff, beds were really close to each other. In the dorm was one tiny bathroom with toilet and shower, which was not that clean and really small. Outside the room were more showers, but also small and without sink. The breakfast was okay but the offered fruits had passed their best days already. For 1 night after party okay, location great, but nothing amazing, just average.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the review. Our fruits come in fresh everyday. There is lots of bathrooms in other parts of the hostels. On the second and third floors and the size is in accordance with hostel size regulations. There's also a large make up area really close to your room to make it easy for the ladies to get ready. We hope you can come back again soon and see how you get on! :) Many thanks, Yvonne

91%

my stay at abbey court was brillant the room was very clean well secured freindly staff great location i shall be back

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff were very helpful on providing information and directions for things to see in and around Dublin, and the breakfasts were great: so many options!

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! It sounds like you were happy with your stay. We're delighted to hear it. Many thanks, Yvonne

86%

We had a double room next to what we believe was a dorm, but were unlucky to stay at the same time as stupid people who listened to loud music in the middle of the night... Luckily we had earplugs and got a good sleep :-) And the washbasin was so small we had trouble even to wash our teeth. Other than that everything was very good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for the review. There are extra bathrooms on all the floors and especially on the second and third. Here there are larger communal bathrooms with large sinks. That is a shame about the other guests not respecting our rules of being quiet during the night. We have staff to patrol the building to stop this, especially when it's busy. We also encourage guests to speak to us when there are problems. Many thanks and hopefully your stay is more pleasant next time. Yvonne

86%

I stayed previously and the shower I used would not allow me to regulate the water temperture. I have now discovefred that there are a lot of other shows where I can do just that!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Of course there is :) We hope you were happy with everything else. Many thanks, Yvonne

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(258 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback