Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Abbey Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jun 2017
6.0

The main concern of my staying at Abbey Hostel is the security. The location is not great; I feel like staying at the ghetto area, even I feel the whole Genoa is a ghetto city. I did not feel secured when walking at night, even when in a day. There were two persons near the hostel asked me some money to buy cigarettes and I felt scared about it. The city smells bad too. The hostel itself is comfortable, the staff are friendly & helpful, the room is comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Greece, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
7.4

Very helpful staff and central location. I would have liked if we could get one locker each person because there was one for each bed anyway; just for more security. The common area was lovely!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
26th May 2017
9.4

Great hostel, the area can be a bit intimidating at first but it's fine. Top bunks did have no walls though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2017
6.6

This more than a chill-out hostel, it's a mega dead hostel. Was lucky to meet a couple of English speaking travellers to hang out with whilst there, but others may not be as lucky. Positives: The staff were great, although grumpy if any noise is made anywhere beyond midnight. The beds themselves are fine. Negatives - almost no one around except Italians who seem to live there, 4 bed dorm was never full, common room is mostly inhabited by Italian speakers. Not great for solo travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th May 2017
10.0

Very good hostel, brilliant location and good atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
8th May 2017
6.6

I mean this hostel is on a dodgy part of town!! Do NOT come here on your own as it's all dingy alleyways even in daytime it isn't great. Hostel has good big lockers, bathroom was clean and wifi was good too! Other than that facilities are basic and they only have washing machine so you need to hang out your laundry from wet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
9.7

I had a great time meeting people at the hostel and the staff was also very kind and helpful. Bedrooms were bright and clean and the bathrooms were well maintained. If Joanna is working sign up for her amazing cooking. Breakfasts are a little sparse on choice, but will tie you over until a great baguette somewhere on the street. Common area a little small if you need to do work or call home. Overall I would definately go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd May 2017
8.6

The hostel itself was nice, the room was clean and we liked the big window. Staff was friendly and could always help us with our questions. Only thing was that the area is a little bit "sketchy", so at night it's best to be aware of where you're going.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
3.4

Absolutely awful location in a scary alley way. It smells disgusting inside like actually gross and have to hold out breathe as we walk through the reception to our room The receptionist was telling us it's haunted and loads of ghosts, like ok thanks for scaryinf us. Have to rent towels It has made us realise how wrong reviews can be online and not to trust them. We shared a bed at night because we were so scared in this hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, We are sorry for your disconfort. Our hostel is located next to the train station and if you follow the directions on our website or hostelworld you can find the hostel with ease and without passing in scary areas. we are sorry if you had any problems but we assure you that our staff works every day to guarantee maximum cleaningness. The ghost stories have the purpose of entertaining our guests but if they scared you so much we are sorry again. The towels are a convenient extra service that we provide for 1.5€. the rented towel can be kept for the duration of the stay. Only guests have access to the hostel after the ending of check-in time, outside people don't have acess to the hostel. I hope this shows you our committment to guarantee your security as a guest. Regards

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Apr 2017
7.4

Good hostel, safe and clean. Not a lot of atmosphere but that might be because of the time we went. The location was the worst part but that's normal for hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.