X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Abercorn House Hostel Reviews

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2416 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Pros- people that stay there are super friendly. Kitchen is awesome Cons-If it's a heatwave the rooms are a sauna. Also doors slam shut which is a pain.


51%

What was good about this place was the 24 hour reception desk! What was bad: constant slamming of doors, the lack of free wifi (it costs 1 pound per hour!), the coldness of the place. The staff were basically very brisk. I would say it was 'okay' for its price--nothing to recommend really.


69%

Staff behind the desk got into a fight with the guy in front of me over the washing machines, told the guest, 'I'll take you outside and mess you up.' Hostel was clean and price ok, but the desk staff was the worst I've ever experienced. I will not be back.


89%

Great facilities at the hostel: kitchen and showers on every floor. Separate toilets for ladies/men were great and clean. TV room/outdoors area good to hang out. Room was spacious, clean and organized, but the minifridge was very noisy, door lock was way too noisy. Great value for the money especially for the location. Reception staff that welcomed us was kinda rude but other staff were nice. Expensive wifi (1 pound per hour). Got EE 4G data for £20 at King's Mall.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Rooms were fairly clean, bathrooms sometimes not so much. Especially as some toilets didn't flush. Doors are very loud, so it's difficult to sleep without earplugs. Apart from that, very good value for money and the location is unbeatable. I would definitely recommend this hostel.


89%

Was at hostel with my wife for Marxism festival. First thing that struck me was the sheer cleanliness of the place (very much appreciated), each floor having about three kitchens and one or two ladies and gents shared toilets/showers, all kept clean throughout the day. The room itself was a good size with fridge, cupboard, drawers, table, two chairs with plates/bowls and some cutlery. Internal shop prices very good. Only slight criticism is that they should make clear how to order fresh towels.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

really nice hostel. near underground station. we had a double room with toilet and shower. good quality

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Everything was okay. There were only two cons: other guests smoked weed and the building next to the hostel was demolished by workers (and that was noisy)

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Me and my companion stayed here for a week, and though in general the stay was okay, there are several peculiarities they have saved money on. Showers stay on for only 15 seconds, nothing to hang clothes on while showering, toasters don't work, and the cleaning staff simply throw everything on the floor, making the bed, and then leaving everything in a mess. Why would they even go in every second day and make your bed? Internet costs a pound per hour. The doors are very noisy and hard to open.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

What a super place to stay.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel is located very close to the tube and is very clean, which is great. The walls are paper thin, though, they advertise internet access and then sell it for a pound per hour, but have no computers with free access. There are also no hooks or shelves in the showers to hang one's clothing. The worst part is the kitchens - there are no tables or chairs and no dishes. It is quite unlikely for people to "accidentally" carry around pots, pans and knives when traveling...

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

The guys at the desk weren't unfriendly but they often didn't know what I was saying but I am Scottish. Construction noise was intense in the daytime. Definitely would go again though.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Hammersmith now has great pubs and restaurants 2 minutes from Abercorn House, that is itself not far for humping bangs from the underground, making an easy, quick stopover from Heathrow.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Beds desperatly need to be changed they are broken!!!

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

I spend there a long weekend for 4 nights in a double bed room. The size of the room was ok, a little bit dirty and not really finished yet, as the hostel seemed to be still in the building process. The rest was quite clean and also very new. The atmosphere was rather hotel than hostel, but perfect for a weekend as a pair. The location in Hammersmith is near the Tube Station and you can get to Central London within 20 minutes from your room.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

No free wifi. Clean. Many middle aged/ older people. Friendly staff.


89%

Had a great stay. Unsure about these bad reviews. I've stayed in many hostels and this was probably one of the best. Yes there was noise after 9am next door as there are building works going on but this is out of their control. Fridge/long mirror was a great addition to the room as was having our own plates/cutlery. No 'tea/coffee' so could sell a small bag of tea/sugar and milk for a few pound for short stays for us tea addicts? Nowhere to hang/put things in shower. But very clean! Recommended!

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Lovely being close to Hammersmith and the bridge over the river. Was bigger than I expected and for our experience was ran more like a budget hotel. No complaints

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great overnight stay. Close to tube and more than adequate. Thanks guys :)


71%

The hostel is good value for money and good transport connections. An ok place to stay overnight but not really for hanging out. The room was ok. Toilets were not flushing all the time. An easy but big improvement in the shower would be a hook where you could hang your clothes/towel. There was a loud construction site behind the window but they weren't working in the morning because I visited on a weekend. I could hear the other visitors's noises and occasional door banging, so needed earplugs.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(78 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback