X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Abercorn House Hostel Reviews

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2310 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Brilliant location. Staff were very helpful. Everything is very clean. Showers were great. Very happy.

  • 1st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

the atmosphere of this hostel wasn't very warm and the receptionist wasn't very amiable!!


83%

Grea hostel and in a great location, a very posh and quiet neighbourhood. Only 5 minutes of underground to get to the heart of London. Very clean and with lots of facilities. The only thing that we weren't that happy about, was that they don't accept credit cards, and at least for Argentinian people, that's a huge disadvantage (because of some new regulation in our country, it is not that easy to get other currencies). Despite of this, it's a very recomendable hostel.

  • 29th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Very convenient location, pleasant staff.

  • 29th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

The staff were rude and not helpful. The doors bang throughout the night and it wakes you up. The beds are terrible you can feel all the springs. Would not recommend this. The staff were not helpful for tourists


63%

Good things- reasonably priced snack counter, good locks on doors, kitchen and small fridge in room, prices and laundry facilities Bad things- rooms are all white and very plain (feels like you're in hospital), LOUD 24/7 with slamming doors and people outside of our window loudly talking until 3am. The doors are thin and the tile echoes everthing. This made our stay miserable. Lastly cleanliness; found many, many stray hairs in sheets and dust bunny on floor, food stains on one wall.

  • 27th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The staff was mostly friendly, but I wouldn't stay on the first floor again- it was really noisy all night and there was no sound proofing. Wifi is a pound an hour although they ran out of vouchers for a couple days. For it's location, it could be a cheaper stay- it's a solid 20 minutes into London


37%

The Hostel is far from the centre, but it has good options of public transport. The bedroom is ok, but they use a very stinking product to clean it! There are a hundred of kitchens in the hostel, but all useless because they expect that the guests will bring saucepans in the luggage! So there are stove, micro-wave, fridge, but NO utensils! They charged us the 10% deposit again!

  • 25th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

i like it:)

  • 25th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Average stay, neither great nor terrible. Slightly expensive for what it was.


89%

Very clean and great location. The doors were heavy and banged (due to fire doors). Smoke from people smoking outside drifted inside, which was not good for my asthma. Overall very happy with my stay.


77%

No WiFi in the room. Showers were not very comfortable. Went out to quickly plus not really a place to put your clothes. Aside from this everything was great.


77%

The room is clean and spacious. The staff were helpful and they were willing to offer help. Overall the stay was nice except the bathroom. The water from the shower was too small that we could not take a proper bath. The ventilation in the bathroom was also broken.

  • 22nd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I got upgraded to a double bed, private bathroom room which was really nice! However it was a little bit loud at night.


97%

I was originally dubious about staying in any hostel however my experience over the past 5 days has changed that. The staff on the counter were cold to begin with but warmed to us by the end of our stay giving us a friendly hello and goodbye each day. The room was used with cracks in the paint but that's where the problems end. It was immaculate. The floors were clean, bedding was pure white and clean. The bathroom had a fantastic high powered shower and was very modern. The hostel was warm.

  • 20th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Men partying, shouting, singing, banging, all night every night in room 107. Just when they go quiet a cleaner decided to mop the floors ar 6.30am. Kitchens look nice oon first viewing but toasters and cookers didn't work. BAD, BAD, BAD!

  • 20th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

I chose to stay at Abercorn House Hostel as it seemed to be good value for money. I am pleased to say it was better than I expected. The staff were friendly and helpful, and gave me a room with two beds for the duration of my stay (5 nights) for no extra cost, even though I had only booked a single room. Floors, toilets and and kitchens were regularly cleaned. Facilities were good, and it wasn't too noisy. The location was also brilliant - just a few minutes walk away from Hammersmith station.

  • 19th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The wifi is paid, the staff is really grumpy and the hostel is strange... Empty, no fun... It is very clean and very close to the metro station, but I wouldn't stay there again...


89%

Great hostel! Very clean and easy to find. Loved it. I would definitely recommend this to anyone traveling on a budget.


74%

The hostel is in a good position and the underground is at 5 minutes, is clean and enough comfortable. The staff could be more friendly!!! In summary I counsel this hostel!!

  • 17th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(1189 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback