X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abercorn House Hostel Reviews

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
2901 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

The place is very central. The worker were nice, but the lift do not work and I one bathroom is just not enough for over 20 people. Please fix that. Apart from that it was okay.

  • 25th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The evening staff were particularly rude. If you have question be prepared to be left waiting at the office. A sullen looking man knows you are there but will ignore you for several minutes whilst amiably conversing with his colleague or going for a smoke. I paid for a 'hotspot' internet card which had clearly been used. The staff refused to give my money back until 2 days later despite proving that it would not work. I find the staff's' 'power games' petty and unprofessional.


69%

- rooms too small - walls are thin - doors are closing very loud, disturbing other guests - very hard to get a good sleep - not recommended for a long stay, only 1-2 nights

  • 21st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Only stayed one night and left early in the morning,


63%

The location depends so much on the fact what are you planning to do. Good connections from Hammersmith underground station to everywhere in London. Room (twin deluxe ensuite) was ok, quite clean & beds were good. For longer stay it's nice to know there was a fridge in our room.


69%

You get what you pay. Good location, twin room was ok, although the dishes in the room were dirty, but very clean toilets and showers.

  • 10th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

The only positive is that is close to a metro station. The beds screech, one can feel the springs in the old mattresses, no free internet (not even in common areas), expensive internet service, room was "cleaned" leaving all the trash in the room. Few bathrooms for the amount of bunk beds led to overcrowding and waits. People smoke on the emergency exit and the smoke gets in the rooms. Windows don't seal well. Staff does minimum possible, on the edge of rudeness. My conclusion, stay away.


49%

The counter staff were quite rude and abrupt , gave the impression that i was naught but more money for the business. I showered 4 times in the hostel, each time at a different time and in a different location/cubical and each shower was cold, luke warm at best, leaving me cold and shivering. To charge for wifi in todays day and age is just ludicrous and only serves the purpose of filling the owners pocket more, yet when wifi was purchased the speed was slow.


83%

We stayed in a twin ensuite room on the 4th (top) floor. The room was tiny but clean. The issues I had were that there was no hot water in our room so the ensuite was almost useless as we had to shower in the shared facilities. The 2nd issue was that the lift didn't work so we had to hike up and down lot of stairs with luggage. Even without luggage it was a lot and I'm quite fit! The fridge in the room was a nice surprise though


34%

The dirtiest and the most uncomfortable hostel we have ever been to....Poor slow internet connection for 1 pound per hour!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your comment, our hostel is one of the cleanest hostel in London . also we clean 3 times a day kitchens bathrooms and also at night as well. we are sorry that you had bad experience but what you saying is not true, and about the wifi the connection is strong and we do not have complaining about that , we are asking hostelworld..com to check this review please

40%

Internet only available for purchase (5hrs = 5₤)! Reception not service-oriented or helpful, didn´t care much. Seemed like a dorm for workers, only a few tourists there. Common showers full of fungus! Lift + heating didn´t work. Our room had the charm of an indian hospital. Awful bed, hard springs sticking out. Noisy in the evenings when people used the kitchens + you could hear the people in the rooms next door talk. The worst hostel we have ever been to! Book sthg else instead!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
we appreciate your comment. we are sorry that you had bad experience in London. but our hostel is the most cleanest hostel in London as you can check the last reviews also our receptionist . they are always making sure they are doing bes service, but if you book a shearing bed then you must accept al kind of nationality's . also about the wifi it says NOT free . ,also the heating will be on from 01 of October from the UK ,

74%

Hotel is well situated and quite big. The biggest problem was lift which was not working and there was none to fix it. It looks like they want to save some money on that. The other thing I didnt like was that there is no free wifi. You have to pay 1 GBP for an hour. I wouldn't stay there just because of that


77%

The stay was very comfortable and we really enjoyed it. We had the luxurious twin. It was a nice basic clean room. We really appreciated the clean bathroom. However, the room was next to the coffee shop and near the computer and breakfast room, which was quite noisy due to the thin walls. The staff was not very personal and welcoming. They just gave you the key and gave no further explanation about time of breakfast and check out or other facilities. Nonetheless, our experience was very good!


80%

Excellent location. VERY NOISY- but very clean. Need to put a few signs up saying PLEASE BE CONSIDERATE TO OTHER PEOPLE AND KEEP THE NOISE DOWN!!!! Lloyd Bowen

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

People arriving late to the hostel show no respect what so ever so it's really noisy 24/7. No everyday cleaning which sometimes is needed (garbage, maybe a new towel), the fire alarm went off 3 times during 4 days and it kept going on and off. Got no explanation to it.

  • 10th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is clean and good, but waiting until 2:00PM for check-in is frustrating. IMO, wifi should also be free of charge for customers; or at least it would be much easier if the wifi charge is included in the room rates.

  • 9th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ethiopia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

The hostel is ok, but I am not fussy. Other people might find it a bit too basic. It's nothing special, the price is decent for London, though. What I find totally ridiculous and unacceptable, however, is the fact that they offer no free wi-fi. Instead they sell you rather expensive internet access vouchers. That would have been all right 10 or 15 years ago but it feels cheapskate and totally outdated today. Come on, this is London, not some village in Anatolia.


86%

Very good Location, fair Price! I would go there again!


60%

Long termer in our 4 bed dorm, had his personal belongings set up throughout the room, felt like I was intruding


54%

The cleaning staff is friendly and helpful also they do their job quite well. But the front staff will literally make you feel like you dont exist. You ask them a question and they will look up when they feel like. Bathrooms have lukewarm water and freezing cold water. You get just a second to enjoy hot water. Its a little shady because you have to keep moving inside to find your room and sometimes it would be dark. The doors are the most irritating thing , moving heavy luggage is a challenge.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(48 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback