X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Abercorn House Hostel Reviews

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
2436 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Hammersmith now has great pubs and restaurants 2 minutes from Abercorn House, that is itself not far for humping bangs from the underground, making an easy, quick stopover from Heathrow.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Beds desperatly need to be changed they are broken!!!

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

I spend there a long weekend for 4 nights in a double bed room. The size of the room was ok, a little bit dirty and not really finished yet, as the hostel seemed to be still in the building process. The rest was quite clean and also very new. The atmosphere was rather hotel than hostel, but perfect for a weekend as a pair. The location in Hammersmith is near the Tube Station and you can get to Central London within 20 minutes from your room.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

No free wifi. Clean. Many middle aged/ older people. Friendly staff.


89%

Had a great stay. Unsure about these bad reviews. I've stayed in many hostels and this was probably one of the best. Yes there was noise after 9am next door as there are building works going on but this is out of their control. Fridge/long mirror was a great addition to the room as was having our own plates/cutlery. No 'tea/coffee' so could sell a small bag of tea/sugar and milk for a few pound for short stays for us tea addicts? Nowhere to hang/put things in shower. But very clean! Recommended!

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Lovely being close to Hammersmith and the bridge over the river. Was bigger than I expected and for our experience was ran more like a budget hotel. No complaints

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great overnight stay. Close to tube and more than adequate. Thanks guys :)


71%

The hostel is good value for money and good transport connections. An ok place to stay overnight but not really for hanging out. The room was ok. Toilets were not flushing all the time. An easy but big improvement in the shower would be a hook where you could hang your clothes/towel. There was a loud construction site behind the window but they weren't working in the morning because I visited on a weekend. I could hear the other visitors's noises and occasional door banging, so needed earplugs.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I realy didnt know what to expect as looked at mixed reviews but was realy pleased on the whole.location was excellant and only 2 or 3 mibs to the tube station.my daughter and i stayed in a delux ensuite room that whilst fairly basic decor was recently decorated and clean and perfectly adequate.we were on one of the shortest corridors so didnt realy hear much noise.alot of building work in area but where in london isnt there.fridge in room and kitchens very handy.ideal for a short break.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

we stayed there for three nights and there were heavy constructions going on right next to the hostel starting at 8 in the morning, at least 90db. Also, something was wrong with the heater on our floor that it was unbearable hot and there was no chance of air circulation through the window. Apart from the bird poop on the inner side of the window and a bundle of hair in our fresh towels the cleanliness was okay. Location was pretty good though.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

We like to stay here when we're in london for a cheap and convenient double bed :) they let us have a shower before we could check in, yes the doors are a little loud and at least you know they clean the place. It's good value for money and nice and close to the tube and bus station. I've stayed in much much worse. Thanks again abercorn house :)


86%

I keep going back and recommend it to everyone


71%

The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms, showers and kitchens were plentiful and also very clean. However, there were no lockers to store things which made it difficult to store valuables but would stay here again!

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We were pleasantly surprised with the hostel, next time we're coming to London we're coming to this hostel again!

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very conveniently located next to the Hammersmith tube station. Nice rooms and bathrooms well managed.


66%

First off: The hostel was very cheap, so don't expect too much. The staff seemed totally bored and wasn't particularly attentive. We found it a bit odd that there were unisex toilets and even bathrooms. The location of the hostel is pretty good, it is about a 3 minute walk from Hammersmith station. We did not notice the smell of bleach/cleaner like mentioned in the other comments. The doors bang pretty loudly when closed though (earplugs are your friend). We'd stay here again because it's cheap.


54%

I stayed here once arriving after a long flight and booked a solo room, the room was average, clean and nice to crash. The hostle was so loud! Heavy construction is going on, a junior high school is next door and all the doors heavily slam throughout the hostle, paper thin walls. There isn't much of an atomopshere more motel feeling. Kitchens are not able to be used as they do not support you with any cooking utensils! It was nice for an overnight crash but I left ASAP. :)


63%

The showers were generally dirty and the staff allowed smoking on the stairways in the building, which was a little unpleasant. The hostel is right across the street from the Hammersmith underground station, which was superbly convenient. It wasn't a bad stay.


77%

All the doors are extremely noisy ; they keep slamming. There could be more washbasins

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place to stay to get some quality time with someone you love. To take à step back from everyday stuff and relax. Clean rooms with comfortable beds and personal fridge, got a good night sleep there that I needed.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(80 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback