X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abercorn House Hostel Reviews

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2778 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Only stayed 1 night but absolutely NO complaints.Friendly staff always available.Excellent place to stay in London

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Good value for money. Great location and super clean. A bit noisy in the mornings as the super thorough cleaners get going and the walls are thin. Our only big issue with the place is that it doesn't supply any pots or pans or basic supplies at all so you have to get creative with the oven and microwave or buy your own. There also aren't any tea towels to dry the dishes. They do offer nice towels for your showers and have a nice little garden out the back. Overall, happy to visit again. Thx


66%

There was mold all over the shower rooms. Walls are very thin.


86%

Arrived late at night and told we were being moved elsewhere due to maintenance work. At no extra cost we spent our weekend in a huge, well kept apartment just a 5 minute walk from Oxford Street. After worrying at first, having seen some negative reviews with a similar story, we were pleasantly surprised - definitely worth the 45 minute wait for the taxi from Abercorn to the apartment.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is very good. 5 minutes away from the Tube and not far from the main turistic things. It was always clean, they changed the sheets every two days. The best thing was that we had a refrigerator on the room and there were lot of kitchens in every floor. The bad thing was that there wasn't any pots, so you could just heat already prepared food. I would really recommend the hostel, it has a very good value for money.


74%

the hostel was nice, clean and comfortable. the only thing that annoyed me a little was the noise as apparently the walls are very thin and the doors close quite loudly. the rooms are small and we we're missing chairs and a table but otherwise all was fine. the terrace is pretty when the sun shines!

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Stayed in twin room for one night. Room very clean, comfortable beds, and was as good as a typical room in the cheaper hotel chains - which cost double or triple the price. Person on reception when we arrived could have been friendlier / more professional. Really liked the closeness to hammersmith train and bus station, the Apollo theatre, as well as restaurants, bars and shops. Would definitely consider staying here again on any future trip to London.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

2 minutes walk to subway and busstation. Lots of nice pubs and restaurant nearby. Ten minute walk to The Themes. Lies on the best subwayline for all the popular sights and takes you directly to the citys center very fast. Good and fast connections to all the airports. Cheap but VERY clean and spacious rooms. Excellent toilets, kitchen and showerfacilities. The beds were great !!! The negative: wifi did cost money and some guest during my stay made alot of noise in hallway. Otherways: VERY GOOD!!


66%

Good value for money.


77%

I stayed at Abercorn House Hostel for three nights in a double bed room and I liked it. The room was clean and it had a fridge where you can put your food in case your are like me and like to buy things to eat at the supermarket while travelling. It was a bit noisy and some girls tried to get in in our room but they were probably drunk. It is not the hostel fault that people don`t respect the others. The location is not the best but there are four lines connecting Hammersmith.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Was very pleasantly surprised at the room upon arrival. It looked recently done up and spotless, which I wasnt expecting at 25 quid each in london. Only problem we had was that we had a door directly outside our room which was frequently used and slammed very loudly, along with very thin walls this lead to a sleepless night. Also a little bit far from central london although very close and handy for the tube it was a 20-30 min journey to attractions in the centre


100%

Abercorn House is a excellent hostel. I stayed in a twin en-suite room and it was very comfortable with a nice bathroom. The staff at the reception are very friendly and helpful. On previous visits I have stayed in the dorms and also double room with shared bathroom. These rooms are also very nice and the shared bathrooms were clean and plentiful and so are the kitchens. I would highly reccommend Abercorn house hostel. highly reccomend Abercor


97%

On arrival we were told we had an upgrade to a twin room with an ensuit, which was brilliant news and the room was right near the reception, simple to find.. However at night the noise was very loud as it is a 24 hour receptions and we often got woken up by staff and others. However the room itself was good, fridge and wardrobe and the ensuit facilities were clean, the beds were also comfortable for the one night that we stayed and very good for location and price :)

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff were rude but place was great would stay there again, just don't expect much in the way of a freindly face.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean but small (max 6m2) room with terribly unconfortable double bed. Seriously you must change the materace! This one in room no 14 is too soft. Backs hurt us now :( Staff very friendly and helpfull. Thank you.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Lots of comments point out rude staff. I can only say the best things about both guys I talked to. Nice, hospitable, decent, helpful. Great Plus points for a clean room. Minus points for cold and noise isolation - it is nonexistent, if people in the opposite room talk to each other, you can hear them as if they were standing right next to you. Doors cannot be closed in a quiet way. But - this is a hostel, not a five star hotel, and for that you get a very good value.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

We were quite disappointed with our stay: very noisy due to the very thin walls, very uncomfortable, old and too short bed and nobody really cared. Pitifully we would not recommend this hostel.


83%

cons: some things in the room were broken (window wouldn't shut properly, ladder for bunk bed was broken). the showers were clean but smelled bad it was quite noisy, but mostly on the week-end, when music was playing outside pros: the room was cleaned every other day watercooker in the kitchen they provided us with towels, cutlery and plates and there was a fridge in the room the hostel was pretty close to the tubestation (5 mins walk) and there are a LOT of shops near it.


66%

Cold floors! But the coffe you can buy is awesome!


37%

I have been in many places in London but this is the worst. The staff (reception) are really really rude. They are not going to help you and if they have to, It is going to be in a really rough way. You have to pay for the internet and it is ridicolously slow. For that price, there are lots of options better than this one. I would never go back again. I have been there 2 weeks and I really wanted to go out that place.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(76 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback