X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abercorn House Hostel Reviews

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
2479 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 66%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Everything was okay. There were only two cons: other guests smoked weed and the building next to the hostel was demolished by workers (and that was noisy)

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Me and my companion stayed here for a week, and though in general the stay was okay, there are several peculiarities they have saved money on. Showers stay on for only 15 seconds, nothing to hang clothes on while showering, toasters don't work, and the cleaning staff simply throw everything on the floor, making the bed, and then leaving everything in a mess. Why would they even go in every second day and make your bed? Internet costs a pound per hour. The doors are very noisy and hard to open.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

What a super place to stay.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel is located very close to the tube and is very clean, which is great. The walls are paper thin, though, they advertise internet access and then sell it for a pound per hour, but have no computers with free access. There are also no hooks or shelves in the showers to hang one's clothing. The worst part is the kitchens - there are no tables or chairs and no dishes. It is quite unlikely for people to "accidentally" carry around pots, pans and knives when traveling...

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

The guys at the desk weren't unfriendly but they often didn't know what I was saying but I am Scottish. Construction noise was intense in the daytime. Definitely would go again though.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Hammersmith now has great pubs and restaurants 2 minutes from Abercorn House, that is itself not far for humping bangs from the underground, making an easy, quick stopover from Heathrow.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Beds desperatly need to be changed they are broken!!!

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

I spend there a long weekend for 4 nights in a double bed room. The size of the room was ok, a little bit dirty and not really finished yet, as the hostel seemed to be still in the building process. The rest was quite clean and also very new. The atmosphere was rather hotel than hostel, but perfect for a weekend as a pair. The location in Hammersmith is near the Tube Station and you can get to Central London within 20 minutes from your room.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

No free wifi. Clean. Many middle aged/ older people. Friendly staff.


89%

Had a great stay. Unsure about these bad reviews. I've stayed in many hostels and this was probably one of the best. Yes there was noise after 9am next door as there are building works going on but this is out of their control. Fridge/long mirror was a great addition to the room as was having our own plates/cutlery. No 'tea/coffee' so could sell a small bag of tea/sugar and milk for a few pound for short stays for us tea addicts? Nowhere to hang/put things in shower. But very clean! Recommended!

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Lovely being close to Hammersmith and the bridge over the river. Was bigger than I expected and for our experience was ran more like a budget hotel. No complaints

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great overnight stay. Close to tube and more than adequate. Thanks guys :)


71%

The hostel is good value for money and good transport connections. An ok place to stay overnight but not really for hanging out. The room was ok. Toilets were not flushing all the time. An easy but big improvement in the shower would be a hook where you could hang your clothes/towel. There was a loud construction site behind the window but they weren't working in the morning because I visited on a weekend. I could hear the other visitors's noises and occasional door banging, so needed earplugs.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I realy didnt know what to expect as looked at mixed reviews but was realy pleased on the whole.location was excellant and only 2 or 3 mibs to the tube station.my daughter and i stayed in a delux ensuite room that whilst fairly basic decor was recently decorated and clean and perfectly adequate.we were on one of the shortest corridors so didnt realy hear much noise.alot of building work in area but where in london isnt there.fridge in room and kitchens very handy.ideal for a short break.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

we stayed there for three nights and there were heavy constructions going on right next to the hostel starting at 8 in the morning, at least 90db. Also, something was wrong with the heater on our floor that it was unbearable hot and there was no chance of air circulation through the window. Apart from the bird poop on the inner side of the window and a bundle of hair in our fresh towels the cleanliness was okay. Location was pretty good though.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

We like to stay here when we're in london for a cheap and convenient double bed :) they let us have a shower before we could check in, yes the doors are a little loud and at least you know they clean the place. It's good value for money and nice and close to the tube and bus station. I've stayed in much much worse. Thanks again abercorn house :)


86%

I keep going back and recommend it to everyone


71%

The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms, showers and kitchens were plentiful and also very clean. However, there were no lockers to store things which made it difficult to store valuables but would stay here again!

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We were pleasantly surprised with the hostel, next time we're coming to London we're coming to this hostel again!

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very conveniently located next to the Hammersmith tube station. Nice rooms and bathrooms well managed.


(1272 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback