X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Abercorn House Hostel Reviews

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2413 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Stayed in this hostel before and had a pleasant experience so we were happy to return for a second time. Was pleasantly surprised to see renovations done since our last visit but the quality of the rooms and facilities had majorly gone downhill. Our room didn't have a table, a chair, a working heater, a cupboard/wardrobe; not even a place to hang a coat. Our room looked dirty, the outside AND inside of our pillows and our bed was covered in hair. The showers were like garden sprinklers.

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

It would be better if we could have access to (at least) basic equipment to cook. The oven and the toaster didn't work and there were no pan and cauldron, so it's impossible to cook. The guy at the reception told us we must have ours, there are not a lot a people who travel with his own pans. The bathroom could have been cleaner. It felt more in an hotel than in a hostel, no atmosphere


43%

Hostel? This is not a hostel... come on! The have 3 or 4 kitchens but no utensils. Wanna cook? No pans, no dishes, no forks, knives. They do not have anything!!! Be aware! They have microwave and brand new stoves (I'm not impressed, given that they do not provide anything nobody uses them). If you are planning to hang out with other people or cook a nice dinner/lunch/breakfast/whatever, run away from this place. Internet is also expensive.

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very friendly staff, very clean, wonderful location, good value for money


100%

Excellent hostel. Very white and clean. You get towels, sheets, bed, basin WC and a quiet nights sleep.

  • 5th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Very clean, quiet, nice place and good value for the money. Located about 5 min walk from Hammersmith tube spot. Great hostel if you are looking for a quiet, safe, clean place to stay outside of the main city center.


74%

Very clean hostel - the atmosphere was more like a hotel though. Located near the underground station but the street was quiet and seemed a little dodgy at first. We booked two double rooms, both clean and good. Bathroom was decent too. KItchen facilities were pretty good. Staff had quite an indifferent attitude, and there was no hostel vibe - it just felt like a very clean simple hotel.


80%

Everything was fine in the hostel, up until the point they put a strange man in our room. It was very uncomfortable for us to have a man in our room with 3 other young girls, especially when the staff didn't even inform us.

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


23%

HORRIBLE!!! No Wi-Fi, really cold, smells too bad everywhere, crockroaches everywhere also in rooms, bad environment in general and really, really bad attention. Not recomendated at all!!!

  • 23rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

You get what you pay for! It's a cheap hostel with very simple not to clean rooms, but you can definitely cope. Also most bathrooms are not gender-specific, which I thought was really strange in the beginning, but actually not that bad. The staff was really nice and even lent my friend his Iphone charger, because she forgot to take an adapter. If you can overlook a little bit of dirt and the mixed bathrooms, it's definitely a nice and cheap place to stay in London!


74%

A nice hostel if you want to relax and get some rest. Also close to the underground.


80%

It's a nice place but just very basic. However I found it clean and tidy. There is quite a bit of noise but there was a large group of young men when we were there. Overall I was happy with my experience. It would be unrealistic to expect more for such a good price in such a central location.

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

We had no heating in the room (November) and no wifi


66%

doors banging at all times! d oors need to have gentle spring closers to eliminate the constant banging

  • 6th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

I spent one day in this hostel with my friend. Everything was fine except the wifi. The wifi is not free of charge. You need to pay for the wifi . The l


86%

Very nice hostel - extremely clean, and good location. Bit of noise at night, but it is London! Would definitely revisit. Only thing to note is that the left luggage facilities aren't the best - a locked shed outside of the hostel. However, I left my case and it was perfectly fine.

  • 5th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

hoste was clean,but it depend on what kind of people stay in. shower power is weak and I need hand shower, also they stop soon. this is very unconvinience. and light is turn off soon. I was schard..........

  • 3rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

You won't find cheaper private rooms in London. Not too close to the city center but only two minutes away from the tube station - really convenient! Walls are not too thik so you could hear people in other rooms speaking. And there were no blinds so the room was really bright in the morning. However, all those things are small compared to the average quality price of the stay :)


54%

The guys in the entrance were not welcoming at all. The water from the tap in the bathrooms and restrooms is hot so that you need to buy bottles of water to be able to drink anything when inside the hostel. A pretty good deal for an accomodation in London as it is cheap for this expensive city but the place is not very comfortable...


77%

super nice location and clean. But we had few problems: 1. you had to pay for the wifi, 2. the kitchen didnt have things to cook, so if you were planing to eat there you had to bring your own stuffs (pan, oil, etc, ect)3. We wanted to buy something in the hostal's store so we asked the girl at the reception. She said: OOOh dear! if its close, it's close... at the end she sold us one chocolate but firs, that was kinda rude and second PUT SOMETHING WHERE IT IS SAID THE SCHEDULE OF THE STORE!


(1238 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback