X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Abercorn House Hostel Reviews

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2419 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

This hostel is in an excellent location for Central London - Hammersmith tube is only a couple of minutes away (and that's being honest) and regular buses too. The rooms are bigger than I thought they would be and came with a wardrobe, table & chairs, side-table and a fridge as well as the standard double bed. I personally found the staff fine to deal with and friendly. The kitchens are basic with a microwave, toaster, kettle and sink to wash up in. However the banging from the doors is bad!


86%

Stayed in a 4 bed dorm. Now it's not your average style of hostel, but would recommend over other hostels in the area. Completely refurbished, very clean, great location and the rooms are of a decent size. Added bonus of fridge and wardrobes in the rooms, sheets and towels changed every 3 days, cutlery /crockery provided per room. If you're really looking for your typical 'backpacker, traveler' vibe this is sadly lacking, but if you want clean, central, fairly quiet place to stay, this is it.

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very good location, middle of Hammersmith - close to city bus station, underground and train station. Worked for me brilliantly. The hotel was clean; big room, with a big cupboard that has a mirror, fridge and quite comfortable bed. A little loud, even if hotel was on a side. The only problem I discovered were people who didn't know how to close doors and bang them at late hour. Beside that good place to stay and not to overpay for a night in London.

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Only 1 minute from Hammersmith tube station.

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Clean and good location, no lockers though in room, and no elevator to top floor if you have luggage. Staff at desk could do with customer service skill training, Non British


77%

Overall, it's a good place. Only five minutes walk to tube station. And there is a Tesco in the station building. It's convenient. We booked a twin room with shared bathroom for two nights. There are a table, a wardrobe and a fridge in the room. The toilets and bathroom are clean. But the microwave in the kitchen doesn't work... It's a quiet place at night and good for sleeping.

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good position, really quiet place, well connected with 3 underground lines and a bus station. Clean room, small but functional. Really useful the in room refrigerator.


40%

Staff very disrespectful and uneducated. Laugh on my face only because my english isn't perfect, which is natural, if it come from a foreigner. People who works with tourists should not do such a thing.


97%

In a quiet location yet close to Hammersmith - chose it to go to a show at the Apollo. Rooms clean and comfortable. Well equipped kitchen and friendly staff. Will certainly use again as great value for money.

  • 22nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


23%

Take care when receive your ticket your name is in because you can pay the room to another person. Horrible staff..worst never saw it.

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We regret that some customers give false reviews. Every customer should be responsible for his own bookings. If the customer changed his mind and cancelled the booking on the day, he 's charged 1 night cancellation fee. If customers disagree with terms and conditions, then they may blame the staff. Dear customers, please read terms and conditions before making any false references.

94%

The location, room equipment are very good ( wardrobe, refrigerator, dishes & cutlery). The toilet and shower as well as bedclothes (change almost every day) were very clean. Only one thinks it's the noisy door during closing last moment before end ( door touching jamb).


74%

It was a nice location, rooms ok, beds a bit worn out but ok. We think it will improve the standard a lot, if there had been the option of cold water in the showers and at the washbasin. Also it was strange that there was an electric cooker in the kitchen but none saucepans or frying pan. Normaly one does'nt travel with these things. We would have liked to be able to cook a meal. But altogether it was nice and we will defenalty consider staying at Aber Corne another time.

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It was really handy to have the little shop with fruit, drinks and sandwiches by the front desk. The single room was great, very comfortable bed and very clean.


77%

Very comfortable beds, good modern showers & toilets although the showers only provide water in 20 second bursts which was annoying. No wifi was an issue.


49%

It was very old in the room, no tv. And there were bugs. Unfriendly or indifferent staff.

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

I've been there only for two nights but I could appreciate the comfortable room on the first floor. Atmosphere was calm, nice having a fridgein the room. Less than 5 minutes walking from Hammersmith, it is 20 minutes far from Victoria (by metro) and it is also provided of every basic service around the hostel (supermarket, money exchange, etc). Weird shower system but bathroom was clean. Really recommended for short staying.

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

This hostel was odd and a bit hospital like. However if you're looking for a cheap alternative to a hotel it would be good. Really clean and brand new facilities it seemed. Good location, close to 4 tube lines and nice safe area


80%

For the money, this was a tremendous experience. Clean rooms and restrooms and a very good location. The only two complaints I would have is that the bunk-beds were very creaky, and the bathrooms did not have hooks next to the shower stalls to hang your towel. Other than that 5-Stars!

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Deluxe Double Bed room was very nice and clean. It's value for money for sure. I would recommend it to everyone and I would go there next time. Location is great- really close to Hammersmith tube station.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, very good beds, a nice tv room. The room was not very clean; lot of dust under the beds


(1240 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback