X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abercorn House Hostel Reviews

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
2475 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 66%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Big hostel, enough kitchens, toilets and showers available. Rooms were clean and hostel in general as well, but people should leave the bathrooms cleaner when they have used them. Good location, very close to the tube station (Hammersmith) and not too far from the city center. Luggage storage, tv room, laundry etc. everything you need is offered. Breakfast would be nice.


94%

Very clean and also helpfull and friendly employees

  • 12th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

I cannot feel the welcome from the staff. Every time I passed through the reception, I was ignored by the stuff who pretended not seeing anyone. Apart from that, I do like the location and other attributes of this hostel.

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel is in good location 3 mins from tube. Also has a corner with some malls and bars next to station.Price was good and facilities kind of new. Not very cosy, but simple, reminding hospital. Shared facilities -showers, separate female showers only in 1st floor. There were some weird young ppl in the corridors. Someone knocking, smoking, felt a bit not safe to walk around in the evening. Receptionist told wrong information about tube working hours & night bus numbers, no idea why to lie...


80%

Very good hostel, i have no to complain at all...

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

We had a great weekend! The hostel is super near the Tube Station (a very big station with shops, bar, ...). It is cheap and clean. We had a twin ensuite and we found it very well (hot water and shampoo). We asked for the hairdiver and they give us for free (€ 5 as caution). But please: change bedclothes everyday!

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Possibly in the showers put up some towel hooks to hang your gear on. Otherwise us oldies had a great time in an excellent hostel. Well be back. Cheers The Weirs


20%

Unacceptable

  • 7th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

This hostel is in an excellent location for Central London - Hammersmith tube is only a couple of minutes away (and that's being honest) and regular buses too. The rooms are bigger than I thought they would be and came with a wardrobe, table & chairs, side-table and a fridge as well as the standard double bed. I personally found the staff fine to deal with and friendly. The kitchens are basic with a microwave, toaster, kettle and sink to wash up in. However the banging from the doors is bad!


86%

Stayed in a 4 bed dorm. Now it's not your average style of hostel, but would recommend over other hostels in the area. Completely refurbished, very clean, great location and the rooms are of a decent size. Added bonus of fridge and wardrobes in the rooms, sheets and towels changed every 3 days, cutlery /crockery provided per room. If you're really looking for your typical 'backpacker, traveler' vibe this is sadly lacking, but if you want clean, central, fairly quiet place to stay, this is it.

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very good location, middle of Hammersmith - close to city bus station, underground and train station. Worked for me brilliantly. The hotel was clean; big room, with a big cupboard that has a mirror, fridge and quite comfortable bed. A little loud, even if hotel was on a side. The only problem I discovered were people who didn't know how to close doors and bang them at late hour. Beside that good place to stay and not to overpay for a night in London.

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Only 1 minute from Hammersmith tube station.

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Clean and good location, no lockers though in room, and no elevator to top floor if you have luggage. Staff at desk could do with customer service skill training, Non British


77%

Overall, it's a good place. Only five minutes walk to tube station. And there is a Tesco in the station building. It's convenient. We booked a twin room with shared bathroom for two nights. There are a table, a wardrobe and a fridge in the room. The toilets and bathroom are clean. But the microwave in the kitchen doesn't work... It's a quiet place at night and good for sleeping.

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good position, really quiet place, well connected with 3 underground lines and a bus station. Clean room, small but functional. Really useful the in room refrigerator.


40%

Staff very disrespectful and uneducated. Laugh on my face only because my english isn't perfect, which is natural, if it come from a foreigner. People who works with tourists should not do such a thing.


97%

In a quiet location yet close to Hammersmith - chose it to go to a show at the Apollo. Rooms clean and comfortable. Well equipped kitchen and friendly staff. Will certainly use again as great value for money.

  • 22nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


23%

Take care when receive your ticket your name is in because you can pay the room to another person. Horrible staff..worst never saw it.

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We regret that some customers give false reviews. Every customer should be responsible for his own bookings. If the customer changed his mind and cancelled the booking on the day, he 's charged 1 night cancellation fee. If customers disagree with terms and conditions, then they may blame the staff. Dear customers, please read terms and conditions before making any false references.

94%

The location, room equipment are very good ( wardrobe, refrigerator, dishes & cutlery). The toilet and shower as well as bedclothes (change almost every day) were very clean. Only one thinks it's the noisy door during closing last moment before end ( door touching jamb).


74%

It was a nice location, rooms ok, beds a bit worn out but ok. We think it will improve the standard a lot, if there had been the option of cold water in the showers and at the washbasin. Also it was strange that there was an electric cooker in the kitchen but none saucepans or frying pan. Normaly one does'nt travel with these things. We would have liked to be able to cook a meal. But altogether it was nice and we will defenalty consider staying at Aber Corne another time.

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(1268 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback