X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Abercorn House Hostel Reviews

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
2295 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

A little bit dirty and personal was no so good, but in overall is a good hsotel.


66%

the staff not very friendly, hiding behind the protecting window is a bit too much. very noisy in the morning, the showers are the worst, no pressure and or too hot or too cold

  • 13th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

It was a very clean hostel and the staff were friendly. Hammersmith is a convenient location as its on 3 tube lines. It was weird that men and women shared the same bathrooms and showers though. Please note that I wish to leave this review anonymously. Thank you.


49%

Our room vas terribly bad(number 25). We asked to change it, they said no. It wasn't clean and there was no regular cleaning(maybe one-two day). There was a good thing also. We were one day late, I requested to pay one day less, they accepted. I must thank him. I can refer this hostel to very young and single persons, but not others.


83%

Cleaners use very stinking cleaning supplies. Windows were unable for full opening.

  • 13th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Very clean and excellent location. Great facilities. Reception staff were simply indifferent. Not interested, not helpful, not welcoming. Room was bigger than expected. Also very noisy - not from any partying or shenanigans by fellow hosteliers, but because the doors and walls are just very thin and I guess not insulated. The toilets can be a long walk from your room so watch out for this if you're the kind who needs the loo in the middle of the night! Toilets & showers are unisex.

  • 12th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very clean. Good having a fridge in room. Only negative would be that it would of been good to have utensils, pots etc to use the kitchen properly


43%

Staff at check in fairly rude and obnoxious, not very helpful really (not just towards us). In the evening we realised that the room was crawling with bugs (some sort of beetle-cockroach cross) which was gross. Never seen anything like that in any other hostel i stayed in in London.

  • 11th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The staff was very rude I felt like I m staying free n they did me a favor to give a room Never stay here if u want to be treated respectfully

  • 11th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I booked a private twin en-suite and this hostel is at the great location which only a few minutes away from the Hammersmith. Very convenient to gain access to many popular place in London. The room is neat, clean and in good size but slightly dusty around the window frame and curtain. The en-suite has tower, soap and shampoo provided. One possible weaknesses is that cooking equipment such as pot, knife, chopping board are not provided in the kitchen. The washing liquid also not provided.


77%

Clean bathroom. Soap, shampoo and towels included.


80%

Interesting hostel. Good location, a step from Hammersmith Bus station. This mean, you have about half an hour from Marble Arch by bus. Hammersmith is quite nice district, very close to Chiswick, so charming place, one of places, that can give you a small tip, how London looks years ago. But allright, back to hostel. Street, where Hostel is located is very quiet. We get en-suite room - clean, and as comfortable, as hostel room can be. Reception is 24h, but receptionists could be more nice.


83%

Great hostel, would definitely recommend staying here. Although I scored some things less than excellent (the staff seems grumpy and there's not the usual hostel atmosphere ), that is outweighed by the good things. I have never been in a hostel that is this clean and comfortable. For a good price in a nice area, close to tube lines. I would definitely stay here again, when I'm in London.


100%

terrific....

  • 6th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Well-located, very clean and worth for value


77%

Generally speaking, it is not bad and value the price


94%

Brilliant location. Staff were very helpful. Everything is very clean. Showers were great. Very happy.

  • 1st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

the atmosphere of this hostel wasn't very warm and the receptionist wasn't very amiable!!


83%

Grea hostel and in a great location, a very posh and quiet neighbourhood. Only 5 minutes of underground to get to the heart of London. Very clean and with lots of facilities. The only thing that we weren't that happy about, was that they don't accept credit cards, and at least for Argentinian people, that's a huge disadvantage (because of some new regulation in our country, it is not that easy to get other currencies). Despite of this, it's a very recomendable hostel.

  • 29th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Very convenient location, pleasant staff.

  • 29th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(1185 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback