X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abercorn House Hostel Reviews

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
2490 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Clean and good location, no lockers though in room, and no elevator to top floor if you have luggage. Staff at desk could do with customer service skill training, Non British


77%

Overall, it's a good place. Only five minutes walk to tube station. And there is a Tesco in the station building. It's convenient. We booked a twin room with shared bathroom for two nights. There are a table, a wardrobe and a fridge in the room. The toilets and bathroom are clean. But the microwave in the kitchen doesn't work... It's a quiet place at night and good for sleeping.

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good position, really quiet place, well connected with 3 underground lines and a bus station. Clean room, small but functional. Really useful the in room refrigerator.


40%

Staff very disrespectful and uneducated. Laugh on my face only because my english isn't perfect, which is natural, if it come from a foreigner. People who works with tourists should not do such a thing.


97%

In a quiet location yet close to Hammersmith - chose it to go to a show at the Apollo. Rooms clean and comfortable. Well equipped kitchen and friendly staff. Will certainly use again as great value for money.

  • 22nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


23%

Take care when receive your ticket your name is in because you can pay the room to another person. Horrible staff..worst never saw it.

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We regret that some customers give false reviews. Every customer should be responsible for his own bookings. If the customer changed his mind and cancelled the booking on the day, he 's charged 1 night cancellation fee. If customers disagree with terms and conditions, then they may blame the staff. Dear customers, please read terms and conditions before making any false references.

94%

The location, room equipment are very good ( wardrobe, refrigerator, dishes & cutlery). The toilet and shower as well as bedclothes (change almost every day) were very clean. Only one thinks it's the noisy door during closing last moment before end ( door touching jamb).


74%

It was a nice location, rooms ok, beds a bit worn out but ok. We think it will improve the standard a lot, if there had been the option of cold water in the showers and at the washbasin. Also it was strange that there was an electric cooker in the kitchen but none saucepans or frying pan. Normaly one does'nt travel with these things. We would have liked to be able to cook a meal. But altogether it was nice and we will defenalty consider staying at Aber Corne another time.

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It was really handy to have the little shop with fruit, drinks and sandwiches by the front desk. The single room was great, very comfortable bed and very clean.


77%

Very comfortable beds, good modern showers & toilets although the showers only provide water in 20 second bursts which was annoying. No wifi was an issue.


49%

It was very old in the room, no tv. And there were bugs. Unfriendly or indifferent staff.

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

I've been there only for two nights but I could appreciate the comfortable room on the first floor. Atmosphere was calm, nice having a fridgein the room. Less than 5 minutes walking from Hammersmith, it is 20 minutes far from Victoria (by metro) and it is also provided of every basic service around the hostel (supermarket, money exchange, etc). Weird shower system but bathroom was clean. Really recommended for short staying.

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

This hostel was odd and a bit hospital like. However if you're looking for a cheap alternative to a hotel it would be good. Really clean and brand new facilities it seemed. Good location, close to 4 tube lines and nice safe area


80%

For the money, this was a tremendous experience. Clean rooms and restrooms and a very good location. The only two complaints I would have is that the bunk-beds were very creaky, and the bathrooms did not have hooks next to the shower stalls to hang your towel. Other than that 5-Stars!

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Deluxe Double Bed room was very nice and clean. It's value for money for sure. I would recommend it to everyone and I would go there next time. Location is great- really close to Hammersmith tube station.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, very good beds, a nice tv room. The room was not very clean; lot of dust under the beds


63%

No sound proofing at all. Be prepared to be waken up by you neighbours or anyone walking along the corridor. Just can't sleep. On the good side, everything is clean. Deco is very odd tho To be fair that's what you get at this price

  • 5th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Wifi is not free - it is one pound per hour and we have also seen a cockroach in the kitchen but our room was very nice and clean. We had a double room and everything was really nice especially bathroom. We had a room just next to the main entrance and it was quite noisy in the morning.

  • 4th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

It would be good if we have best security inside the bedrooms, for example, for the cabinets (closets).

  • 3rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Still no cooking pots in the kitchen. We appreciated the upgrade to the ground floor following our earlier stay on the second floor.


(1276 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback