X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abercorn House Hostel Reviews

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
2475 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 66%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

It was really handy to have the little shop with fruit, drinks and sandwiches by the front desk. The single room was great, very comfortable bed and very clean.


77%

Very comfortable beds, good modern showers & toilets although the showers only provide water in 20 second bursts which was annoying. No wifi was an issue.


49%

It was very old in the room, no tv. And there were bugs. Unfriendly or indifferent staff.

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

I've been there only for two nights but I could appreciate the comfortable room on the first floor. Atmosphere was calm, nice having a fridgein the room. Less than 5 minutes walking from Hammersmith, it is 20 minutes far from Victoria (by metro) and it is also provided of every basic service around the hostel (supermarket, money exchange, etc). Weird shower system but bathroom was clean. Really recommended for short staying.

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

This hostel was odd and a bit hospital like. However if you're looking for a cheap alternative to a hotel it would be good. Really clean and brand new facilities it seemed. Good location, close to 4 tube lines and nice safe area


80%

For the money, this was a tremendous experience. Clean rooms and restrooms and a very good location. The only two complaints I would have is that the bunk-beds were very creaky, and the bathrooms did not have hooks next to the shower stalls to hang your towel. Other than that 5-Stars!

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Deluxe Double Bed room was very nice and clean. It's value for money for sure. I would recommend it to everyone and I would go there next time. Location is great- really close to Hammersmith tube station.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, very good beds, a nice tv room. The room was not very clean; lot of dust under the beds


63%

No sound proofing at all. Be prepared to be waken up by you neighbours or anyone walking along the corridor. Just can't sleep. On the good side, everything is clean. Deco is very odd tho To be fair that's what you get at this price

  • 5th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Wifi is not free - it is one pound per hour and we have also seen a cockroach in the kitchen but our room was very nice and clean. We had a double room and everything was really nice especially bathroom. We had a room just next to the main entrance and it was quite noisy in the morning.

  • 4th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

It would be good if we have best security inside the bedrooms, for example, for the cabinets (closets).

  • 3rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Still no cooking pots in the kitchen. We appreciated the upgrade to the ground floor following our earlier stay on the second floor.


71%

This hostel was perfect for our needs. Nice beds, a closet, a fridge and a small night stand. The toilets and showers were clean, however the toilets didn't flush too well, and there could have been hangers in the showers for towels etc. I will recommend visitors to bring ear plugs, because the doors slam very loudly. Also, if you plan to cook your own food you will need to bring kitchen utensils as there are none. Also, there is nowhere to sit and eat except the rooms.

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great Hostel with friendly staff and great facilities!

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Hostel is cheap, almost clean and next to metro. However do not expect a cosy maison with wood forniture, is a huge building and looks like a big hospital. If you can get a room far from the fire doors (between landing and corridor): they make a terrible noise and people are coming and going all night long - result I haven't sleep too much. Rest is fine, difficult to find better for the price.


77%

I stayed here for 4 days with my friends and we slept in a 4 beds dorm. The hostel is so clean, from bedroom to bathrooms and showers. There are also 2 or 3 shared kitchens in each floor. Staff is kind and professional. Lastly we found lot of toilet papers in the bathroom, idk why people say that there aren't. The position is not so bad at all, cause is very close (4 min walking) to the big tubes and bus station.


49%

Very noisy every door slams. No hooks or anywhere to put your things in the shower, has to go on the floor. Smells of cleaning chemicals. Staff were rude. Location is good


31%

I'm very disappointed. The rooms was a mess, when we arrived the room was already dirty, no AC, you've to pay for Internet, nobody came to clean the room, a lot of cockroaches in the room, and then the staff,very very rude. They doesn't know how to threat the guests. Was a really bad service.


54%

It was just a little bit below average. It was expensive....but then again I think all hostels and hotels in London are. The cleanliness was below average! There was a HOLE in the wall in my room! Just a large HOLE with nothing but dust and creepy-crawlies!

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Room facilities are good and clean. The transportation is convenient. The location is quite good with shopping mall and shops nearby.


(1268 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback