X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abercorn House Hostel Reviews

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
2514 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Not the best hostel ever but it was fine for two nights while I was waiting to move in somewhere else. You would never come here when travelling to London but if you just need a place to stay then it isn't bad. Staff are awful but I only spoke to them twice (check in and check out) so it didn't bother me. It's a bit of a shame because with a few minor changes this place wouldn't be half bad. You also have to pay for the Wi-Fi hourly (what kind of hostel doesn't offer free WI-FI?!).


66%

I only have one problem to report about the hotel, there is no wifi included, and this is ok. So, if you want to use wifi you need to pay, and also this is ok. The problem is the price. You have 2 option, 1 pound per hour or 5 pound for 5 hour. This price is crazy. That's all.


74%

Ho trascorso 5 notti in una camera doppia privata con bagno in condivisione. Ho trovato la camera molto pulita e anche i bagni nonostante fossero in comune con altre persone. Aqua calda e dispenser del sapone già presente dentro le doccie ( molto comodo). Ottima posizione ( a soli 5 minuti a piedi dalle linee rosa, gialla e verde delle metro. Unica pecca : le pareti sono poco spesse e si sentono le voci degli altri ospiti. Consiglio a chiunque di andare e sicuramente ci tornerei anche io!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

sono favorevolente colpita! Avevo sentito brutte cose sugli ostelli....invece ho trovato efficenza, pulizia e cortesia.Ci tornerei sicuramente!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Staff were lovely but I got eaten raw by bed bugs. I have about 20 bites from one night, really wish I hadn't stayed.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Unfriendly staff.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

LOUD LOUD LOUD. I think I'd rather sleep on the platform of the tube and it would be quieter. The cause was construction *inside* the hostel that began at 8am. I understand having to do remodeling, but to rent out rooms that only allow you to sleep till 8am is terrible. Otherwise clean, a bit cramped, but good.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Yo pedí una habitación single y la verdad bastante regular. El colchón tenía todos los muelles fuera y se me clavaban en las costillas, la insonorización es pésima, se escucha absolutamente todo, actualmente tienen obras y empiezan a las 8:00 de la mañana con las máquinas y es imposible dormir, las obras son grandes justo al lado por lo que van a durar tiempo. La limpieza de las duchas es regular. En concepto general... Bastante regular!

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

The room was spacious with a double bed, fridge and cupboard. Had a run in with a cleaner who continued to try open the door while my boyfriend was holding the door shut and telling her could she wait a minute while I got changed yet she continued to open the door. She then hurled abuse at him claiming she couldn't hear over the construction work which is still happening btw. Facilities get quite dirty not the best cleaning job is done. Location was fairly good next to the hammersmith metro.


77%

Es sollte in den Duschen und den Zimmern mehr Ablageflächen und Haken zum zB Handtuch aufhängen geben.


71%

Das Hostel liegt in einer ruhigen Seitengasse - nur ein paar Gehminuten von der Hammersmith-Station. Unser Zimmer war (für London!) OK. Es wird regelmäßig geputzt. Empfehlenswert.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel was great: location, clean, secure! The stuff could have been more nicer but everything else was really really good!

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The hotel is literally across the road from tube station . I had read mixed reviews and I think perhaps the building is in the stages of being updated renovated . It's quite a big building . We booked a twin and it was basic room with wardrobe and fridge and towels provided . The room looked newly painted and beautifully tiled floor . Window looked out to street . Toilets were good and clean but bit untidy later .There is cooking facilities , shop and showers were good . Reception 24hrs. Enjoyed


91%

Great price for the location. Very surprised how nice it was once we got there, based on price I was expecting somewhere a little "grubby". Practically newly done out inside. Comfy bed. They provide towels if you want a shower too.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

most doors could do with a quiet close option to support the door when it closes. This would reduce a lot of banging noises when people close their room door.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

There happens to be a major building project at the moment next door so it was noisey in the morning but it was a great place to stop over and only a few mins from Hammersmith tube.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Ostello Pulito e bello!! un pò scomodi i letti ma per il resto , camere belle illuminate e arredo moderno...peccato wifi a pagamento!! lo consiglio per soggiorni di max 1 settimana!!!


100%

Very good for this price.


74%

I think the staff at the reception should know more about tourist information

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


20%

There were bed bugs! Horrible! And I didn't get a refund.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(124 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback