X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abercorn House Hostel Reviews

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
2683 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 66%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

This location is very good tubes , shops and taxis all 5 mins away.

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Das Preis-Leistungsverhältnis hat absolut gestimmt. Wir waren in einem Doppelzimmer mit Bad untergebracht. Sauberkeit war in Ordnung. Das Bett war sehr bequem. Da hostel liegt direkt an der u Bahn Station Hammersmith, nicht weit von der Innenstadt weg.


49%

when we got close to the property we felt unsafe. Some strange characters were standing in front. There are lots of foreign men there. The whole place appeared to be a hostle the council uses to place asylum seekers. Our room was very basic and furniture broken. It was clean but very noisy throughout the night. It really was not a pleasant experience and we would never stay again. In fact we nearly did not go in but as we had paid and all other hotels on the day charged triple we had no other ch

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Only stayed 1 night but absolutely NO complaints.Friendly staff always available.Excellent place to stay in London

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

There was mold all over the shower rooms. Walls are very thin.


80%

The hostel is very good. 5 minutes away from the Tube and not far from the main turistic things. It was always clean, they changed the sheets every two days. The best thing was that we had a refrigerator on the room and there were lot of kitchens in every floor. The bad thing was that there wasn't any pots, so you could just heat already prepared food. I would really recommend the hostel, it has a very good value for money.


77%

In der Küche gab es keine Töpfe oder sonsigest zubehör, welches zum Kochen benötigt wird. Und kostenpflichtiges Wi-Fi ist auch eher unüblich.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

the hostel was nice, clean and comfortable. the only thing that annoyed me a little was the noise as apparently the walls are very thin and the doors close quite loudly. the rooms are small and we we're missing chairs and a table but otherwise all was fine. the terrace is pretty when the sun shines!

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Stayed in twin room for one night. Room very clean, comfortable beds, and was as good as a typical room in the cheaper hotel chains - which cost double or triple the price. Person on reception when we arrived could have been friendlier / more professional. Really liked the closeness to hammersmith train and bus station, the Apollo theatre, as well as restaurants, bars and shops. Would definitely consider staying here again on any future trip to London.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

2 minutes walk to subway and busstation. Lots of nice pubs and restaurant nearby. Ten minute walk to The Themes. Lies on the best subwayline for all the popular sights and takes you directly to the citys center very fast. Good and fast connections to all the airports. Cheap but VERY clean and spacious rooms. Excellent toilets, kitchen and showerfacilities. The beds were great !!! The negative: wifi did cost money and some guest during my stay made alot of noise in hallway. Otherways: VERY GOOD!!


63%

Our toilet was cloaked and it wasn't possible to get a plunger. The hostel didn't have one either, a bit annoying. But we loved our double room with private bath and our own refrigerator!!!! Lovely with fresh sheets and towels every other day :-)

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Good value for money.


77%

I stayed at Abercorn House Hostel for three nights in a double bed room and I liked it. The room was clean and it had a fridge where you can put your food in case your are like me and like to buy things to eat at the supermarket while travelling. It was a bit noisy and some girls tried to get in in our room but they were probably drunk. It is not the hostel fault that people don`t respect the others. The location is not the best but there are four lines connecting Hammersmith.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Was very pleasantly surprised at the room upon arrival. It looked recently done up and spotless, which I wasnt expecting at 25 quid each in london. Only problem we had was that we had a door directly outside our room which was frequently used and slammed very loudly, along with very thin walls this lead to a sleepless night. Also a little bit far from central london although very close and handy for the tube it was a 20-30 min journey to attractions in the centre


100%

Abercorn House is a excellent hostel. I stayed in a twin en-suite room and it was very comfortable with a nice bathroom. The staff at the reception are very friendly and helpful. On previous visits I have stayed in the dorms and also double room with shared bathroom. These rooms are also very nice and the shared bathrooms were clean and plentiful and so are the kitchens. I would highly reccommend Abercorn house hostel. highly reccomend Abercor


97%

On arrival we were told we had an upgrade to a twin room with an ensuit, which was brilliant news and the room was right near the reception, simple to find.. However at night the noise was very loud as it is a 24 hour receptions and we often got woken up by staff and others. However the room itself was good, fridge and wardrobe and the ensuit facilities were clean, the beds were also comfortable for the one night that we stayed and very good for location and price :)

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Brak mozliwosci platnosci na miejscu karta kredytowa

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff were rude but place was great would stay there again, just don't expect much in the way of a freindly face.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean but small (max 6m2) room with terribly unconfortable double bed. Seriously you must change the materace! This one in room no 14 is too soft. Backs hurt us now :( Staff very friendly and helpfull. Thank you.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Lots of comments point out rude staff. I can only say the best things about both guys I talked to. Nice, hospitable, decent, helpful. Great Plus points for a clean room. Minus points for cold and noise isolation - it is nonexistent, if people in the opposite room talk to each other, you can hear them as if they were standing right next to you. Doors cannot be closed in a quiet way. But - this is a hostel, not a five star hotel, and for that you get a very good value.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(101 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback