X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Abercrombie's Farrington Inn Reviews

23 Farrington Avenue, P.O. Box #364, Allston Station, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
751 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

There are no functioning telephones in the rooms. The payphone on the corner doesn't work. The staff suggested getting a calling card, but the telephone in the lobby is used by the staff. Suggestion: install a payphone in the lobby of the Farrington Inn. Suggest where guests can get a temporary cell phone for one month. Have a computer with internet access in the lobby for guests to use. Please offer monthly rates.

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

I got woken up by a bed-bug crawling in my face. I believe this says it all.

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

I reserved a double bed room and I got just one bed ! it should cost less but not they insist that that was I reserved

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Excellent place for the price. My only complaint—a mild one—is that the mattress was a bit old. The slightest motion in one spot reverberated throughout the entire network of springs. Aside from that, a great place to stay.

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Very pleasant in general and well located. The toilet was super clean. The room was okay, but the beds were quite old and uncomfortable. Good value for money considering all though. Would stay there again.

  • 4th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

It was easy to get there, the area was safe and the stuff that we meet, two of them, they were nice. BUT! It is ridiculous to pay $50 per person per night at this place, we choose it because it was the only hostel left in Boston. The mattresses are extremely old. There is one house style bathroom per floor shared with 5 double bedrooms. It was raining the whole day, there was a leak in the roof, and at the end of the day the suspended ceiling collapsed and we were relocated in another room.

  • 7th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great place to go if you want a place to sleep and be close of the transport line but not if you want to be in the middle of the action... guys who works there are very nice! A/C in room!

  • 5th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I had a great stay at your hostel. I slept well and things were taken care of quickly and efficiently. I felt bad learning about the hoarder in room 120 and sincerely hope that whoever is living there doesn't remain there for very much longer. Thanks for everything, Damien

  • 30th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

BED BUGS.

  • 27th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

It was a nice place to stay that was cheap and close by. thanks . would also recommend this hostel to others


46%

I have to say i am not very picky but they don't even have a kitchen. the rooms are ok but it's all a bit old and not especially clean. You feel as if you were in your grandmothers run down house.


43%

Smells pee in the hallway. No lockers or enough power outlets in the dorms.

  • 20th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Even for a hostel this place was pretty poor. The place was kinda dumpy and not well maintained and very noisy. We got a 1 bedroom room between the two of us and the bed was a double and was VERY lumpy (mattress was shot) and VERY difficult to sleep in and they didn't have proper sheets or bedding at all (they left 1 fleece blanket and 1 towel and NO sheets for 2 people). Shower and bathroom facilities were acceptable quality. Definitely a good price, but don't think 'd stay there again

  • 18th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

owners/staff are nice folks


49%

The mattress was very uncomfortable. The heater didn't work well. Only one of two locks in the door worked properly.

  • 1st Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

You are very very nice!

  • 1st Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

everything was ok but not wifi in my room


69%

The beds weren't too comfortable and the heater didn't really work, but it's the cheapest place in Boston, and within walking distance of many affordable restaurants

  • 17th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

As somebody said before, you get what you paid for. It's cheap, and it's ok. Expect uncomfortable beds, not so good location, and some things that need to be cleaned. Other than that, it's a good value option. The only thing I was surprised is how bad the green line it is. It takes forever to go to downtown. The good thing is that you are close to the main universities (Harvard, Boston University).


89%

Need new bed mattress however you mattresses were softer than those at DC hostel.

  • 21st Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(541 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback