X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Aberdeen Youth Hostel Reviews

8 Queen's Road, Aberdeen, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
322 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

It's in a very good location, and very well set-up. They're very organized and keep the large kitchen very clean (quite a feat!). They do a good job of running that hostel!


83%

Be prepared to have battery charged outside of the room, no sockets inside in the room.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The worst hostel that I stayed.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

They should have available Wi-Fi for free.

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel is far from University, beach and other touristic points. Although I needed to press the shower buttom every minute to take a decent bath, the facilities (kitchen, reception, bedrooms, toilets...) are good and clean. Except for one BASIC thing: my bedroom did not have any electrical outlet. That was very annoying. Based on the price I paid for the bedroom, I expected a better one. The staff was helpful.

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

No plugs inside the bedrooms, wifi is not free, there is no hair drair.


94%

The only thing I think let the place down was no lockers for personal items. But would definitely be staying again!

  • 11th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff a friendly and caring, they should keep it up.

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendly staff, excellent service, just what you need.

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Just a bit over priced. Can get bed and breakfast with wifi for £2 more elsewhere. Yha is behind the times.


63%

Very expensive internet. Poor lighting in the room. water heater in the shower is a mess.

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Unfortunately nothing positive The staff is the only that saving this place with good service. Unfortunately the place is far far behind the international quality and service you find at the YHA association. Very poor value to expensive price you pay - internet is very expensive and limited avoid you from staying at the hostel, requires looking for other opportunities - pubs , coffee shops etc. Rooms are cold, shower are limited and not friendly - Nepal outdoor type -with bucket

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Rooms very clean. Staff very nice and helpful. However, general atmosphere is not so nice. I was surprised to meet mostly people over 50+ in this youth hostel !!! I used to stay at other youth hostel in other countries and I always met young people I can enjoy drink/dinner with or share our experience in the country.

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Toilettes are unacceptable. £3 ph for wifi???

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Friendly staff, good facilities, all there what you need for a cheap and cheerful stay over!

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


26%

It was depressing place...

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It was very cold in the hostel.


83%

Pretty straight forward to fine. Only 15 minute walk from the town centre. Clean tidy, the french receptionist can sometimes be hard to understand but very helpful. Definitely value for money!!!

  • 10th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


43%

No internet, no bar, breakfast is more than £4, one night is £22... what else?!?


69%

There were very few power points in the room and the internet costs three quid an hour to access, and even then is remarkably slow. Overall a very clean facility, with an excellent kitchen. Very very quiet, and a wee bit out of town center - but an easy bus ride.


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Aberdeen Hostels

Please give us your feedback