X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Abhostel Reviews

Kattenberg 110, Antwerp, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
932 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The location is ok, about 15 minutes walk from the railway station. And the stuff is very friendly, spent 20 minutes telling us the history and tourists sites about this city. But the double room is really average, it was a kitchen before. And the smell is a bit weird. Since there's a 12 people dorm next to the room, it's not very quiet in the night. But there're also some other double rooms which are a bit better, trust me you don't wanna live in the "vintage kitchen".

Owner Comment (Hide)
Trust me, a lot of people ask for the vintage kitchen twin! Because they like the quirky atmosphere in our old converted chocolate factory. Plus the new futton beds with extra comfortable matrasses, the bedside lamps and sockets in a bright room close to roof top terrace and toilet. But at least you honnest about the location and us :)) xb

66%

Was nice, but they charge you 2 euros per person (?) for late check-in and I can't see why! It's quite annoying.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Happy you had a nice stay! We will explain you again why we ask a small fee for late check,in! Due to,hour limited check in hours we re able to keep our price as low as possible. And give a lot of FREE extra s! Wifi everywhere, drinks, food, dvd s,... Most of our travellers are able to check in before 8pm. We don t want to hire extra staff, raise our prices. That s why we charge a small fee for this extra service. As explained BEFORE booking. But still happy it was nice! Xb

94%

The place is very clean, everything is nice, beds are ok. It is in good location, not far from station nor center. Good kitchen. Very silent neighborhood, you will probably have a good night sleep. Greg and Bridget are very friendly, the only thing I think, miss some music to make better atmosphere. But still I recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Grazie mille! We now have laundry facilities and when you come back, we hope we will have music evrywhere! We re always trying to improve :) xb

86%

Wonderful hostel - clean, comfortable, with lovely staff and free breakfast. Everyone was incredibly nice to us and the whole place has a great vibe. It's a little bit away from the centre of Antwerp but instead we got to know a great neighbourhood that we probably wouldn't have discovered otherwise. Their roof top terrace was amazing as well! I'd recommend this hostel to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Tack, tack, tack! We do,the best we can to,be lovely, clean, comfortable and give as much as possible for free! Great you took the effort to,discover our great neighbourhood and enjoyed the roof top terrace. The great vibe that s because of you and our other great guests :) Tack! Xb

89%

This hostel was wonderful - a bit hard to find, but the inside was clean and conducive to making friends and entertaining oneself, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed my time here.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We re so happy your enjoyed your time with us!! Xb

91%

Abhostel was great, and set the bar far too high for all my other hostels to meet! It was like staying in someone's home, without it feeling like they were looming over you. The atmosphere was great and super friendly and really helped everyone feel at ease enough to make friends and hang out happily. The only downside was there was no hot water in the showers, which was a real shame, but considering that was all, I'd give it a solid 9/10.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you soooo much for enjoying our hostel the way we designed it for :) we adjusted the the temperature, so we hope to welcome you soon :) Xb

91%

I really enjoyed staying at the Abhostel, it was everything you could wish for in accomodation for the young and traveling. The way the hostel is designed allowed us to make heaps of new friends and I definitely felt safe, relaxed and comfortable the whole time. Would definietly go back!

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A free breakfast that includes eggs!! This hostel is fun by the sweetest married couple I've ever met. The amazing decor and funky vintage vibe makes this a place for an artistic traveler. You can pick up the guitar, watch a movie, or draw in the HUGE common room. There's an amazing terrace for sun bathing and a vending machine full of cold beer. We played drinking games downstairs until late into the evening. No strict stupid rules here. Just an amazing hostel. It's the best part of Antwerp

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love artistic travellers, travellers who understand our concept :) we love you! Enjoy the rest of your travels! ( we re sure you will !!! ) xb

89%

You are like a family!!!! It's a little bit cold and the shower's water too,but the rest of things were very confortable.thank you!!!

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muchas gracias!!! We adjusted the temperature :) xb

86%

In general, it is a good hostel. Very clean, very good kitchen. When we were there, it was super calm - no atmosphere at all. It is also quite far from the city center. Also, only 2 toilets so it can mean a wait...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Eeuh, far from the citycenter, 1,2 km, 15 min walk, 2 tram/busstops, velobikes,... Eeuhm, only 2 toilets!? Anyway, thanks for liking us in general! We re also proud of our cleanliness and our kitchen! Xb

89%

The place looks really cosy and the owners do everything to make you feel comfortable. Games, books, television, everything is there to spend the day or night with your newly made hostelfriends.


89%

really good hostel. a bit of a walk from the centre of antwerp but was worth it. the owners are really friendly and there is a lot of information on things to do. the breakfast is good and the kitchen is useful if you want to cook.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking your time! We re happy you liked our hostel, kitchen, breakfast, info and us :) x Bridget

1 2 3 Next » last »
(52 results)


View all Antwerp Hostels

Please give us your feedback