X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abhostel Reviews

Kattenberg 110, Antwerp, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1161 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 94%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Very friendly host and staff. The type of backpacker this hostel attracts is also very nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!! We try our best to attract only the really nice backpackers!! Xab

86%

Really cosy and friendly hostel. Met some really nice people, and the owners are always around helping you with whatever you need. Breakfast is good, they have a lovely kitchen and common room where you can just spend hours nd hours, just having a beer, playing guitar, playing foosball or just chilling in one of the hammocks. Also, they have a barbacue and there are some supermarkets in the area where you can stock up. They sell beer within the hostel and the rooms are nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!!! We also think a cosy, lovely kitchen and common room is really important to meet some really nice people. Happy you enjoyed the bbq, hammocks, cheap beers and the local supermarkets! Xab

94%

One of my favorite hostels of the trip. Affable staff and a a very hospitable environment, easy to meet people in. Location is interesting, I loved being stuck in the Moroccan district but if you came to party your head off, your in the wrong city, let alone the hostel. Boston loves Antwerp/Abhostel.


86%

Lots of emphasis on getting everyone social here, made it a great place


97%

Lovely very homely hostel.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing and loving our home with us !! Xab

97%

Great place to stay. I would definitely recommend. Only downside is it's a few km's from the city centre, but there is a tram right down the street to take you anywhere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great you found our place great! We re indeed 1km from the city center really easy to reach by the trams or bikes around the corner. And we have those great extras for being of the beaten track ;) xab

86%

Not in the most happening location but the staff were very friendly and gave great insight about everything to do in and around the city. The owners are a couple who treats everyone like their own children, awesome value for your money!

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We re happy to help you, sweet children ;) xab

86%

clean, friendly staff, nice place for be!

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We re happy you found our place nice&clean and us friendly xb

89%

Great hostel, feels like home and they treat you like family!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks fir sharing our home and the familyfeel ! Thanks guys! Xab

97%

What a lovely stay at the Abhostel. We arrived as guests and truly left as friends.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That s what always hope!! Merci! Xab

83%

Owners are very nice. Never had a problem. Would stay again if I ever went to Antwerp again..

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Happy you never had a problem! Please do come back :) xab

83%

We had a great time at abhostel. It was very clean and the owners were very helpful and friendly . It was a nicely maintained place for a backpacker. The only problem I had was that the bathroom was common for all, it was a bit small for common use.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oooh dear sweet girls. We re so sorry you thought we only have bathroom! We do have one small on the first floor. But also a big one on the ground floor and another one in the loft. We re happy you even had a great time ! Xb

80%

a little out of the way from city centre but only a few tram stops and so many bike rental places it makes it worth it. cool hostel with good kitchen. only weird thing was that there were no keys for the doors it just stayed open but there are lockers with keys. recommend


91%

Me encanto, I love it, If I go to Atnwerpt again I will stay there. I love the atmosphere.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel felt like a home away from home. I loved the atmosphere, decorations and overall feel of the space. Also, the community feel of the people staying there helped me feel accepted. Some minor suggestions: more frequent cleaning of showers, improved wifi connectivity and possibly keeping the backdoors closed (a lot of flies and mosquitoes get in and I was bitten a few times). The location is a 30-40 minute walk from the city center, but on a tram line.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The setup of this hostel is phenomenal. There is plenty of space and the owners are very welcoming and armed with all kinds of recommendations proudly displayed in their entry way. Definitely worth a visit.


100%

This hostel was by far one of the best hostels I haved stayed in in Europe! When I arrived Greg was there to give me a tour, as well as recommend various bars, restaurants, attractions and festivals in the city. Greg and Bridget are extremely friendly and hospitable and their hostel is very cozy and has the best atmosphere. I also very much enjoyed getting to know the friendly and helpful staff (Marcel and Franzie!!) If you are in Antwerp, this is for sure the place to stay!!

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This is a really great hostel. The owners are the nicest people you're likely to meet and they helped us out a lot with directions and information about Antwerp. The location is great. It's right next to a cheap bike rental station and the bikes can be dropped off or picked up anywhere in the city. There's a tram stop a 2 minute walk away. The tram takes about 5 minutes to arrive at central Antwerp. The hostel is eco conscious and there is a laid back atmosphere and cheap beer available.


97%

Definitely one of the best hostels I've ever visited. The lovely staff and owners know exactly what a traveler needs; the atmosphere is just great thanks to the warm common area, the happy hour and the high quality population over the hostel. They would give you all the information you need about Antwerp and will make sure you have a perfect visit. Don't miss the chance to stay over there! thanks a lot for a great weekend!

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Welcoming and friendly hosts!! Loved the retro style, made it feel like home. Happy hour was a hit and I got to try several Belgian beers from the comfort of 'home' :) thanks Bridget & Greg you were a big part of my getting to know and love Antwerp. Also I really liked to location, good to be out of the city but still close enough to walk everywhere. Everything was always properly cleaned too so thank you Franci too!


(831 results)


View all Antwerp Hostels

Please give us your feedback