X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abhostel Reviews

Kattenberg 110, Antwerp, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
1074 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 96%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

We were in Antwerp for only two days, and the weather was so horrible that we got rained out of seeing most of the city. We ended up spending a lot of time hanging out at AB hostel, but we actually didn't mind! The atmosphere is great, and it's super cozy. It was a great place to be stuck!

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

pleasure to stay at abhostel


86%

great people...great atmosphere

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

Gregg is really nice guy, very friendly. And good free breakfast was nice as well.


100%

Greg and Bridget are bound to make your stay one of the most enjoyable stays on your trip! This is a small, family owned hostel which provides a homely and tight-knit environment for you to relax in. The hostel is clean, safe and small enough for you to meet everyone staying there. Despite the size, the hostel has everything you need from a kitchen, to a laundry, to an exercise bike. It even has a garlic press!


94%

Great place to stay! The hosts were always there when we needed them!

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

beautiful vibe with friendly people and great kitchen communal areas. Only complaint is that the showers could have been slightly warmer, was getting sick when i arrived and cold showers in a cold climate was not ideal, however there solar powered energy savers so respect for that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,,thanks for letting us know, we extra heated the showers! Thanks for helping with the beautiful vibe! Xb

71%

The shower was luke-warm. The option of eggs for breakfast was a great plus. It's a bit of a walk from the center of Antwerp. Good atmosphere for solo travelers. They are really strict about their check out time, you can't be out of the room, you have to actually leave the hostel by 11. This was a bit frustrating since I was trying to work out some last minute travel issues because of a strike in Belgium. It's due to some law (apparently) but it felt unnecessary and unwelcoming.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Is this your thank you for letting you stay? The law does not believe we let our guests stay for free, to have free coffee, free tea, free WIFI,... But we as backapackers understand backpackersproblems!. But please don t spoil it for the ones;) Xb

94%

Cool hostel with great staff in an interesting neighborhood in walking distance to the center. An additional bathroom upstairs would be an asset.


86%

Abhostel is a good hostel in that it has all the facilities required for travellers, such as towel rental, good wifi, and a well equipped kitchen. A capacity of under 40, with some of those twin rooms, means that the place never gets crowded enough to be a party hostel, but enough that you'll always find some people to drink/do things with. The music gets turned off at 10pm though so the owners try make everyone go out or go to bed around that time. Still an excellent hostel.


100%

Bridget and Greg were so lovely, couldn't recommend this beautiful hostel any more. Upon arrival I instantly felt at home. The hostel was clean and so nicely decorated. It's a little bit of a walk to the centre of town, but after all the Belgian waffles and chocolate I needed it!


100%

Really great hostel. The hosts were lovely. And they provided breakfast. The beds were comfortable. And finally the rooftop terrace was nice.


89%

Simple and clean hostel, a 15 minute walk away from the Central Station, but has a tram stop nearby. Owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here if you're looking for a cheap hostel and don't mind having to travel a bit to get to the touristy parts of the city.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Love this hostel. I hope to return!


94%

It just feels like home.


86%

Had a nice weekend away at this hostel. Cozy beds are always a treat at hostels and also the big kitchen is really cool. The owners are very nice and helpful, too. The tram is just a few minutes away and you get to the city centre and other spots really quick.


66%

Very bad location. Not a nice area at all. Owners were great and helped us plan our stay, but there are no reception staff as such. Nice design inside. Probably well suited to a longer stay. Lots of board games, washing machine, many DVDs but the TV didn't actually work. Quite possible to meet people.


94%

A little bit out of the way but this hostel is very much worth the walk (or short tram ride). An incredibly nice home like community feeling that is rare to find in a hostel. The spacious common room area is fantastic for meeting people, especially over breakfast and dinner. This really is a fantastic hostel that I'd heartily recommend to anyone after a friendly place to rest their head.


91%

Absolutely amazing hostel: great kitchen and common room, wifi works everywhere, run by amazingly knowledgeable friendly people and everything is clean. Really could not recommend more. The location is quite good. There could be more toilets and showers. But apart from that - a really great hostel.


80%

Great spot. Had a fun time


(776 results)


View all Antwerp Hostels

Please give us your feedback